We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel”
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Funky hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one weekend and loved the luxurious touches in the rooms - spacious, pod-coffee machine and milk frother, cool bar with table service :)

Great location too - walking distance to the CBD.

I'd stay here again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank K8ie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Canberra, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi K8ie_10,

Fab short, sharp, and sweet review.

Bet you guys were awesome guests and we can't wait to have you back with us.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    557
    214
    61
    30
See reviews for
160
409
69
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The rooms are spacious when travelling on business, the staff are more than accommodating, quality of food is outstanding and being part of the Rewards Program is excellent. I always enjoy staying at this property.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are nice as you can open the door and get fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Canberra, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Karen Q,

Thanks so much for such a lovely review. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you loved your stay, and we look forward to taking care of you again next time you are in town.

Big love,

QT
Sas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend a QT and enjoyed the location,decor,service,food and theming.

In terms of food,the breakfast was a standout,one of the best I've had in an Australian hotel.Great variety and good quality with an omlette chef on standby.We attended a function at Lucky's bar and the canapés were also delicious.Lucky's bar is a great spot for a drink should you wish to stay in.

The hotel is well located next to the lake for morning runs and is a 15 min walk or short cab ride into the city centre.There are also some great dining and coffee spots nearby including Mocan and Green Gout,Monster at Hotel Hotel and the Cupping Room.

The ground floor encompassing the lobby,restaurant and Lucky's has been beautifully renovated and bears no indication that the hotel has been refurbished.It feels fresh and bold.The rooms however clearly feel renovated.We thought the hotel had done a decent job with redecorating the rooms in keeping with the 1960s political theme although the wooden wardrobe/mini bar and tv panel are a hangover from Rydges.The standard rooms offer good value for money - we stayed in a standard room on the 8th floor with a balcony and views of the city.Our only complaint from our stay is that new sheets are required.The bottom sheet didn't fit the mattress and the doona cover was two sheets which constantly came apart,exposing the stained doona.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Canberra, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Annabel T,

Awesome review! Thanks so much for the shout outs on the decor, staff, and your dining experiences while at the hotel.

So sorry about the sheet situation! Sounds diabolical. Nothing worse than being in a beautiful hotel bed only to be let down by the sheets and doona. We are correcting this as we speak.

Hope to see you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was very impressed with the hotel, especially the quirky things in the mini-bar like the emergency bow tie and the spy kit, but also loved the political theme throughout the place. My only real issue was the lack of a decent pre-order in-room breakfast menu, you had to take your chance with calling up room service in the morning and hoping it wasn't too busy. Still, breakfast was nice in the end.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trw1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Canberra, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi trx1089,

You loved us! How fun is the decor? I love watching people take snapshots next to the Obama wall. It's so fun!

Thanks for your lovely notes on the hotel and apologies for the lack of room service options. We have a really amazing breakfast offering in Capitol Bar and Grill which usually draws everyone out of their rooms and down for an espresso so the menu is limited.

We would love to see you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night to attend a football game in Canberra. Lovely decor inside, and an interesting political theme throughout adds a sense of the ACT. Good buffet breakfast in a lovely restaurant area on the ground floor.

Stayed in a Standard room which was comfortable and nice, and I enjoyed the continuation of the political theme inside.

Great location to walk to the Caberra Centre shopping area and close to the New Action precinct and Lake Burley Griffin for nice walking tracks.

Service in reception and throughout was classy and nice. Only issue with the entire stay was a 3am fire alarm that stopped and started leaving guests in confusion as to what was happening. Eventually a staff member used the speaker to advise guests to remain in their rooms until further notice. Many people were in the hallway wondering what to do until this time. My wife found it quite difficult to get back to sleep after all of that - though luckily my baby slept through the whole thing.

Also note that the parking has fee (ours was included in the package booked), and that there is limited underground parking with a low roof too.

Would stay again though my wife might be hesitant after the fire alarm.

Room Tip: Lifts were loud as per other reviews but not too big an issue even though I was just a few doors ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJProfessorK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Canberra, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hey DKProfessorK,

Fun profile name and scary pic lol. Thanks for a fabulous review. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Oh lord re the fire alarm! Just what you need. Sometimes we get a little pesky smoker lurking around where they shouldn't be (anywhere inside the building) which can create a bit of chaos til we isolate the alarm location. So sorry that this befuddled the guests and please also apologise to your wife. It's a very rare occurrence.

We would love to see you when the next game is on!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We had dinner at Capital Bar & Grill at QT Canberra (couldn't find Trip Advisor page for it) and the whole experience was great- front desk staff really helpful re parking, cloak room and general friendliness. Food really good (especially the pollies pie), service was informative without being overbearing. Nice surprise at end was the birthday boy's dessert coming out with a candle in it and the waiters singing happy birthday! We also enjoyed the portraits of heads of state from around the world and other little political touches in the decor throughout the restaurant and hotel foyer (managed to get a photo with the prime minister!) Although we didn't stay at the hotel itself, it seems like a nice place to stay, as for the restaurant - we would definitely eat there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hacketteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Canberra, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Hacketteer,

Thanks for a gorgeous review of our Capitol Bar and Grill restaurant offering at the hotel. It is such a lovely place to dine, and especially wonderful for large groups (loads of space).

Thanks also for the great notes on the meals, staff, and price. How cute re the birthday candle. Aren't they a fun lot?!

We would love to take care of yourself and your brood next time the occasion arises.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I recently stayed at QT Canberra for a work event. The room was very small and uncomfortable. Our room was situated directly across from the lifts, and we could hear people coming and going from them all night. The non hotel guests that attended the function being held there were very noisy and we could hear them yelling into the early hours of the morning around 2-2.30am. Not impressed! We did also have one non hotel guest, who was that drunk (paralytic), who fell into the lift as we were returning from going out for dinner, and refused to get out. I will certainly never stay at this hotel again, The worst experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Canberra, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Kate E,

Thanks for your review. Sounds like a wild night. No turning that one around!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,770 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Property: QT Canberra
Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing