We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Space, space, and more space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Space, space, and more space”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for one night for business. The location is excellent, within walking distance to Civic. The gym is well-kept, although I didn't try the spa or pool. The lack of a restaurant is a bit of a problem on Sundays, as the only thing open in the area appears to be the McDonalds on the ground floor.

The rooms are enormous, some of the biggest I've ever stayed in, very well equipped, and very clean. My booking appears to have been for a 1-bedroom apartment, but I was given a 2-bedroom one. They would be well suited to a long-term stay. They have, however, seen better days. The decor looks early 90's, and is well overdue for a refit. The 'Queen' beds are also two singles pushed together, which isn't to everyone's taste.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, ask for a room away from the McDonalds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review of Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your positive comments. I was glad to read you enjoyed the size of our rooms.
I will share your feedback with the team and hope we will see you again when you are next in Canberra.
Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    551
    372
    150
    87
See reviews for
691
194
30
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I didn't love this place, but it was great value. Where else could you get a spacious, clean, two bedroom apartment-style hotel room in the centre of the nation's capital for under $230? Four of us shared the room, and it was comfortable, if basic. The window next to the bed was a little cold (it was April) but the quilts were warm! We arrived quite late, and we couldn't find a place to park. The helpful security guard suggested that we park in the driveway, but he must have seen that I wasn't too impressed with that suggestion - so he found us some covered parking under the building. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be good value for money and in a good location.
Thank you also for your comments in regards to the service I will make sure this is passed onto our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

On 28th May I made a booking for two Queen size beds with bedding at The Adina in Canberra. No where on the booking site did it mention a $15 per day fee for parking the car. Instead it stated ‘on site secure undercover parking’.
Considering we paid $435.50 for two nights stay and the Adina was rated as four star I was shocked to find the quality of the room provided, less than I would have tolerated in a two star establishment, as there is no excuse for lack of cleanliness.
1. I would never recommend the Adina to anyone because:-
2. The second bedroom was a matchbox size with a gap of 44cm at the bottom of the bed to the wall and 61cm and 42cm on either side. The two single beds joined together had only single bed linen on top. When queen size linen was requested we had to physically convince the hotel employee, by comparison with bed linen from the other bed, which was a proper queen size bed, that the linen provided was only single size. When extra blankets were requested we were informed the Adina did not have any queen size blankets.
3. The frypan and one saucepan had not been washed and had caked food scraps on them. A replacement frypan was given to us, but not a saucepan.
4. The oven door had a gap of two cm around it when closed.
5. No tea pot or coffee pot provided.
6. No detergent provided.
7. The minimum of four pieces of both crockery and cutlery made meals difficult as did the bare minimum of other kitchen utensils.
8. Inadequate instructions for the dish washer and or failure to work properly.
9. Dirt caked in corners of main bathroom 2 to 3 cm wide in places.
10. Shower door in main bathroom failed to close properly from the inside.
11. Light fitting missing from main bathroom as was a screen for the laundry.
12. Windows had greasy hand marks and dirt on them.
13. Curtains in lounge room incorrect size, dirty and broken.
14. Linen cupboard door could not close at all.
Please see some of the photos of the room which are attached to this email.
Sandra and John McIlveen
from Room 322.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smmcilveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court. I was disappointed to receive your review. I can assure you that any feedback is regarded in high value. The issues you experienced in your room with the kitchen, bathroom, light fittings and lounge room have been addressed by the team, again I do apologise for your poor experience with us.
If there are any further queries please contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canberra hotels

leeton nsw
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Great first impression in what is a nice hotel- and i am fussy. The main rooms are very nicely furbished, however the bathroom while clean and well appointed is out dated. Great value at the moment because there is a major construction site at the back and since it is on a corner the 3 fronts have traffic noise. Having said that i had a great night sleep as the noise started after i woke up (7am). Street noise is hard to overcome anywhere this close, i paid over $300 somewhere else and it was worse. So like all experienced travelers take some earphones put on some great soft music and youll sleep well in the comfy beds...... Bed rooms have a handy tv as well as lounge room, also Showers are great as there is a huge water heater per apartment.

Room Tip: higher floor to decrease some potential for noise or stay out of canberra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robleeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court. I am pleased to read that you found our rooms to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Canberra in the future.
Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our room was very spacious with separate living/dining/kitchen, balcony, good size bathroom with washing machine and drier and separate bedroom. Kitchen was well set up with full size fridge and all the utensils you need. Decor was clean and modern. The only small negatives were that our room was on Northbourne Ave which is very noisy so that you cannot really enjoy the balcony and you could hear the traffic in the bedroom (although only low level hum with window closed). The iron and ironing board were the cheapest possible and both combined made it very difficult to iron a shirt. Apart from this it was very pleasant. It was very cold in Canberra and the air conditioner worked beautifully. Luckily, we were there on the weekend so we didn't notice any construction noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Northbourne Ave as the traffic noise can be a nuisance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpikeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your comments.
I will share your feedback with the team and hope we will see you again when you are next in Canberra.
Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

booked 2 bedroom apartment for one night. had good memories from earlier stay back in 2007. it appears that nothing has happened since, the sliding doors in the wardrobe were stuck, the control panel in the elevator was loose, all the fittings are slightly dated, cracks and such in the furniture and bathroom... but worst of all, construction work started at 7 am on Saturday morning right next to the building. Had we known that, we would not have booked this hotel... pity it was not mentioned at all anywhere... wont go back here for a while. Staff was helpful on check in and check out. parking fee was an extra 15 dollar, another unpleasant surprise.

Room Tip: try and get a room away from the construction noise (on the other side of the building!)
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cameronfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Canberra, James Court.

Our neighbours are currently undergoing a refurbishment which will take place from April, 2013 until April, 2014, during this time we aim to continue to give our guests the highest level of service; however we recognise that there may experience some level of inconvenience.

We welcome any comments our guests may have on how we can improve our guest experience during the construction period. I can assure you any feedback is of the highest value to us, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights with my family and the room was big enough for 4ppl as we stayed in room 814, which had a spa :) and the beds were great to sleep in which made our stay more enjoyable and had a great view of Canberra :) So a big Thank you to Mick and Jessica for making our stay enjoyable :) and cannot wait to go back but it will have to be in summer lol

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda I, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, we really appreciate it.
It was great to read you loved our rooms and the friendly staff and we hope you will stay here again next time you are in Canberra.
Kind Regards
Amanda Irvine
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.0 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
0.1 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.3 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#8 of 57 in Canberra
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,242 reviews
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court

Property: Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
Address: 74 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#25 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive James Court Hotel Canberra
Medina Executive James Court Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing