We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds”
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed one night after arriving late in Canberra. Unable to have a room with two queen beds (the hotel didnt appear to be fully booked) but what we got was comfortable. Strange set up in dining room with book shelves and weird menu book - however the steaks were excellent. Staff pleasant. Have stayed here before and thought hotel is beginning to look 'tired'. Not sure about the 'art work' dotted around the walls.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dolores01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowland F, Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi dolores01,

Thanks for staying with us and providing your feedback. Booked. Restaurant is a new concept that we have been working on to provide guests (in particular solo travelers) with something to read or browse while dining. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your meal.

On the artwork, this seems to be changing almost every month at the moment!

Hope to see you around the hotel soon

Regards

The Diplomat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with my 11 yo son. Whilst had booked a standard room, very pleased at check in when we were upgraded to a suite. The rooms were very quiet, spacious and very clean. Electric blankets on the beds was great given the nights were below freezing. Restaurants in Kingston less than 10 mins walk away. Staff at reception very helpful when I was having a problem with the air conditioning (heating). Came to room and quickly sorted it out. Loved the whole experience. I recommend the Diplomat Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank snerznsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here in January 2014. I had planned my proposal to my now fiancée at the zoo during the day (all went to plan) and I had contacted the Diplomat Hotel beforehand to ask about a nice restaurant in the area, which they did very well with. They also complimentary upgraded our room for the special night. All in all it was a great visit!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was in Canberra on business and stayed at the Diplomat. It was a surprising little gem in Canberra. The room was spacious and clean. The Staff were very friendly and helpful, with a read smile and up for a chat. Had dinner at Booked and enjoyed it very much. A vast array of television stations to tune into after a day hard at work. Handy to the shops at Manuka but you would definately need a car.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front corner miss the noise of the service entry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontourAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you have quick stay in Canberra this is quite cheat,clean and well located hotel (in Manuka)
It is clean,large rooms and pleasant around hotel, but don'y hope for a good coffee either in the room or during meal-quite unusual. I was so glad to discover that bed had a electric blanket, magic.

Room Tip: top floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowland F, Manager at Diplomat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi there Anna H,

Thanks for the feedback, and please accept my apologies for the delayed response. There has been some "ironing out" required in our restaurant area which has finally resulted in a freshly pressed and crinkle free level of service.
The entire restaurant team also went through another round of barrista training and the coffees are now coming out with just the right amount of crema.

Hope to see you back here again soon

The Diplomat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed there for a weekend in Canberra, it was a nice room with good space. We also ate a meal there which was really enjoyable. I would recommend and would stay there again. I would also recommend the meals.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharport67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights and loved it. Very private. rooms are large and have a tv in the living room and bedroom. Bed was very comfortable. staff are very friendly and helpful, thank you !!! will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,857 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
4.4 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
734 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,523 reviews
3.4 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Address: Cnr Canberra Ave & Hely St | (2 Hely St), Canberra 2603, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#17 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: £80 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is located in the heart of Manuka-Kingston - an easy walk to the best that Canberra has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Canberras Boutique Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing