We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little different”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A little different”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in July. The stay was comfortable, assisted by the very warm welcome by the front desk staff and all the hotel personnel. A quite old building (Heritage ) originally built in 1927 with subsequent additional extensions in keeping with the vintage look. The interior corridors reflect the age by being narrow, and it is quite a rabbit warren to navigate around the large ground area it occupies.The rooms are modern and well equipped with all the usual goodies one expects, and the bistro breakfast is quite good. We did not try the evening meal, but the menu looked quite inviting and we noted a full dining room. A different aspect for this hotel is that the bar is still the local watering hole for the nearby general populace, so the ability to meet and mix is there, There is also a back bistro near the bar, so casual meals are readily available. We were upgraded to a larger room, on a split level, (709). The only problem we noted was that there was part of the water system tank nearby, and although not overly noisy the occasional bubbling did disturb us as light sleepers. A great advantage was the free car parking at the front and rear of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank royvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear royvince,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Scott Grant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    799
    337
    91
    39
See reviews for
263
781
167
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

First time in Mercure hotel.50% less expensive than Novotel but much better. Good bed, great room if you have a loft one and great people realy helpful, congrats! Situation perfect.
10 minutes walk to war memorial and city centre

Room Tip: Loft room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malika77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear malika77,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Scott Grant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stay here for 3 night.This hotel is looked very old from outside, but our room is big enough with flat screen TV.The bed and pillow are very soft and comfortable.The HK clean our room everyday but they didn't clean our bathroom properly , there are always a lot of hair on the bathroom floor.
After midnight the AC always didn't work properly , so we always got sweaty but actually was on winter.
No free WIFI in the room and public are. Very shame. Internet card it was 25$/day. That's ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Amy M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It's great to hear you liked your room experience. I am sorry you found our internet rates excessive, our silver level members receive complimentary internet. To reach that level guests only have to stay in Accor hotels 10 room nights per year. I have addressed your room cleanliness issues with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure this doesn't happen again. We hope to see you on your next trip to the ACT.

Sincerely,
Scott Grant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Was very surprised by this Hotel. It more than exceeded our expectations. The first night we had a king superior room with a small balcony. The room was large with huge TV and smartly fitted out.
The bathroom very modern with walk in shower. The whole hotel has been totally refurbished. The next night was our dog package night. Expected a shoddy room, but it wasn't. It was the same as the previous room, except for the floor which wasn't carpeted but was wood. They provide a bed for the dog, two bowls and a take away dog gift. The small balcony opened out on to a secure garden area for the dog to play. Think they only have a few dog friendly rooms, so you would need to book early to secure one. We were only able to get the one night. The Hotel itself is within walking distance to the War Museum and close to other major attractions. Hotel parking is free.
Included in the room price is buffet breakfast. There is a bar and bistro open for lunch and dinner. Room service is also available .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lily387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Lily387,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Canberra. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Our dog friendly rooms are very popular and yes we only have two of these. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Scott Grant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,202 reviews
3.0 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Property: Mercure Canberra
Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#19 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing