We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Pleasing Stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with my 11 yo son. Whilst had booked a standard room, very pleased at check in when we were upgraded to a suite. The rooms were very quiet, spacious and very clean. Electric blankets on the beds was great given the nights were below freezing. Restaurants in Kingston less than 10 mins walk away. Staff at reception very helpful when I was having a problem with the air conditioning (heating). Came to room and quickly sorted it out. Loved the whole experience. I recommend the Diplomat Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snerznsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    266
    106
    26
    10
See reviews for
138
185
44
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in January 2014. I had planned my proposal to my now fiancée at the zoo during the day (all went to plan) and I had contacted the Diplomat Hotel beforehand to ask about a nice restaurant in the area, which they did very well with. They also complimentary upgraded our room for the special night. All in all it was a great visit!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was in Canberra on business and stayed at the Diplomat. It was a surprising little gem in Canberra. The room was spacious and clean. The Staff were very friendly and helpful, with a read smile and up for a chat. Had dinner at Booked and enjoyed it very much. A vast array of television stations to tune into after a day hard at work. Handy to the shops at Manuka but you would definately need a car.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front corner miss the noise of the service entry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontourAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you have quick stay in Canberra this is quite cheat,clean and well located hotel (in Manuka)
It is clean,large rooms and pleasant around hotel, but don'y hope for a good coffee either in the room or during meal-quite unusual. I was so glad to discover that bed had a electric blanket, magic.

Room Tip: top floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowland F, Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi there Anna H,

Thanks for the feedback, and please accept my apologies for the delayed response. There has been some "ironing out" required in our restaurant area which has finally resulted in a freshly pressed and crinkle free level of service.
The entire restaurant team also went through another round of barrista training and the coffees are now coming out with just the right amount of crema.

Hope to see you back here again soon

The Diplomat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed there for a weekend in Canberra, it was a nice room with good space. We also ate a meal there which was really enjoyable. I would recommend and would stay there again. I would also recommend the meals.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharport67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights and loved it. Very private. rooms are large and have a tv in the living room and bedroom. Bed was very comfortable. staff are very friendly and helpful, thank you !!! will be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I am a frequent guest of this hotel over many years. I like the location, slightly away from the CBD but only a few minutes by car or taxi, and a 10/15 minute flat walk to the trendy Manuka restaurant district. It's on the airport side of the city.
Like many CBR hotels, the Diplomat is showing a few signs of aging, and last year I was thinking of switching to another base. But many things keep me coming back, mostly the friendly welcome and service (especially Eddie on the late Reception shift), the free newspapers and fruit in the lounge (which Rowland has recently made really homely with new seating and bookshelves for the book-swap facility), free parking and WiFi, and the frequent guest program. The rooms are larger than the average hotel, always clean - with 'real' milk in the fridge! The beds are comfy, and area quiet.The restaurant has improved recently as well, and I like the open plan setting.
The gym has several workout machines, but the pool is tiny. Not that it matters as CBR's climate does not encourage much swimming!

Room Tip: Corner suites are very roomy and have a 'sitting' area. I find it handy to get a ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipC1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowland F, General Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi PhilipC1952,

Thank you for the in depth report on the hotel. It is so pleasing that the extra effort from the team doesn't go unnoticed.I'm also very pleased that you have noticed some of the changes around the hotel. We're not quite there yet but all of us here enjoy the challenge of bettering the hotel and our services.

Looking forward to seeing you here again soon!

The Diplomat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,719 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,473 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 57 in Canberra
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,461 reviews
3.4 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,085 reviews
1.1 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Property: Diplomat Hotel
Address: Cnr Canberra Ave & Hely St | (2 Hely St), Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#17 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is located in the heart of Manuka-Kingston - an easy walk to the best that Canberra has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Canberras Boutique Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing