We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located and functional, but needs a polish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well located and functional, but needs a polish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel is conveniently located on Northbourne Avenue adjacent to Civic and the Central shopping and business areas of Canberra and is a good base for a business trip or a city-focused weekend stay. It is an easy walk to many good restaurants and on a rainy night I walked to the West Row restaurants in five minutes under cover (except to cross the road). The rooms are reasonably comfortable but not luxurious but unortunately the furnishing was showing its age with lots of scratches on wooden panels. Rooms are double glazed and thus quiet but windows cannot be opened if you like fresh air. The things I like most about this hotel are its excellent indoor heated swimming pool which is about 20 metres long and lap swimmable, a welcome sight after a day in meeting rooms. I also like the bar area and in winter this has a nice apres ski feel to it and served wines from the Canberra area that I can recommend. The breakfast buffet was of good quality and the restaurant has a nice perspective onto the trees and streets below at the corner. The staff in the bar and restaurant were excellent and for breakfast they will bring expresso coffee to your table. You can access the car park from behind the building but there was an $18 parking fee and the cars are managed by a valet service but for me this was efficiently and pleasantly run. All in all this is a functional place but the general appearance needs a bit of sprucing up to make it a strong 4/5 star option for its price.

Room Tip: The hotel has its bar and conference facilities on the 1st floor so avoid this level. Its pool and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerCheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    1,475
    636
    161
    68
See reviews for
912
1,105
284
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Novotel for a weekend away in Canberra, primarily to watch the footy, and then see some of the sites around the city. Being the start of June, Canberra was starting to get cold and miserable, and it rained constantly on the Saturday. As a result, the hotel was considerably empty.

However, the hotel proved to be a terrific spot to stay in. It is located very much in the centre of the city and only a block away from the civic centre and all the bus terminals which can take you wherever you are wanting to go. It is also only a block away from the pick-up point for the hop-on-hop-off explorer bus (though we didn't get around to going on it this time).

The rooms themselves are very nicely set out and are very clean and modern, and the bed was decidedly comfortable. On a somewhat interesting and intriguing note, there is no sink in the bathroom - rather it is located in the main part of the room, which means anyone in your room has to watch you as you brush your teeth and whatnot. While it was fine for me, I could see why some people would desire more privacy. And in terms of the bathroom, while the shower was quite large for a hotel, which was a welcome change, there was a decent gap between the glass door and the glass wall, which meant you couldn't help but flood half the bathroom each time you had a shower.

While the hotel is located on the main road through the city, you don't really hear any noise (though our room wasn't located on the main road), but then again, the main road in Canberra is really not that busy, so you really shouldn't be bothered by that.

The restaurant and bar are very well appointed and the food is of a great quality. The breakfast, which was included in our package, was really good and was great value.

We were also able to get a late check out on the Sunday of 5pm, which was an added bonus as not many places seemed to offer such a possibility in Canberra.

There is also a large indoor pool, sauna and gym, though, once again, we had no time to take advantage of them, but they all looked really well appointed.

I'm not sure when I will go back to Canberra, but if and when I do, I will certainly be looking at returning to the Novotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbeauchamp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback on the Novotel Canberra. We take pride in providing guests with excellent service and a product that exceeds expectations! And our location to the city as well as many tourist attractions is definitely convenient for all of our guests. Our hotel had an extension completed recently where the new rooms were designed with a European feel based on our International properties in Europe. This is why the bathrooms are laid out the way they are. Some people prefer to have a more traditional bathroom, which we are also able to accommodate.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Canberra in the future and we hope you enjoyed the footy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed at the Novotel for two nights for a business trip. The hotel is well located on Northbourne Avenue, in easy walking distance to the central Civic business district & mall area. The hotel itself is modern, clean, well set out. The rooms are of good size, well appointed, and a comfortable bed. The staff were vey helpful, although I would say that their checkout was somewhat slow on departure when a sudden rush of people all checked out together--though they did then send someone through the line to offer the quick checkout option. Overall it was a good experience, and relatively good value (although parking was extra charge per night), so I'll happily go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SYDAV8OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCanberra, Front Office Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback on Novotel Canberra. We take pride in providing guests with excellent service and a product that exceeds expectations! And our location to the city centre as well as many tourist attractions is definitely convenient for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Canberra in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

As an Accor Advantage Plus member I chose this hotel but was disappointed with the overall standard of facilities and service. Strengths are its location and the restaurant's food and service. Negatives: the bed was uncomfortable, the pillows simply awful. No Mini bar menu in the room & staff took 15 minutes to find one. No paper or pen to be found, and the windows were badly in need of an external clean. Carpets in corridors looked stained. At check-out the credit card facilities had crashed, but no alternative payment method was offered (i.e. "We will invoice you".) The guy next to me scraped up the cash, and I used EFPOST. I had hoped for 4.5 star service but unfortunately I don't believe it was delivered. Valet parking at $18 per night is hefty, but probably inevitable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Rated Novotel as "very good" because of personal convenience - it's close to our Canberra office.

I was given a room on the top floor, so there were no issues with the street noise or the noise from the utility areas at the back of the hotel like the last time, however the noisy aircon compensated for than. The room was nice and clean, if not overly big. Washing basin in the room, rather than the bathroom is, well - interesting.

Speaking of the bathroom, it appears that there were no heating outlets in there, which at this time of the year gets one to experience chill of canberra mornings first hand. Pack a bathrobe and slippers - you'll need them.

Good place for an overnight stay and good value, if you can avoid parliamentary sitting periods.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bane11-57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have stayed at several hotels in Canberra and whilst being good, I would not rate it as the best. The rooms are OK but I find some things a bit strange, such as the bathroom layout. The wash basin is sectioned off and located in hallway/main bedroom area which I believe could be a good idea but does not leave much room for used towels and my own toiletries. Room had some carpet stains and marks on walls which were obvious in some parts and bathroom definitely needs some new life.

Checking in provided a hassle or two but was eventually sorted out.

The room rates are quite high, but this seems the norm in Canberra. The service at times was quite good whilst at other times was a bit wanting. For example, to have only 1 staff member at reception at 10am (peak check out time) was ridiculous, even more so considering they were on the phone for 5 minutes. Where could everyone else be at 10am, if there are back office staff, they should be taking phone calls!

The parking situation is a bit strange, during peak morning hours/check out and check in time/evenings, there are valets to park your car if you wish (or park yourself - carpark is very tight so if you have a large car or 4WD, be careful!). They ask you when your expected to need car again and you may come back next morning to see car in different spot compared to where you parked it, in which yes they have their reasons. The valets keep your keys during the peak times with them in carpark but when not attended, you get your keys from reception, however bit frustrated when one morning at 930am (valets are there till10am apparently) went downstairs to find no valet and had to go back upstairs to get keys.

The location of hotel is good, close to Canberra centre and many restaurants.

Did not dine in hotel much other than a few drinks and snacks at the bar and this area was modern and well laid out.

Novotel Canberra has some good and some just OK points to it, I would consider it again however may not be at the top of the list.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krazy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#30 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Property: Novotel Canberra
Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#21 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing