We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne
1 review
“Overall a good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights to visit friends.

The room was nice, it had all the basic amenities and a comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and check in/out was simple.

Parking was $12 a day but reasonable enough to keep my car secure and frost-free on those cold Canberra mornings.

The pool was a bit of a hassle to get to, but sufficient for a quick dip.

The location is brilliant, such a short walk to the city centre but far out enough to cut down on the late night clubbing noise.

The bathroom was a bit tired, but nothing horrendous.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbGuy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear MelbGuy83,

Thank you for the review of your experience at Mantra on Northbourne. We certainly do appreciate your constructive feedback. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the facilities we had to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    474
    231
    70
    45
See reviews for
311
275
69
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

When visiting family in Canberrea we have always stayed here.

The rooms are great. Clean. Spacious.

Restaurant has great choice to suit most palates.

This time however, it was a disappointing dinner booking that marred our stay. We had made a booking when checking in for the two of us and two outside guests (family).

Unfortunately the service was far from the usual standard. It took a long while before we even got our drink order taken/ served.

The food was really good, however the dessert had been warmed up in a microwave making the pastry and crumble soggy.

The service was terrible. Never checking if we required more drinks and as we were the last sat in the restaurant the bill was put on the table with the comment " when you are ready".

A real shame.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Nikki C,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your most recent sty at Mantra on Northbourne. We were pleased to see that you continue to enjoy our clean and spacious rooms.

However, we were disappointed to read about your dining experience. Whilst the menu was to your expectations, the delivery, along with the service was well below our par and for this we sincerely apologise. As a result, we are currently providing remedial training for our Restaurant Team, to ensure that this situation does not occur in the future.

I do hope that we do have the opportunity to welcome you again and we will prove ourselves better hosts.

Kindest regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulladulla
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I thought I would take a chance and book a mystery overnight accommodation and it ended up being Mantra on Northbourne, Canberra. The price was very reasonable and we ended up with a 1 bedroom apartment with washing machine, dryer, full kitchen and it goes on. We were both completely happy and definitely will return one day.

Room Tip: Only thing I could mention was the bed was a little firm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Christine B B,

Thank you for your review of Mantra on Northbourne, your kind words are greatly appreciated. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the facilities in our apartments and appreciated the value for money.

Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Exceptional value for money. Very clean and spacious rooms suitable for a couple or small family.
Excellent customer service. Staff are very friendly and accommodating.
Be sure to have the breakfast buffet. Very fresh and wonderful variety of tasty food.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Glen J,

Many thanks for the glowing review of your experience at Mantra on Northbourne. We were glad to read that you enjoyed not only the value for money, but the size and cleanliness of our apartments also. We were also pleased to see that you thought the service provided by our team was excellent, along with our breakfast buffet.

I can assure you that I will be passing your comments onto our team and we will continue to ensure that they excel in their roles.

Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Sally Phipps
Operations Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great central Hotel to stay at in Canberra. Rooms/apartments are large and spacious, well equipped kitchens and all you need for a long stay. Nice and clean, friendly staff, good room service menu and we enjoyed our meals. Easy walk into the city center.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutare62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Estelle P,

Many thanks for your review of Mantra on Northbourne, we were pleased to see that you enjoyed the spacious and well appointed apartments, along with the location of the hotel to the Canberra CBD. We were also glad that you enjoyed the service provided by our team and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards
Sally Phipps
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

First of all the bed was comfortable. That's the only good thing I can say. Our room had mould in the bathroom, the airconditioner rattled and we had to have it turned up to 30 to get any kind of warmth. The TV remote fell apart in my hands and we could only change stations in one direction. Worse, I left the pieces on the desk and when I came home that evening they were exactly where I left them, indicating that the desk was not cleaned. The room was terribly noisy with trucks outside from 4 am and breakfast was cold, runny eggs (which I am sure are a health violation when they get that cold) and greasy bacon. I ended up eating only toast and a cup of tea. I definitely would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PikabuSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear PikabuSydney,

Thank you for the review of your time at Mantra on Northbourne. We were sorry to hear that your experience was a disappointment, this is certainly not our aim. From the mould in the bathroom, to the TV remote and air conditioning, these items are definitely below our usual standard and we sincerely apologise for this. We can assure that you that we have rectifed these issues and are chaecking to ensure there are no similar issues in other rooms. We are also constantly looking for improvements in our breakfast buffet, so we will be ensuring the standard is lifted here too.

Many thanks again, we do appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards
Sally Phipps
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coomera, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Would recommend this motel to any of my friends, it had good service, rooms nice and big, great views, friendly staff.Cleaned very well by staff,We stayed there nearly a week .Also enjoyed the inservice menu.
For interest sake this motel was pick by the national defence for us to stay in so it comes from a high expectation which it certainly live up to.

Room Tip: This motel is in a lovely central position to a lot of Canberras attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DottyKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear DottyKnight,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here at Mantra on Northbourne.

I am glad to hear that the Team here provided such wonderful service and you enjoyed your time with us.

Furthermore it's pleasing to know that the rooms and location of the hotel exceeded your expectations!

We look forward to welcoming you back when next travelling to Canberra.

Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.0 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#23 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Northbourne Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Property: Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Address: 84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Northbourne Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Northbourne is centrally located on the north side of Canberra's CBD and a short stroll from the city's thriving shopping, dining precinct, business centre and famous attractions. Offering guests a choice of Hotel Rooms, One or Two Bedroom Apartments, all fully-equipped with air-conditioning, kitchenette, bathroom, laundry facilities, wireless internet, cable TV, in-house movies, sound system with CD player, mini bar, kitchen and laundry facilities (apartments), lounge and dining area, tea and coffee making facilities, large private balcony, ironing facilities and voicemail message service. The hotel ensures your comfort, with a wide range of hotel services including 24-hour reception, in-room internet access, express checkout and internet kiosk. Guests will also enjoy the leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and fully-equipped gymnasium. Stock Kitchen & Bar is a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located onsite. Offering an a la carte menu, Stock Kitchen & Bar is the perfect venue to enjoy a quiet meal or catch up with colleagues or friends over a casual drink The hotel boasts conference facilities for up to 150 delegates with four conference rooms available for hire. Mantra on Northbourne also offers a dedicated Conference Executive who will assist you to plan and manage your next successful event, conference or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mantra on Northbourne Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Northbourne Canberra Hotel Canberra
Mantra On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Canberra Mantra On Northbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing