We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow - What a Find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dubbo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow - What a Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Loved our stay at Novotel Canberra. From the minute we arrived, we were welcomed by the exceptional staff. Rooms were excellent (ours had 2 queen beds), bathrooms were a great size and everything was spot on. When we went to park the car, we found the car park spaces were not very large, however, Novotel offers a professional solution in that they have trained staff who will park your car. Even after returning from a late night out we were able to leave our car out the from, drop the keys to reception and have it parked for us. Took the worry out of it. We were so pleased with everything and knew we had made a great choice. Slept very well and had no noise or disturbances, even though it was a Saturday night in the centre of Canberra's CBD. I had requested a quiet room on a higher floor when booking and couldnt hear a thing on Floor 7 in a room which was not facing Northbourne Avenue. Breakfast was included in our 30 day advance rate of $138. All I can say is that the breakfast was exceptional - one of the best buffets I have ever seen. Even able to have your choice of coffees which was a bonus as I love my cappuccino. Loved our stay with Novotel and would definitely return. Highly impressed and great value for money. Well done Novotel!

Room Tip: Have the buffet breakfast - loved it - and let someone else park your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jude1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    1,475
    638
    161
    68
See reviews for
912
1,107
284
668
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed at Novotel Canberra for 3 nights at end of October 2011, suddenly on the 30th october morning. "Qantas Lock Out !.. "...Our flight to Melbourne for the next morning was cancelled, all planes grounded.

Here the quality of management is ESSENTIAL !
I ask for HELP from Mr Kyong Pang, assistant manager, whom I met the day before and had a chat together...

The assistant manager immediatly went on internet, looked for an alternative airline company, and succeeded to buy the last 2 seats on Virgin Airlines for us.

So don't hesitate to stay at Novotel Canberra, you will find a team ready to help you, as their assistant manager shows them the way to help travelers efficiently.

Hotel and breakfast are good and the situation in heart of city is excellent, the king bed was too soft for my husband, but good for me.

The War Memorial of Canberra is worth seeing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pambula, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Novotel Canberra provided my daughter and I a great central location for our shopping trip. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we had the quietest nights sleep of any hotel we have stayed in. Reception staff were helpful and accommodating when we requested an extension to our hotel carparking whilst we shopped for the afternoon after our check-out at 11am. My husband and son recommended the hotel to me after they had stayed a couple of times during football season last year. Novotel is now our hotel of choice when staying in Canberra.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pantherboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

This hotel is above the bus station so the immediate area is a little stark. Across Northbourne ave (the continuation of the hwy from Sydney) there are some nice cafes and bars. The rooms are very nice, modern and comfortable. The breakfast is standard hotel fare, not great, not bad. The bar is good. Hotel parking is not included in the price, its valet parking in the crowded basement, but on the weekend there is street parking available.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_B_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I stayed for one night, but needed to work on arrival and be ready for a long next day. The room's desk and lighting was great. The room service prompt and tasty. The bed as soft and comfortable. And the room was quiet. All-in-all, a great place to stay. Only issue was some 'gunk' in the bathroom and the alarm clock was hard to set (but a wake up call was available via the operator).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTravelers-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Firstly, the customer service was excellent as was the buffet breakfast. We booked online and requested a separate bedroom to the living area (at an additional cost) but when we arrived the bedroom and living room were all in the one area. Reception quickly fixed the situation by showing us a couple of other rooms which we could choose from. In the end we upgraded to a suite and were very happy. The bed was incredibly comfortable (especially important as I am pregnant) and the room was very clean.

The only negative thing we could point out would be that some of the rooms were fairly dated compared to the foyer, bar and restaurant areas.

Overall, it was a great stay and the staff really made it a lovely place to be. Location was also fantastic - walking distance to shops and restaurants/cafes etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pambula, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

When i stay in a motel the only thing i care about really is if the beds are good. This was a fantastic bed and i would stay there again. Staff were lovely and the room was very clean. Only neg was the decoration pillows could have done with a clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#31 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Property: Novotel Canberra
Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#21 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing