We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“art deco grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

stayed for 3 nights june long weekend the rooms and decor so do you want to go back in time its 1920s at its best.Started with the High tea all i can say is let this be my life each day 10/10you cant stay with out this worth each and ever dollar.The door men at this hotel are the best.As for breakfast pay the extra its such a nice location and so fresh a special thanks to the egg lady your smile and eggs made me get out of bed each day.If you havent stayed at this hotel you should.

Room Tip: balcony park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriss1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,960 - 1,966 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Being a planned city, Canberra is different - in many ways, including what is regarded as "the centre" of town. Here, the centre is not really the CBD as you are probably in town to meet with politicians or government representatives - for this the Hyatt is ideally located. Everything is a cab ride away, but short rides in the case of the Hyatt. On arrival you see the original hotel structure, which houses reception, restaurants and some of the rooms in original wings spanning out from the central building. These are amongst the first buildings in Canberra and are built in the rather pleasing Prarie-house style. It is said that the Hyatt (then Hostel Canberra) was based on the design of the original Hotel Imperial in Tokyo, of which Frank Lloyd Wright was the architect. So history and architecture buffs will be at home here!

Most rooms and all of the conference facilities are housed in a newer building, which cleverly fits in with the older buildings. Public areas are very pleasant and restaurant service efficient and pleasant. I prefer to stay in the original wings but all rooms are of a good size and comfortable. This is a good choice, whether you come to Canberra on business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms in original wing have great period charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hyatt Canberra staff are wonderful - professional, welcoming but not over the top. Rooms on the upper level main wing are the best. I ordered room service breakfast which was great and perhaps beat the queues others have mentioned. My only gripe was the heating and hot water. It's winter and cold but the heating system only really got into gear after 5pm and there was no where near enough not water for a nice bath. Pressure in the shower was also a little disappointing (room 333). Apart from that - had a great week.

Room Tip: Upper level in the main wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Hyatt Hotel Canberra is a nice property. A lot like the Kempinski Frankfurt Gravenbruch, it's a sprawling property that requires one to walk a fair distance to get from the front desk to the rooms. Rooms are reasonably quiet but it seems weird to be so far removed from the main building (and restaurants, and conference rooms, etc.). But it is clean and the grounds are well manicured, so it's got that.

I had a first-floor room (which luckily did not have access from the outside). Bathroom needs updating as the marble was very dated. Bathroom amenities from Vive were a little underwhelming.

Check-in can be slow; it was fine for me but I saw a queue of 10 later on that afternoon. Service staff were attentive and helpful however, which was nice.

Main restaurant, with a brunch buffet, was totally overwhelmed by customer flow at peak hours. Be prepared to seat oneself and pick from the buffet rather than wait for the kitchen to complete one's order.

The gym was the real let-down. It isn't 24/7, it opens at a rather late 6am, and though it's expansive (with plenty of cardio equipment and a good range of weights), it's not equipped with staff nor basic amenities (no headphones as they're trying to sell headphones to you; when I went, they didn't even have hand towels available). The indoor pool is much shorter than the pictures indicate; it would make one dizzy doing laps.

Overall, the property was fine, just in need of some upgrades to be a real player...and with its proximity to Parliament, it really should position itself as the go-to spot for government visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladodgerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Being a Hyatt gold card member I decided to get some points even though I booked a week out so the pricing options were limited. I had a good room on level 4 with a view out across the lake & access to free continental breakfasts & evening drinks & canapes. The rooms are a good size with everything you needed for a pleasant stay. I forgot to take a toothbrush but the array of available items in the room included dental care which saved me a trip to buy one. The staff are always friendly, attentive & the service in general is excellent. If like me you prefer your car under cover valet parking is available & at $25 a day expensive but in my case worth it. This hotel has a long history in Canberra & being close to Parliament House hosts many politicians. Without naming them one who is very much in the press lately was dining a couple of tables across from me larger than life shall we say. As mentioned in other reviews it contains a good blend of old world charm with modern facilities. I will definitely continue to stay here when in Canberra but more for the experience than the gold card rewards.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I’ve stayed at the Hyatt Canberra on about four previous occasions but this is my first review.
My request for a quiet room was noted and I was not disappointed with my room allocation. The bed was very comfortable. I love the bathrooms at the Hyatt with the bath and shower separate. One thing I did notice, however, was that there were no bath salts provided for the bath, as was the case in the past.
Staying in Club Rooms I enjoyed a glass of wine and canapés in the evening in the Ambassador Lounge before dining in the restaurant. The big disappointment was the breakfast provided in the Ambassador Lounge. The breakfast in the club lounge is not of the same standard as other hotels offering club lounge facilities. I wasn’t aware of this when booking as I’ve not taken my breakfast in the Club Lounge until this last visit. This is the only reason I’ve not given the hotel an excellent rating.
But I just love the building, the décor and the bell staff uniforms.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank JustAnotherDayIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We wanted a night away as kid free, woohoo, and of course living in Canberra it just had to be the Hyatt. We have been to this Grand charmer many times from high tea baby showers to a quiet drink in the Lobby and of course have stayed a few times. From the moment you are greeted at the door with the guys in their plus 4's you just feel like you are transported back to the so called good old days. We were warmly greeted at reception and our room did not disappoint. We had a meal in the restaurant (al le cart not the buffet) and the service and food were exceptional. I would not hesitate in booking the Hyatt again for a stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to book the restaurant ahead of time as it is not only guests who are staying who eat here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 59 in Canberra
1,912 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#12 of 59 in Canberra
1,118 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 59 in Canberra
757 reviews
1 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 59 in Canberra
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: £114 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing