We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but needs updating and complete gym overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but needs updating and complete gym overhaul”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Hyatt Hotel Canberra is a nice property. A lot like the Kempinski Frankfurt Gravenbruch, it's a sprawling property that requires one to walk a fair distance to get from the front desk to the rooms. Rooms are reasonably quiet but it seems weird to be so far removed from the main building (and restaurants, and conference rooms, etc.). But it is clean and the grounds are well manicured, so it's got that.

I had a first-floor room (which luckily did not have access from the outside). Bathroom needs updating as the marble was very dated. Bathroom amenities from Vive were a little underwhelming.

Check-in can be slow; it was fine for me but I saw a queue of 10 later on that afternoon. Service staff were attentive and helpful however, which was nice.

Main restaurant, with a brunch buffet, was totally overwhelmed by customer flow at peak hours. Be prepared to seat oneself and pick from the buffet rather than wait for the kitchen to complete one's order.

The gym was the real let-down. It isn't 24/7, it opens at a rather late 6am, and though it's expansive (with plenty of cardio equipment and a good range of weights), it's not equipped with staff nor basic amenities (no headphones as they're trying to sell headphones to you; when I went, they didn't even have hand towels available). The indoor pool is much shorter than the pictures indicate; it would make one dizzy doing laps.

Overall, the property was fine, just in need of some upgrades to be a real player...and with its proximity to Parliament, it really should position itself as the go-to spot for government visitors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladodgerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,412
    593
    201
    76
    52
See reviews for
376
1,032
104
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Being a Hyatt gold card member I decided to get some points even though I booked a week out so the pricing options were limited. I had a good room on level 4 with a view out across the lake & access to free continental breakfasts & evening drinks & canapes. The rooms are a good size with everything you needed for a pleasant stay. I forgot to take a toothbrush but the array of available items in the room included dental care which saved me a trip to buy one. The staff are always friendly, attentive & the service in general is excellent. If like me you prefer your car under cover valet parking is available & at $25 a day expensive but in my case worth it. This hotel has a long history in Canberra & being close to Parliament House hosts many politicians. Without naming them one who is very much in the press lately was dining a couple of tables across from me larger than life shall we say. As mentioned in other reviews it contains a good blend of old world charm with modern facilities. I will definitely continue to stay here when in Canberra but more for the experience than the gold card rewards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I’ve stayed at the Hyatt Canberra on about four previous occasions but this is my first review.
My request for a quiet room was noted and I was not disappointed with my room allocation. The bed was very comfortable. I love the bathrooms at the Hyatt with the bath and shower separate. One thing I did notice, however, was that there were no bath salts provided for the bath, as was the case in the past.
Staying in Club Rooms I enjoyed a glass of wine and canapés in the evening in the Ambassador Lounge before dining in the restaurant. The big disappointment was the breakfast provided in the Ambassador Lounge. The breakfast in the club lounge is not of the same standard as other hotels offering club lounge facilities. I wasn’t aware of this when booking as I’ve not taken my breakfast in the Club Lounge until this last visit. This is the only reason I’ve not given the hotel an excellent rating.
But I just love the building, the décor and the bell staff uniforms.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JustAnotherDayIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We wanted a night away as kid free, woohoo, and of course living in Canberra it just had to be the Hyatt. We have been to this Grand charmer many times from high tea baby showers to a quiet drink in the Lobby and of course have stayed a few times. From the moment you are greeted at the door with the guys in their plus 4's you just feel like you are transported back to the so called good old days. We were warmly greeted at reception and our room did not disappoint. We had a meal in the restaurant (al le cart not the buffet) and the service and food were exceptional. I would not hesitate in booking the Hyatt again for a stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to book the restaurant ahead of time as it is not only guests who are staying who eat here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is truly a service orientated 5 star hotel with classic, simple quality features. Rarely have I been any where in the world where I have been offered such wonderful service in excellent surrounds....Except perhaps Raffles in Singapore. Yes....that is what I am reminded off when I just recent stay. Nothing was a problem for the very friendly and obliging staff. Everything ran like clock work. Is is funny I hadn't noticed the problems or lack of effort with other so called 5 star hotels till staying at the Canberra Hyatt.
Congratulations to everyone who works there....Job well done!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Its not very often I find a simple reason to return to the nations capital but Hyatt Hotel is now clearly one. The staff are incredibly friendly, even if you do have a chuckle at the uniform for the boys at the door. The restaurant were really efficient and clearly used to business people travelling on their own just wanting a quiet corner to read and eat. Superb food and very friendly team.

Room Tip: It may pay to ask for a room without a connecting door - it was obvious my adjoining room door must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stay here regularly and always 5star accommodation and service. Rooms are big and beds are extremely comfortable. Breakfast buffet is best Hotel brekkie anywhere. Pool and gym great areas and clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,770 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,061 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Property: Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing