We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location!”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night over the long weekend. Very easy to walk the 4 blocks to the city centre, and $10 cab fare back after new shoes caused grief! The hotel itself is quite nice. We had a ground floor room which faced west and let the sun in which was welcoming considering it was quite cold. Very pretty courtyard to look out on. Dinner was nice but mine lacked some flavour. Would definitely stay again if driving through.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west nicer in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlfriendSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear girlfriendSydney,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Scott Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A lovely place to stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were very clean, everything worked, the bed was comfortable. Plenty of offstreet parking available when we stayed there. My only complaints would be that the walls are a bit thin so you can hear bathroom sounds from room above, well that was our experience in any case. Also a bit noisy with the rooms near the front carpark.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front car park should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellaeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear bellaelevent,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Our large rear carpark certainly provides plenty of parking for our guests and it is free. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Scott Grant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Comfortable, well positioned city fringe hotel.
Large, comfortable rooms, but sparsely furnished.
Perfect location if on driving holiday (or energetic walk to many Canberra attractions if fit & motivated).
Internal courtyard gardens are appealing, but outer rooms outlook disappoints.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank chillseeker1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Cheers,
Scott Grant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed on 3 of June 2014 only 1 night as I have to rush back to my country. I like the hotel architecture, clasical building with courtyard in the midle. The room is large, clean and very well equipped. Location is walking distance to the city center.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darnel-HDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear HDI2013,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Cheers,
Scott Grant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ZoeF572
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just had 3 nights there in a Superior King room that over look the court yard which was lovely.
The room was large clean and bathroom very clean.It was our wedding Anniversary and we ordered wine it was there in a ice bucket for us when we arrived at 11.30pm.
Reception were very helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for us.
To walk to the CBD was only 10 minutes away. Really nice walk. We didn't eat at the hotel.
If you have a car heaps of parking.
I just wish that they had Free internet in the rooms. Sad you can go to Bali and stay a Mercure hotel and its free but not hear, you do get the first 30minutes free.
Oh the bed was lovely. It is a very charming hotel.

Room Tip: I would be where you can over look the court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kojonup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear kojonup,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! It is always good to receive positive feedback and I will ensure I pass onto the team. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Cheers,
Scott Grant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#28 of 59 in Canberra
3,331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
1.3 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 59 in Canberra
1,188 reviews
3.2 mi away
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
#13 of 59 in Canberra
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#22 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: £61 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing