We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable - and needs updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Reasonable - and needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The Mantra was a reasonable place to stay. Well located and within walking distance of Civic (CBD). Whilst it was clean the decor and feel of the place are a little 'tired'. Bed was not great and it was very cold meaning I needed to run the air conditioner all night - dehydrating. Staff were friendly. Food in the restaurant was ok. Not cheap though this close to Civic is always expensive and accommodation in Canberra is often hard to get - esp at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuTravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
I am disappointed to hear that the room decor did not appeal; we are currently going through upgrades to guest rooms to enhance the overall presentation.
It was pleasing to see that the cleanliness of the room and the location were suitable.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    473
    231
    70
    45
See reviews for
311
274
69
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I went to a Lonsdale Street reunion with ex-workmates and due to airline limitations on week-ends, had to travel late afternoon on Saturday. The Mantra was ideally located, with a back lane access less than a block away from the reunion. Check-in took less than a minute and I was out again in 15 minutes heading for my reunion. Front desk staff are excellent and go out of their way to help.

The room was very comfortable, well heated (Canberra is quite cold for a Queenslander at this time of year) and had all the amenities a four star establishment should have.

Leaving bags at the hotel after checkout is no problem if you want to explore the city before one's flight out; completely professional, tags are attached to your luggage and you get a numbered receipt. This might not sound a great deal, but after many travels and some almost lost luggage in hotels, this is a GOOD idea.

Just one comment about the rooms and the reason for only four stars; whilst all the usual amenities are there, such as refrigerator, clothes iron, coffee and tea making facilities, flat screen TV, telephone and so on, (I didn't check for wi-fi), the amenities are starting to look a little old, in particular the wooden furniture. However, don't let that detract from a very centrally located four star hotel with great service.

Room Tip: Front facing suites have a balcony and a view across Northbourne Avenue to Black Mountain. Side of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenknAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us.
It was pleasing to hear that the service received and the location assisted in a memorable time here in Canberra..
I am disappointed to hear that the room decor did not appeal; we are currently going through upgrades to guest rooms to enhance the overall presentation.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Typical Mantra hospitality in a great location only 5 minutes walk to the centre of Canberra and a 5 minute drive to Parliament House and the Australian War Memorial. We arrived early but were able to check straight away. Staff were friendly and helpful and happy to provide any assistance required. The rooms were a little tired, but absolutely met all our needs. Rooms (1 bed apartment) were also serviced daily which was excellent. Only minor issue was that there were no handtowels - only 1 facewasher (for 2 people) and when we asked, we were told that we could use the tissues??? It wasn't a big deal, just seemed a little curious for a place of that calibre. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment on booking - very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Canberra and with us!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the Team were friendly; I do apologise that you did not recieve the hand towel amenities as requested from the staff.
We are pleased to hear that the location suited your needs and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regrads,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I just spent a week at the Mantra during a bit of a cold spell in Canberra. Honestly, I don't believe the "arachnaphobia" review was a genuine one. The hotel is fine. It's a stock standard 4 star with the facilities that you'd expect and no more. The value is good and the location is sensational. It's only minutes walk from the city centre and endless restaurants. I walked to Parliament House in about an hour and to the war memorial in about 40 minutes. The staff were terrific. They were professional and pleasant. A[art from the staff and location, there is nothing to distinguish this hotel from any other well run 4 star property. Just as importantly, there is not a thing to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markjackson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.I'm glad that the Team here made your stay enjoyable, and that the location to the sites and restaurants in Canberra was convenient.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We booked the property in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2A and 3C and the staff could not do enough to assist us. Directions and information were very accurate and handy. Plenty of restaurants nearby, and the restaurant onsite was nice and serves a great breakfast. Rooms had all requirements. Heaters work very well for the Canberra cold temps.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNE101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us, and please excuse my belated response to your feedback.
I am pleased to hear that the location of the hotel and the quality of the breakfast facilities were to your liking.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

The place is ok. I took the extra blanket out of the cupboard but it was a bit dirty. The bathroom is nice but the glass pane on the shower should be larger as the floor gets quite wet. The shampoo and gels are lemon grass and eucalyptus and are very relaxing. I think the place is 3.5/5.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Mantra on Northbourne, and please excuse my belated reply.
I am disappointed to hear that the spare blanket was dirty; this is unacceptable and please rest assured that this issue has been brought to the attention of our Housekeeping Team.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Mantra and Northbourne in Canberra has lost some shine but is meeting most of your needs.

The Good: The kitchennete is sufficient to longer term needs. The lounge is nice and you can even entertain. The badrppm is spacious and the bathroom has laundry facilities.

The Bad: The bathtub holds my legs or a small child. The shower has no pressure and changes from hot to cold. The bathroom is a bit antiquated and overall the room is not exuuding too much warmth. The breakfast is MEH at its best and thus overcharged, especially considering that someone in the kitchen gave me a little bit extra with the baked beans (a hair for fibre?)...

I'd go there again and wouldn't scare people off but it could do with some improvements, is not that cheap and the bathtup/shower arrangement is a joke.

Room Tip: East facing rooms are quieter but facing a building West facing are ovber the street but that is OK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ax G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Mantra on Northbourne, and please excuse my belated reply.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated, especially in relation to the water pressure. I can only assume that this was an isolated incident as we have not had any reports of such issues since your stay in May; however I am sorry that this happened to you during your time with us.

Please accept my further apologies in regards to the issues you have raised regarding our restaurant. Our Head Chef has addressed this with his Team Members.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.0 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#22 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Northbourne Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Property: Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Address: 84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Northbourne Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Northbourne is centrally located on the north side of Canberra's CBD and a short stroll from the city's thriving shopping, dining precinct, business centre and famous attractions. Offering guests a choice of Hotel Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Apartments, all fully-equipped with air-conditioning, kitchenette, bathroom, laundry facilities, wireless internet, cable TV, in-house movies, sound system with CD player, mini bar, kitchen and laundry facilities (apartments), lounge and dining area, tea and coffee making facilities, large private balcony, ironing facilities and voicemail message service. The hotel ensures your comfort, with a wide range of hotel services including 24-hour reception, in-room internet access, express checkout and internet kiosk. Guests will also enjoy the leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and fully-equipped gymnasium. Stock Kitchen & Bar is a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located onsite. Offering an a la carte menu, Stock Kitchen & Bar is the perfect venue to enjoy a quiet meal or catch up with colleagues or friends over a casual drink The hotel boasts conference facilities for up to 150 delegates with four conference rooms available for hire. Mantra on Northbourne also offers a dedicated Conference Executive who will assist you to plan and manage your next successful event, conference or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mantra on Northbourne Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Northbourne Canberra Hotel Canberra
Mantra On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Canberra Mantra On Northbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing