We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at the Novetel for a reunion weekend in Canberrra. The hotel was fantastic in every way - centrally located, great helpful staff, lovely spacious room not to mention the pool, spa and sauna! All topped off by a delicous breakfast. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coleclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    1,491
    653
    166
    70
See reviews for
927
1,119
286
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Room was not cleaned properly as I found partially used bottle of soft drink in fridge. Additionally, lost power in room which resulted in me stubbing toe on bed base and hitting shin against chair as I tried to locate the phone.
When I complained to Reception upin check-out, I was told I would NOT be charged for my overnight parking.
Can someone explain why my credit card was hit with a charge of $18.27 ?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCBR, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Canberra. It is very disappointing to hear that your stay did not meet the expectations that we strive for. I have passed your comments regarding the room cleanliness along to our Executive Housekeeper.

Please also note, that we have Duty Managers available 24 hours, to respond to any concerns that a guest may have during their stay. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel regarding the late charge on your card, so that we can organise for the charge to be adjusted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bat mans bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The Nootel is convenient, quiet and easy parking just off northbourne ave. The staff are so helpful and the food excellent. Convenience plus . Iwas upgraded and it was a lovely luxury. It is also nice to be so close to the parks and walking areas that Canberra has to offer - bring you hat and walking shoes

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCBR, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed at the Novotel due to its location and found it to meet all our expectations. The service was excellent. We were a little concerned regarding the limited car parking and possible damage to the vehicle but all was satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The location is so central, there are literally everything at your door step. The parking under the building is so convenient. Thank you to Novotel. However I had a very inconsiderate group of young next door neighbours that came home at 2:30am, with loud talking and laughter, banging the doors, just generally being nuisance, I could not go back to sleep after this rude interuption, they were out again at 3:00am.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shao Hong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The staff , both at reception and in the restaurant were exemplary. Their service was at all times helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The location is very convenient within walking distance of main shopping and entertainment area. Food excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCBR, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Were greeted by the worst musty smell when entering the room. No way to open the windows to get rid of it. The cushions on the bed had stains all over them. Still, the beds are comfortable, and the rooms are nice enough, although the bathroom could do with an update.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#32 of 57 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Property: Novotel Canberra
Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#22 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing