We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Canberra for years and never stayed at the Hyatt and to be honest I have no idea why we didn't! We did this time to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.

The hotel has an old world charm but sophisticated in line with it 5 star rating.

The doorman dressed in their +4s and peaked caps just tells you the style of the place. We stayed in a king deluxe room in the pavilion and it was fantastic. Great big bed, nespresso coffee machine and a marble bathroom that was amazing.

The breakfast was good but $6 for a small cappucino was a bit excessive but the service by Stewart was great.

We met friends at the speakers bar before heading out for dinner and they had a good selection of wines, beers and cocktails.

I dont think we will stay anywhere else from now on.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmmCeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    584
    197
    76
    52
See reviews for
368
1,020
103
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Visiting Canberra again and staying at the Hyatt was full of promise but aside from great concierge staff and housekeeping the Hotel has lost some lustre. The lounge is booked out for visitors not guests, the restaurant buffet repeats the same offering at dinner and lunch and is not 4 or 5 star fare. Rooms are ok but curtains are full of dust and need dry cleaning.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tpy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel which retains all the elegance of the 1920s. The hotel covers an enormous area and the extensions are true to the architecture and design of the original Art Deco period. Staff were without exception courteous, friendly and efficient. The room was extremely spacious and contained every possible consideration to make our stay more than comfortable. The bath tub deserves special mention - it is rare in these days of compact bathroom design to find a bath tub separate from the walk in shower and this tub is exception in size and comfort! Fittings and facilities in the room were second to none and the room was fresh and clean. I have no hesitation in recommending the Hyatt and I am determined to return as soon as possible!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WaggaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for just one night recently and really liked this hotel. The hotel is really in two sections with some rooms in the original Art Deco building and others in the more modern extension at the rear. My room was a basic room in the more modern section, but that was fine. The room was very spacious clean and beautifully furnished. It was also very quiet, from inside my room it would be easy to think I was the only person staying at the hotel. The bathroom also deserves particular mention as for a lower end room it was particularly good with lots of room, large separate bath and very nicely finished.

The hotel is spread out rather than up, it was I think a maximum or three stories high but over a large footprint. So the good was no elevators, the bad was a long walk from my room back to reception then again to the car park. I believe there is the option of valet parking if you don't want to walk to the car park, however self parking is free and really not that far.

Wifi is also free throughout the hotel and very fast and reliable. All in all I found this a great hotel, friendly staff and excellent value for money. It really helps that parking and wifi is free so the room price you booked is likely to be the price you end up paying.

Well worth a visit when you are in Canberra

Room Tip: Go basic, good price and great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The staff at the hotel were very friendly, which amazes me as they are made to dress in some bizarre clothing. I think the hotel strives to achieve some sort of 1920's feel, despite some very modern architecture and decor. Males look like they have been thrown off the local golf course for wearing 100 yr old clothing whilst the females are stressed like they're about to attend a nearby funeral.

The hotel has a very strange feel to it. On checking-in i struggled to find my room, the layout is unlike any other hotel i've stayed in. It is almost like the hotel is split into two. This could be due to the fact that the hotel is spread horizontally rather than vertically.

The hotel is in very good condition. The rooms were excellent. The beds was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with a very good shower.

My main issue with the hotel was the location. Forget walking to a local bar, cafe or coffee outlet as they are miles away and it'll cost you $16 in taxi fares, each way!

In all, a decent hotel but it's suited for those of you in arriving in Canberra for corporate business rather than tourist reasons.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stay here regularly for business. Rooms are lovely and very comfortable, beds a dream. Bathrooms are huge and all always spotlessly clean and fresh. Rooms are large and well appointed, lots of hanging space and hangers, great air con temp - all just perfect. Only complaint is the bar shuts at 9pm on a Sunday - a pain if you fly in late and feel like a drink (but a well stocked mini-bar!!).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bon_vivant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
445 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have stayed a few times at this grand old dame and it is truly a great little hotel, however given the number of bills that are paid by diplomatic credit cards or by the Australian tax payer They need to be reminded that competition is present and now more than ever they need to be reminded about customer service. We waited 30 minutes for someone to serve us in the gallery lounge on two occasions - had we any choice we would have walked off but there is nothing around. Eventually we were served.

Make no mistake, this is a nice hotel, staff are great and the price reflects it but not to the same extent that any other 5 star hotel would expect from its staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Property: Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing