We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & super trendy”
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
QT Canberra
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Good location. Very trendy decor. Well supplied. Coffee machine. Had room service breakfast & dinner. Really enjoyed the food. Under ground parking that is secure. Ask for quiet room. Very busy hotel.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jodie_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

The hotel was great. The only downside was the food service - in the restaurant and room service which was VERY slow. I had to ring to remind them about the room service and coffee in the morning took longer than it took to actually eat breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline_homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip recently. Room was very comfortable, interesting, quirky political decor in the public spaces, generally young and friendly staff. Building is well-insulated and quiet.
However, unless desperate, suggest you take the trouble to walk five minutes down the road to the collection of restaurants there. The in-house food is overpriced, and nothing special. I guess it's a reflection on the need to provide a menu where some items can be incorporated into room service expectations, but I was disappointed.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Emba999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for a week on business. I didn't have much time to leave the hotel but i wasnt bothered by that at all. A lot of effort has gone into making this a very stylish and comfortable hotel. Although i wasn't quite sure exactly what era the style was... seemed a mix of 1920's, 40's, 80's and now. If you are looking for a delicious cocktail, find the barber shop and walk though it to get to a hidden cocktail bar. My only criticism is the lack of gym or pool facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Had high expectations of this newly updated hotel. Unfortunately my expectations were not met. Check in staff where matter of fact and not very friendly. Need extra training in customer service! The room was nicely decorated, but crowded with unnecessary themed furniture. The shower did not have hot water just warm. The room was cold and not enough extra blankets. However the downstairs to the hotel is great. Loved the bar and restaurant. I was lucky enough to get the room on a last minute rate, if I had had to pay full price which I believe is around $250 I would have been really disappointed. It's also in a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 13Jules0562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The moment we stepped into the hotel we knew we were in for a treat. The decor was great, bright, airy, music playing was upbeat a bit 1940ish. Politics features highly in the decor not all reverent to our pollies. Rooms are well appointed with funky little coffee makers. Dinner in the restaurant was great, very busy place, used by many people in Canberra. Breakfast had a great selection and the service from check in to check out was fantastic. The bar area was great fun with very well stocked bar. Staff are young and well trained and very friendly. Valet or self parking available in a secure carpark.

If you are young or just young at heart give this place a try. We are very glad we did.

Room Tip: Rooms were very quiet, although you could hear the nearest neighbours in their rooms at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Overall the Qt is not a bad little property. The rooms are reasonably spacious. No guest room has that unfortunate "urban view" a.k.a. a brick wall view. The staff are friendly. The place has spunk.

However it's not perfect. The room service menu is limited, to say the least... I wouldn't even bother if I were you. The restaurant (appropriately named Capitol Bar and Grill) has potential, but it really isn't there yet. The food is quality, but the service is slow and the staff [appear] inexperienced. I ordered a beef bourgingon. It took 45 minutes. Whilst the dish was decent, I was left annoyed that I had to follow up with the waiter to actually get it!

My room had a queen bed. I don't quite know why. They have plenty of room for kings. The hotel doesn't offer kings. That said, I wasn't unhappy. They offer an eccentric mini bar. It's fun, playful, and I liked the style. Did I mention room service? Let's not go there, again.

Amenities are nice. Not your standard. no shower gel though... What? Oh and the air conditioning controls are a little pre-historic.

Hands down the best feature of this hotel is the barber. He is... Brilliant. Save your next hair cut until your down here. Worth every penny... And it's like stepping back in time. A momentary man sanctuary.

In summary, explore the local eateries, enjoy the free Nespresso, get a hair cut.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 60 in Canberra
785 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 60 in Canberra
1,616 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 60 in Canberra
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 60 in Canberra
1,750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 60 in Canberra
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#15 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: £93 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — QT Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing