We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Updated review - now free WiFi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Updated review - now free WiFi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I still like it here. The location is excellent - close to the government departments and ANU. And now for the benefit of the business (and even personal) traveller they have free WiFi. The speed is suitable for email and light browsing.

There is still some refurbishment going on, and the rooms that have been completed are comfortable and there is a great selection of pillows.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    542
    202
    59
    30
See reviews for
156
394
69
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
212 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The staff of this hotel are friendly and helpful. We didn't want our room cleaned and they left us plenty of amenities on our doorway.
The hotel is located near the lake, National Museum of Australia, university pub and the centre. if you go to the centre there are restaurants, small shopping mall and cinemas. We didn't tried the hotel restaurant, so can't rate their cuisine.
There is paid parking at the hotel, a bit small though, wonder if it's a real busy season if theyhave enough parking for every guest...
The rooms are on a good size, have space for both of us to have yoga in the morning. Our room was facing the circuit and we had a balcony.
At night we could barely hear the traffic and with a comfortable bed we managed to have a decent sleep. They have wifi but you have to pay for it.
This hotel is best for people on a business trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stopped overnight to see the Map exhibition. This hotel is very central in Canberra and by the lake. Staff are professional. The room was well furnished although not overly large. Bathroom fixtures all new and fresh, one of the better bathrooms in modern hotels although there was no water pressure in the shower. $12:00 for parking was not good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
The map exhibition at the National Library is growing in popularity this summer – our package includes the commemorative book. Having been to see it last weekend, I can recommend this exhibition to anyone interested in the history of exploration, or with an appreciation for art.

Thanks for your review, Satinay and glad you enjoyed your time with us in Canberra. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers,
Rien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Even though external renovations were continuing, the hotel was quiet and I slept very well in an amazingly comfortable bed. The bathroom had a "rain" shower and towels were fluffy! Reception was helpful and friendly. I ate in the hotel restaurant both nights and the food was beautifully presented and cooked. It was an imaginative menu. I found the proximity of the lakeside walks very pleasant.

Room Tip: Higher would provide some views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rien_Donkin, Manager at QT Canberra, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We are now completing the final stages of our refurbishment, and the upgrade to the external appearance of the hotel. This will be a bit of a ‘facelift’ for our 40 year old building, with a white tower and darker podium level. Thanks for the review Carolyn, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers,
Rien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stopped over for a night, after visiting friends in the country. This hotel is very central in Canberra and by the lake. They have room with lake view, but we only stayed in a King Room. Interior has been recently refurbished. Staff is professional and helpful. Our room is spacious and well furnished. Bathroom fixtures all new and fresh. Bed is very comfortable. They are still working on the exterior, but we did not experience any construction noise, maybe being still in holiday break. The location is fantastic and within walking distance to the lake, restaurants, cafes and shops. We booked online and very well priced. Parking is $12, which is reasonable. Wifi is not free, but we did not use it. We definitely would book this hotel again when we get back to Canberra.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

A very nice hotel, close to everything BUT had to pay 12.00 for parking.....the other thing was that there was free wifi in room so for 24 hours of internet cost 21.00. The restaurant was quite expensive so ate out although trying to find eating places in Canberra when you don't know where to go is challenging..it is a long way to walk to any of these places from the hotel so would need a car to eat out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pointoprove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Last minute decision to go to Canberra on NYE. Our room was on the 6th floor facing the city & what a great side as we were able to watch the 9pm & midnight fire works which you felt like you could touch.
Overall the stay was very good, no complaints from any quarter, we parked in the very large public car park across the road for free.
All staff were very pleasant & helpful, didn't eat in the resturant as it was fully booked.
Would recommend staying here to anybody traveling to Canberra, thinking of heading back there next NYE.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Property: QT Canberra
Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing