We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hotel is located in a good location facing the Gleb Park which means that the level of noise will be minimal.
Rooms are spacious and very comfortable for business travel, good office table!
Breakfast is overpriced which tends to be a trend for Canberra.
5 minute walk will lead you to a shopping center and some dining places.
Casino at the side of the hotel will leave you entertained for a quiet evening.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucheng-AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that we were able to make your business trip to Canberra an enjoyable one. We hope to welcome you back when you next travel to Canberra. Kind Regards, Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at Crowne Plaza for a short weekend getaway with my family from Sydney. I just loved from the moment I stepped into the lobby as the reception staff greeted us with warm welcoming smile and asked if we needed any extra bed for the children. The room itself was kept simple but clean. We liked the long hallway which overlooks the restaurant on the ground floor. Breakfast was great - variety of selection and freshly made omelettes by chef. Overall we had a comfortable stay and felt like it was a home away from home. Should definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Best G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. It is pleasing to hear that our staff provided such attentive service and made your stay at our hotel feel like a home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Canberra. Kind Regards, Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at Crowne Plaza for 4 nights in July 2014. Good hotel, comfortable room and great location. Right next to the casino and walking distance into the city. The only negative you can say is the cluttered car park. It is difficult to find a parking over the Fri / Sat period. Didn't have any meals at the hotel, but with the shopping centres right across the road, there was no need to eat in. I would stay here again, when I go to Canberra. Front Desk stay were very helpful and great to deal with…. Enjoyed my stay with Crowne Plaza Canberra

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the Park view, or else it is city views or building views :)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Krishnan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our central location in Canberra. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Travelling with elderly parents and asked for early check-in. Arrived at 1.40pm only to be told the rooms would be about another 30-45 minutes which made them not only late for the early check-in but also late for a normal 2pm check-in. Whilst that was disappointing we were given complementary drinks while we waited.

Staff are all great - food wad generally fine and whilst the rooms are dated they are comfortable and quiet. Free WiFi for IHG members is a nice bonus.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the park.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us. I apologise that we were not able to meet your request for the early check-in, however it is great to hear of the high level of service provided by our staff and that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Close to the airport which was handy but quite a distance from all attractions. I would definitely recommend hiring a car. We didn't and after much walking spent a lot of money on taxis.
Hotel was adequate but lacked a bit of atmosphere. Room was much the same.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front had quite a sterile, concrete view. Perhaps the back may have a nicer outlook. Ou...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Morag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Morag B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is unfortunate that the location of our hotel with regards to the local attractions failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this has caused. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with the family for two nights. The hotels location is great and the rooms, facilities and service was good. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the lobby. Unfortunately it was very noisy through the night. There was a party in the restaurant and there was banging and crashing coming from other rooms near ours. It was disappointing and I'll probably request a room away from the lobby next time. Overall it not a bad place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Brad1974_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Brad1974_12,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our hotel. I am delighted with your positive comments regarding our location and service we have provided. It is regrettable that the noise levels you have experienced affected the quality of your stay. Please be assured that your feedback will be used towards our improvement so we provide you with a better accommodation in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

A consistant hotel to stay in canberra. Very convenient to central commercial district. Short walk to many great restaurants. Great bar with very relaxing atmosphere for unwinding prior to a business dinner. Staff considerate and helpful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank whaleyfamilytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us again and thank you for your loyalty. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Canberra. Kind Regards, Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3,276 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 58 in Canberra
1,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
1,543 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Address: 1 Binara St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: £89 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you'll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation's Capital and within walking distance of the city's best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 296 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we're pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing