We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but could be better”
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good but could be better”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This 3 week old refurbishment is sharp, quirky and has a New York feel to it in an Australian political theme. The room was excellently presented and we had a great view to the CBD and Mt Ainslie. There was a disturbingly high amount of alcohol provided in the mini bar (not sure who is the target market on this) but the Nespresso machine was a nice touch. The Capitol Bar and Grill looked excellent but was quite overpriced and we were disappointed that there was no a la carte selection for Breakfast; $32ph is quite expensive if you only want coffee and toast off the buffet. However, it is a short walk to the Acton precinct and to the CBD for much more dining options. The staff were friendly but did not go out of the way to provide any extra information or help to give the premium service that the QT brand is meant to represent. Perhaps staff are still finding their way, but it felt like a a little more genuine warmth in their interactions would make the difference.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing the lake/CBD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyrischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    574
    220
    67
    32
See reviews for
166
421
74
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We just stayed 3 nights here over the easter weekend, this used to be the old Rydges by the Lake, QT have completely renovated the entire building and it only just opened 2 weeks ago so everything is fresh and wonderful!

The whole hotel is really fun and quirky, with politician styled wall paper, (you have to see it to understand) but very clever indeed. The rooms are gorgeous so quirky and cute, very modern art, and huge shower head all extremely comfortable and pleasing to the eye.

The staff were extremely accommodating, we like to cycle around Lake Burley Griffin so we brought our bikes with us and the hotel stored them in their offices which really made it so much easier for us not to worry about the security for them etc.

The King size bed was a dream to sleep in sooooo comfy, the room we stayed in was on level 2 and look out to a huge shared balcony, really nice outlook! Room service was incredibly fast, the only negative was our TV didn't work properly so was impossible to watch anything at all as the screen froze and jumped all the time, the staff really tried to help with this by resetting it a number of times to no avail unfortunately! No matter we spent so much time out and about we didn't need it that much anyway!

The only tip for the hotel I could certainly give is that the breakfast offered is too pricey at $32.00pp, if they dropped it to $25.00pp the restaurant would be full to overflowing every day! We chose to go to a cafe in town even if it was only $12.00 cheaper in the end it is the psychology of spending over $60.00 a day for 3 days on breakfast that tips it over the edge for us!

We travel to Canberra at least every year and with this lovely new hotel and the fantastic location it sits on, so close to the Lake Burly Griffin, we have finally found a place to call home for our next visit, we will certainly be staying here again! It is so good to finally find a hotel we really enjoy staying in, in Canberra!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It's been a long time in the planning and finally things are happening in QT Canberra! Food and service in the hotel bar and restaurant, particularly breakfast are very good. New bar, Lucky's is very, very dark but in a good way. Gents, make sure you make an appointment with barber Craig for the best cut or shave you've ever had. Really. On a design note, would have been fantastic to paint the external end panels of the hotel as stripes......just a thought! Check it out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dppd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just had 3 nights in the QT Hotel in Canberra. It has been recently renovated with a political theme - politicians on the wallpaper, notepaper, coasters etc. The ambience was great, the food good although expensive. My gripe with them is that I booked it as a Rydges hotel a few months ago. Our plane was delayed and we were driving through London Circuit at midnight looking for a Rydges sign. After 4 circuits I rang the hotel number. Luckily it had not been changed and the duty manager was able to tell me that we should be looking for QT (which we had passed by several times) Wouldn't you think they could have emailed all their bookings to advise them of the change in name. They also charge 1.25% for the use of a credit card. Who carries over $800 in their wallets?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pambula, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Love the quirky new look, my 13 year old daughter thought it was very cool. Shame there isn't a pool and spa though. I stayed on the weekend of the Canberra Marathon so a nice hot spa would have been nice after my run. The service was fantastic though, as were the rooms and the lovely bed. Free movies were also much appreciated by the children while I was out running. Little bit of traffic noise though, would recommend a room on the other side of the motel from the road.

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbin Head, AU
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We loved the new look of the hotel and found all the quirky additions to the decor very interesting, especially the photographer in the lift and the political leaders in the ground floor reception and dining area. Breakfast was a real treat, especially as we were able to compete in the Australian Running Festival early and still be back in plenty of time for a leisurely feast which would satisfy the hungriest runner! My husband would have liked porridge on the menu, but was most impressed with the cooked breakfast. We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: View from the 9th floor was amazing with early morning sun pouring into the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here a few times now - a nice place very clean and good service - well located in pretty central canberra. there are a few dining options near by but in the resturant is not bad. Breakfast was lovely and well set out

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdonaldcraiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 57 in Canberra
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Property: QT Canberra
Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#15 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing