We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Usual Crown Plaza quality but essentially great location at walking distance to Commercial Centre, nice park and best breakfast bar 10 minutes walk away. The Hotel lack soul though, but what can you expect from this type of chain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Paul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our central location in the heart of the city to be convenient and suit your needs. We hope to welcome you back to Canberra soon. Kind Regards, Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    605
    272
    68
    38
See reviews for
279
385
81
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nowra
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We've stayed here before so it was nice to see that the good standards we found last time were still there. Friendly staff, clean room/ bathroom and a very nice buffet breakfast. The only reason it gets a four instead of a five is that the bathroom looked like it could do with an upgrade but it was still clean and there was a newsletter in the room which stated that rooms were getting renovated as time goes on. Will definitely look to stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: We had a room which overlooked the car park entrance and it was nice and quiet. The other end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed staying with us again and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here a few weeks ago with my wife and was very surprised. In the lobby area the hotel is very modern, as well as the hotel being in a great central location. It doesn't offer free wifi, and hotel guests have to pay for parking, but the welcoming feeling this hotel offers is unbeatable! The buffet breakfast was fantastic and the service was quite good also - some of the girls could use with a bit more practice on the coffee machine, but that was a minor downfall. The staff everywhere were brilliant; housekeeping was thorough and attentive, concierge was very quick to aid us right from stepping out of the car to helping us to our room. The front reception team as a whole weren't always overly helpful and a few of the gentlemen I dealt with were a bit rude, however, the was a young lady, (Indigo?) who I had several dealings with and she was lovely - efficient, always smiling, down to earth, very approachable and was a delight to deal with. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would gladly come back and recommend this place to all Canberra goers.

Room Tip: Be nice to the girl at the desk and she may just bump you up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 263genes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel from your stay with us last month. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and it is fantastic to receive such positive feedback about our staff, in particular Indigo. Hopefully you have registered to our loyalty program, IHG Rewards Club, as a member you will be entitled to complimentary internet for future stays at any IHG hotel globally. We look forward to welcoming you back to Canberra soon. Kind Regards, Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I love the Hyatt, but if you are on a budget (hard in Canberra) or attending a conference at the convention centre, it's hard to beat the Crowne Plaza. Highlights were the staff, the bed and the barista that raised the breakfast a notch above the usual hotel standard.
The checkout experience was outstanding - the very polite Indian gentleman was not only efficient but he even found me a bandaid when I asked him to direct me to the nearest supplier. Amazing, special and greatly appreciated.
The barista made great coffee- only quibble was the (understandable) need to wait for my order - so good I needed a second cup.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coorong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad to hear about your positive experience and the fantastic service you received from our staff during your stay. Our staff certainly try to go above and beyond for all our guests. We hoe to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Crown Plaza Canberra is in such a great location. Rooms are tidy, breakfast is really great, although getting a coffee made in busy times can take a very long time. Staff are fast, helpful and happy. The bar area is a nice place to sit and the food is good there too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the food and beverage options available in our Redsalt Restaurant and Binara One bar. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times for work, as my client's office is right around the corner. Location is extremely convenient not only for my specific line of work, but also to many dining and shopping options in the city walk area. Hotel itself is a standard Crowne Plaza but the staff do an excellent job of making you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel and for continuing to return to Crowne Plaza Canberra when you are visiting for work. It is great to hear that you are made to feel so welcome by our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here alone for a conference. It is the closest hotel to the convention centre - less than 5 minute walk, and in the centre of what makes Canberra's version of a CBD. It is also an easy walk to Lake Burley Griffin where I enjoyed a run on one of the mornings.

Reception was attentive, helpful and friendly. The rooms were standard but I found the bed very comfortable. They have tried to funky up the rooms by rotating the beds into the middle of the room which might annoy couples with the second person having a long walk around the bed.

The buffet breakfast was above the average that I have experienced, and I appreciated the real coffee taken by order.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a successful conference at the National Convention Centre next to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#23 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Address: 1 Binara St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you'll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation's Capital and within walking distance of the city's best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 296 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we're pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing