We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Easter mini break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
canberra
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great Easter mini break”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

read a bucket list suggestion to be a tourist in the city you live. So we booked the best and stayed at the Hyatt it has so much history (for Canberra) and the way it is tastefully furnished.

we had the Easter special. two nights accommodation with breakfast and a huge hamper. Everything was great from check in to check out. Rooms were spacious, the breakfast buffet had some great quality delights as you would expect and the hamper was exquisite


thank you for a great stay whilst we recharged the batteries

Room Tip: we had room 227 king size bed and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bicko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,411
    592
    201
    76
    52
See reviews for
375
1,031
104
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Enjoyed afternoon tea here in this wonderful Art Deco hotel in the centre of Canberra. Lovely, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere in luxurious surroundings. Only little fault was the service which seemed to have been provided by "student" staff and was, therefore, somewhat erratic.

Otherwise was thoroughly satisfied by our visit and would gladly return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Great stay at this old beauty.Rooms beautifully kept, bonus balcony to relax.We stayed here for the running festival. Conveniently close to all the action.Our room on the third floor delivered everything we wanted, the only downside being the party noise from the banquet rooms below. Especially the smokers in court yard area.sound travels!!!.Overall a lovely place.Would stay here again but would request a quiet room away from the banquet area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank reiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The foyer was nice, and room/bathroom lovely, as you'd expect of this standard of hotel.

The hallways were a bit dated and you had to walk past the dining area which either had strong fish or curry odours when we were there - not pleasant.

However the worst was the noise. We were in room 225 on the ground level. Having to be up at 5:30am for the running festival (as with a lot of other guests) we went to bed at 10pm. Loud music from the downstairs function room was audible at a level that we could not get to sleep. I tried to block the room door with pillows but the noise seemed to be coming through the floor. Knowing that Canberra was flooded with runners and accommodation scarce I didn't bother with trying for another room and it eventually stopped sometime after we tossed and turned for at least an hour. On checkout when we were asked how our stay was we mentioned the noise and the staff member indicated that this was a common complaint. Not good at all for a supposed top hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samjay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We just spent two nights in Canberra as running the marathon and had a lovely stay. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet, the breakfast buffet excellent and a very caring personnel making you feel at home.
Worth noting, wifi is free and the hotel is located close to major museums.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel offers pretty well everything a business traveller needs. A window that opens to let in fresh air, comfortable beds, excellent bathroom amenities.

This trip I had time to eat in the Promenade restaurant (buffet) and the selection was great and included plenty of fresh seafood.

Well trained helpful staff round out the package. Not cheap but good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

You want to stay in the cntre of Canberra and the Hyatt is well situated, It is a first class hotel with fine rooms and most efficient staff. Rooms are spacious. The pool is a good size. Beds are most comfortable and after a good nights sleep you ejoy a good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euro46y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,770 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,061 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Property: Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing