We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Canberra”
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good option in Canberra”
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The location is pretty good, near bus stops and several eateries. The fact that Canberra doesn't offer much for the tourist is not the hotel's fault!

Without asking I was upgraded to a suite, so I was really happy. I didn't have lunch or dinner in the hotel restaurant, but I did go to the health club every day, which has a nice swimming-pool, whirlpool, sauna and gym. And the hotel staff was very attentive. So I would certainly recommend staying at the Novotel Canberra.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josmon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    1,512
    669
    168
    80
See reviews for
942
1,134
288
704
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Very pleasant 36 hour getaway. Loved the casual atmosphere eating in the atrium on the saturday night. It was a nice place to have a 40th anniversary. The staff were behind the bar were very friendly particularly the young man. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 November 2010

room-spacious,smart,contemporary style and good quality furnishing
lacks sufficient drawer storage
restaurant,bar,lounge area-smart decor,spacious,good light and views
buffet b'fast-good quality-maybe more variety

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Room clean and serviceable and all the rest but you can rest assured my office will be under instructions to not book with Novotel again.

Had a meeting at short notice and Canberra heavily booked and this hotel seems to have made the most of it with a corporate rate of $350 for one night! Having given instructions to try and find somewhere else, we were told there would be a cancellation fee as within 48 hours of the stay (we booked within 48 hours of the stay). So turned up and this exorbitant rate doesn't even include breakfast! My expressed disbelief was seemingly met with scorn. Never again Novotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clearair21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCBR, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

As you are aware Canberra has a high occupancy weekdays, especially when parliament is sitting. All Accor properties do offer government and corporate rates, this is something we are happy to discuss with you, please feel free to e-mail us on h2796@accor.com to discuss in more detail.

Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#23 of 57 in Canberra
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.5 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 57 in Canberra
1,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Property: Novotel Canberra
Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#23 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing