We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very happy would not stay here again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not very happy would not stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

When we arrived to the hotel. We paid for 6 people, only 5 beds. So had to ring for a roll away bed. It came up and it had a sink in the middle. The bathroom wasn't that clean the shower had bits of black around. It was old and needs to be updated. Things had been broken Like the spare bed out of the wall. The repair man said it was too dangerous to open. One of the hot plates didn't work. The sign looks like its been there for months. If things were broken they repair with putty and put in another hole. The taps are hard to open then water comes out fast wetting yourself. If I owned this apartment I wouldn't be happy with the repair going on. The bed we slept on was so uncomfortable I think it is as old as the building. The rooms were not serviced. Only towels and I had to ask for soap. The next day the room wasn't serviced at all. Complained so they brought up 3 towels and said they would talk to staff. Never returned. There was a sign on spa in gym, need repair, looks like it has been there for months. Pool was nice and tennis courts were nice. This put a dampen on our holiday as we were very sore the next days from beds. We needed a 3 bedroom as were are a family of 6. Would of been better off at the Caravan park The Aliviao.

Room Tip: It was very noisy at night as it is located the High Way
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. The issues raised regarding some maintenance items have now been addressed and will be rectified as soon as possible. We apologise for the inconvenience these problems may have caused while staying with us, if you would like to discuss this further please feel free to contact me

Kind regards,
Joe Sergi
Assistant Manager
BreakFree Capital Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    279
    102
    64
    23
See reviews for
341
53
10
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Attending conference. Brought family so needed 2 bedroom apartment. Capital Tower was listed as close to conference venue. Booked through Breakfree website. Room was old and tired. Most things broken or worn out. Washing machine didn't work. Dryer didn't work. With 3 kids and 3 days of rain these were a necessity. Informed reception. Maintenance man said he fixed it. He lied. Weren't fixed and purely dangerous. Had to lug washing to another room on another floor to do. Bathrooms were terrible. Soap dish hanging of wall. Shower head broken. Showers dirty with mouldy grout. Leaking toilets. Carpets worn and disgusting. Paid extra for 'lake view' - no view of lake but constant loud hum of traffic from freeway. I have travelled the world and stayed in many hotels and apartments. Have stayed in better motels in the outback. My advice would be only consider this hotel if it has major refurbishment. There are newer hotels in the New Acton area that look very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us. We apologise deeply for the disappointment you faced during your stay at our property, all issues you have encountered have been raised with the maintenance team and we are currently trying to improve in these areas. If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,
Thomas Lamond
General Manager
Email: Thomas.lamond@breakfree.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, our two bedroom apartment was very clean, although second bedroom very small and the bathroom in the main bedroom could do with a bit of a spruce up. View from our balcony across the lake and to Parliament House was outstanding. Only basic items provided in kitchen, but still adequate although not a lot of cutlery. Did ring the day before to make sure there was a cot, which wasn't there on arrival and then had trouble getting one to work. Overall found it to be well presented and within walking distance of most things.

Room Tip: Rooms on water side fantastic view, but noise from roadway is quite loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We value your comment in aiming to provide a high level of service for all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your short break at the property and also loved the views our property can offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the future.

Kindest Regards
Joe Sergi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This place is well situated but is in dire need of a refurbishment. It is old and tired. The corridors have that old musty smell. The bathroom was old and outdated with a pathetic glass panel in the bath area to prevent the water going on the floor. Bad water pressure. The 2 bedroom apartment we were in didn't have a balcony, so it felt very claustrophic. The only air conditioner was in the lounge so the bedrooms were very hot and the windows hard to open as the flyscreens are bolted down! A plus was having a washing machine and drier. Very average on the whole.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review on the property, firstly we are glad you enjoyed our laundry facilities but it does disappoint me to learn the number of different problems you have encountered during your stay. We apologise for the inconveniences this may have caused and if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact either myself or our team

Kindest Regards
Joe Sergi - joe.sergi@breakfree.com.au
Assistant Manager - BreakFree Capital Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new south wales
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed here 7-8th of March, for a sporting event with my husband and two children. What a fantastic hotel. We had a two bedroom apartment with all the modern conveniences, two TV's, kitchen, dishwasher, clothes washer and drier. Great pool,spa and gym.We have stayed in many places in Canberra the past 5 years but this was the best. Centrally located in walking distance to restaurants- Must try the Parlour Wine Room if you like tapas and The Lemon Grass Thai, Yumm.

Room Tip: We were on the 7 floor if that helps
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, General Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for your amazing review on our hotel following your stay with us. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the room you were provided with. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thomas Lamond
General Manager
Breakfree Capital Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I decided to take a last minute trip with our children before school begins. We chose this hotel after searching on the internet and making a few phone calls. The price suited our budget and the photos on the website looked good. On arrival the lady at reception was very friendly and check-in went smoothly.

Before I express my disappointment I will share with you the positives. The hotel provided free secure parking which is a real bonus. The apartment was clean when we arrived. I'm afraid that is all the positives I can write about.

When exiting the lift to the floor our apartment was on, an unpleasant aroma of overwhelming mixture of spices lingered in the corridor. This smell was evident every time we left and entered the floor. The problem is, there are no opening windows to allow fresh air to enter the building. The children needed to hold their breath until we reached the apartment or the lift. The apartment also had a slight stale smell. The reason for this is because you are unable to open any windows in the apartment as well. Thank God our apartment had a small balcony so we could open the slide door and allow the lounge room to air. Not all the apartments facing the city have balconies. The bedrooms were located down a narrow corridor, so could not receive any fresh air. The bedrooms were stuffy and unfortunately had no air-conditioning either.They did have a portable fan. I was told on the phone, when I made the booking, that the master bedroom did have aircon but not the second bedroom. Luckily it was not hot this weekend otherwise there would be not way we could have stayed in this apartment. Some walls needed repairs and the apartment is in great need of an upgrade, starting with a paint job. The bathroom was ok but also in need of an upgrade. Luckily were are not tall people because the shower head is set quite low on the wall. I just fit under it and I am only 152cm tall. My husband and son needed to bend over to wash their hair.The kitchen was satisfactory and clean. At night you could hear noises from the people using the bathroom above us. It was extremely loud. Other strange noises could be heard, from banging noises to clicking noises. Noises from the corridor outside were also very loud. I am disappointed becausewe spent our hard earned money to go away for the weekend and we did not feel comfortable with our accommodation. We have stayed in many other accommodations over the years that have been at a much better standard. In hind-sight I should have booked with what I was familiar with.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an apartment with a balcony. If you suffer from clostrophobia or are a light s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Athena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported to us from housekeeping and also other specific areas. Our Executive Housekeeper will certainly address this with her Team Members. This is not up to our usual standard and I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay, we sincerly apologise for the hassle and discomfort this may have caused you.
Please feel free to contact me directly as I would be happy to discuss this further with you.

Kindest Regards
Thomas Lamond
General Manager - BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Excellent facilities,. Great location. Competitive price.

The views of the lake were excellent and the decor of the apartment was excellent. Beds were comfortable.

the staff were friendly and assisted when required.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, General Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We value your feedback greatly in aiming to provide a high level of service for all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards
Thomas Lamond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#31 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra

Property: BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Address: 2 Marcus Clarke St, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments Capital Tower)
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the foreshores of Lake Burley Griffin, BreakFree Capital Tower enjoys stunning views over the Lake, the towering Brindabella Ranges and the sparkling lights of Canberra City. Offering a range of accommodation options, guests can chose from One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. The spacious self-contained apartments include a fully equipped kitchen, open-plan living and dining areas with most boasting spacious balconies to enjoy the breathtaking views, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities in each unit and a full sized bath with shower (some apartments offer ensuite bathrooms) After a day out exploring the city unwind in our indoor spa, sauna or heated outside pool, or enjoy a quiet meal in our large guest BBQ area. Tennis and squash courts are available to hire and we offer secure undercover parking ($10 per vehicle/per day). The property is surrounded by lush landscaped parklands with cycle and jogging tracks which provide the ideal incentive for a brisk morning run or early evening stroll. The property is within close proximity to Canberra's CBD, government offices and the major tourist attractions making it the ideal base for business trips, family holidays or a weekend away in the Nation's Capital. BreakFree Capital Tower has a strict No Party Policy. Maximum occupancy and noise level restrictions apply as per reservation. Anyone in breach of this will be dealt with accordingly. All our apartments are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Capital Tower Canberra Hotel Canberra
Breakfree Capital Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing