We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“University dormitory, nice cloistered atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of University House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
University House
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“University dormitory, nice cloistered atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The rooms are in a 1960’s era building. My room had a large main room and a separate bedroom and bathroom. This is a university dorm, so don’t expect too much. Everything was functional, the air conditioning worked well, the WiFi was okay. My room faced the parking lot, so there was some noise, but I am not sure if a room facing into the quadrangle would be any quieter. Since the structure is built of wood, slamming doors and people walking could be heard, but did not disturb my sleep. Some people have complained on this forum that the rooms were not very good. This is no worse than historical university residences like at Oxford or Heidelberg. The odd mix of furniture reminds me of a summer cottage. If you are visiting ANU, this is in an ideal location with peaceful surroundings. The adjoining pub and grill is quite good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    173
    53
    17
    4
See reviews for
50
96
31
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have stayed at the Canberra Hyatt, which is similar to the raffles in Singapore, but staying at the Uni gives you a similar feeling for .25 % of the cost.
During the cristmas vacation you can stay there for $250.00 for 2 nights.a bargain.
Then at the same premises we had a 8 course meal and some wine for $80.00
I know next time where we will stay again.
Thanks also to the very helpfully counter staff for helping me to get to the GG place on time.

Room Tip: F rooms we stayed in, we liked them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The room is basic but spacious & clean with old fashioned furniture. Hotel surroundings are quiet with spacious lawns & pretty gardens & a lovely fish pond. There is also a well stocked library for the use of guest. However there is no lift in the hotel if your room is on 2nd or 3rd floor. It is also a fair walk to the car park which is an inconvenience if you have heavy luggage to carry. Highly recommend Boffins restaurant in the hotel, excellent food & service.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on ground floor & near the car park area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afong138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Overall very happy with my stay here. The rooms have plenty of space, there is a little shop around the corner for biscuits and quick snacks, and a kettle in the room to make your own tea. Beds were comfy enough. Be warned, there were only stairs and we had a third floor room with a fair bit of luggage, so that was a small pain. The breakfast was a huge assortment, and the lattes were delicious. The bacon here is fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room since there aren't any stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auroratoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Yes it's quiet OFF semester - with good reason, there's nothing around. We have stayed here on and off for over a decade and if you're into basics then this is it. Overall I would rather stay closer to restaurants, research facilities (Nat Lib and archives and art galleries) in a place with adequate air-conditioning. These are clearly ex/students rooms circa 1950. The chairs are LOW-so be warmed if you don't like struggling out of an armchair. And there is no I insulation - as I type, I can hear people going up and down the stairs and each door open/close.

We only stay because the Uni pays.

Pros-quirky (? not unless if u like UK project housing of the 1970s), two rooms (no watching telly in bed), clean, nice grounds, walk to NFSA, and National Museum of Australia. Further for National Library and art galleries etc

Cons - cost we were charged $270 per night (we rebooked at Crowne Plaza for 1/2 that price), poor air con (only in 'living room' NOT bedroom), no chest of drawers = put your foldables in the cupboards in the living room (!), stairs no lift (no prob for us but it was for the poor darling in front of us), breakfast one option, restaurant quite expensive ($34 for a steak), no toiletries just wall mounted squeeze bottles of gel), many other places are closer to Civic Centre for restaurant and shopping.

Honestly I would only stay here if it was under $100 per night. In the 40 degree heat there is no relief - at $240 I expect a pool and good air-con. there's no gym, or free wi fi or PROPER toiletries.

I hate getting ripped off and I think this place is a rip off. Oh, if u do t have a car u have to call for a taxi and that costs extra.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank entjohns51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Bit of a walk from the nearest bus stop but clean rooms, quiet and in lovely grounds. Very 1950s decor but good value and met if not exceeded my expectations.
(Also was able to get a smoking balcony which was a plus)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guest1357924680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Glad we took the advice of other reviewers to stay here! We stayed in the double room, which is really a suite - 60s decor inside, large rooms. Peaceful and lovely surroundings, free parking, within walking distance of main cbd, definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GumView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
0.6 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#30 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#44 of 58 in Canberra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#20 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University House

Property: University House
Address: Cnr Balmain Cr & Liversidge St | Australian National University, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Canberra
#15 Family Hotel in Canberra
#16 Business Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your University House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University House Hotel Canberra
University Hotel Canberra
University House Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing