We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place but very pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place but very pricey”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Had to stay here because all the other places were booked up. Great place to stay with a very nice room, great bathroom and plenty of outdoor parking (at your own risk). Underground parking is an additional $25 per night. Lucky my company was paying the bill for this because I found it a bit pricey for you got. I wouldn't exactly rate it 5 star on the global scale but it's high for Australian standards. $16 movies on the TV, $40 Breakfast Buffet which was pretty average as far a breakfast goes. The coffee was fantastic though. Don't even think about getting stuck into the ridiculously priced minibar. It is apparent that alot of the politicians and their staff stay here so I say shame on you Hyatt and all of Canberra for that matter for driving up the prices as in the end its really the Taxpayers who foot the bill. This isn't Paris, New York, London or even Sydney for that matter so why the similar price?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,347
    571
    192
    76
    52
See reviews for
354
995
103
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Purpose was business.

Stayed one night in deluxe room #8. Room was very clean, elegant and very spacious (more like a extra large master bedroom). Huge marble bathroom (spa bath, walk in shower). Wireless and wired internet speed was good. Room decor is sympathetic and classic to the history of the hotel site.

Club lounge was great - service and f&b offerings.

Didn't try the restaurant. Though it was pretty empty on a Thursday night.

Check in staff and doorman were efficient.

Though an electric blanket or stronger heater would have been nice.

Remembering to provide Platinum membership amenities would have been appreciated too!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sckc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We spent 4 nights at the Hyatt as part of a short trip to Canberra and we were impressed with every aspect of this hotel. We got a good deal a week prior to staying there - $265 AU for a King room including buffet breakfast. We booked by phone.

The hotel is in a quiet location away from the main CBD. It is in walking distance to many of the local sights. The service was exceptional, we found the staff very friendly and helpful for anything we required. Our room was lovely, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean, with an outer door that opened to a view of a courtyard area. I found our bed a little difficult to get used to, but this may be due to adjusting to a different bed. The rooms are individually heated and get very hot at night, even with the heating off. Luckily, we were able to open the courtyard view door at night for a little air.

There were lots of little touches to the Hyatt which made our stay even more comfortable such as complimentary bottled water, topping up of toiletries as needed and the evening 'turn down' service. We made use of the laundry service and again were very pleased, they collected our items as soon as we rang in the morning and they were back when we arrived back from sight-seeing for the day.

The hotel has been renovated and is charming. We had our breakfast and meals at the Promenade Cafe and were very pleased with the food and service provided there. We had room service on our first evening and the staff member taking our order was extremely helpful in rectifying a problem when I had made a mistake in my order. We did think the evening buffet meal was a little expensive for the quality of some of the food ($52 AU per person), but it was overall acceptable. We drove into the CBD areas for a couple of our evening meals also.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippodreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The rooms are spacious. I was in a Balcony Room and both the room itself and the bathroom are vary large by most hotel standards. However, due to the size, the heating is woefully inadequate; Canberra in August is cold. Even with the heating cranked up to the highest setting, I needed the blanket from the wardrobe to get through the night. An electric blanket would have been sensible. I note that in the bathroom a small sign suggests a shorter shower to save water. Well, double glazing would not have gone astray! The double doors to the balcony rattled every time the wind blew. Also, with the heating at the highest setting - it made a lot of noise. I would have expected more from a Park Hyatt.

On the positive side, the Club Lounge evening drinks and canapés were amongst the best I have come across. Breakfast is ok - all cold buffet only

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afxdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Stayed a few nights and as every the hotel is impeccably maintained, service is excellent; very hard to find a fault. Lots of free parking around the hotel. A great place to relax but also perfect for business as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We have stayed one night in a standard room for leisure.

Standard, but large with a huge bathroom. Good service (well for $230AU, it is expected), nice coktails (and reasonnabiliy priced).
Free parking, but expensive internet access (unless you are Platinium or if you laptop has Ipass installed)
Good location to discover Canberra and its great museum.
Close to the Lake, awesome for the morning run.

It is nice hotel, but not sure to come back. It is missing the "Park Hyatt" touch as you can find in Tokyo or Paris.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We held our wedding and reception at the Hyatt Hotel in December. Had I known what I know now - I would have run screaming in the other direction!!
Initially, all the planning was going well, however, the Hyatt event co-ordinator changed jobs 2 weeks before our wedding day. We were told this by a one line email. We called and set up appointments with the new co-ordinator - who was late to, or forgot every appointment!

Upon checking in on the big day, they had 'lost' our room booking (which had been confirmed earlier that week!), and had us waiting in the lobby for 45 mins while they tried, unsuccessfully) to find the co-ordinator, before shoving us off into a tiny, very dated room at the back of the hotel. Unable to get a hold of the co-ordinator, we called the reception again, and (after 2 hours) we were moved to a bigger room, closer to the wedding garden.

Multiple other small stuff ups happened over the course of the day and evening, not to mention the fact that the co-ordinator left right after the ceremony and wasn't there to run the reception (despite assuring us she would be), and the fact that despite confirming numbers well in advance, they didn't make enough mains for all of our guests, and threw out our wedding cake!!!
Upon trying to contact the General Manager about this, no one would put me through to him, only to his staff! No apologies actually came until 3 weeks of discussions later! Appalling service! The Hyatt has sunk well below it's reputation.
All that being said, the general staff (waiters, concierge, etc) were truly lovely, and just as appalled as we were by the shabby treatment from the event management team.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sway81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,719 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,082 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
602 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,031 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Property: Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing