We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a pleasent stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My family & I have stayed here on multiple occasions. The location is extremely central to Canberra city. The apartments are always clean and staff are more the accommodating to your needs. Most rooms boast stunning views of the lake as well as Parliament house.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Guest Service Agent at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
The team at BreakFree Capital Tower would like to thank you for the great comment you wrote about the staff. We strive to met every guests needs.
We are also glad that you had a very enoyable stay, maybe we will see you again, next time you are in Canberra.

Kind Regards
BreakFree Capital Tower Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    312
    122
    82
    31
See reviews for
413
62
12
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you are looking for something for a family you cant beat these apartments. My son and I went to Canberra for the weekend to visit our daughter who is living on campus at ANU. We booked a one bedroom apartment but were up graded to a 2 bedroom one. We arrived early at 11am and were promptly given our room keys despite check in time of 2pm (I did request this ahead of time understanding it was a request only). The apartments are spacious and have all you could need. They are a bit dated but at the price of a small hotel room a real bargain! They were extremely quiet we never heard traffic or another soul. They are very central. Walking distance to the city centre and close to the Lake where you can ride or walk and an easy trip to tourist attractions. Ideal for a family with all the space it beats a hotel room as you can choose to eat in or out, wash and dry clothes if you need to and if the weather is not great you are not cramped. We will stay here from now on when looking for accommodation. Highly reccomended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Guest Service Agent at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for such a good review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at BreakFree Capital Tower.
In regards to the room being dated, we are about to start a refurbishment on the rooms that need it the most, so hopefully next time you come to visit your daughter, you will be able to stay in a refurbished apartment.

Kind Regards
BreakFree Capital Tower Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel close to Canberra cbd. The staff were helpfull with any inquiry. If you are someone that spends there life on Facebook u might have to change ur daily routine as the hotel doesn't have Internet but if u want clean rooms close to the city and rooms to occupy ur whole family consider this hotel

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank happybrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Guest Service Agent at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at BreakFree Capital Tower.
We take pride in being able to accommodate the while family and hope that we will see you again when you next travel to Canberra

Kind Regards
BreakFree Capital Tower Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

From the start we thought the apartment was good value for the price but upon further inspection there were missing tiles on walls, obvious wall markings from patching, mould in the bathroom and lots of little imperfections. On my last morning at breakfree my friend had left early and I woke up at 8:30am to a strange man in the lounge. He claims he knocked and called out but I heard nothing (because I was asleep). He apparently was a maintenance man who went to the wrong room. I got quite a fright and was very shaken so I called reception and the woman basically did nothing. Eventually after speaking to the manager he agreed to refund some money back onto our credit card so I checked out and all was good. Found out later they only refunded $30 when the room was $190/night. It was a bit rediculous. We both come from a hospitality background in hotels and restaurants and we are both very unhappy with how such a big mistake was handled. For me as a young woman to wake up to a strange man was very frightening knowing my friend had already left. This hotels need some teachings in conflict resolution or just plain customer service. I will never stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canberra hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent location, comfortable rooms and well equipped kitchen.

Staff are exceptionally warm, helpful and obliging.

Highly recommended for an affordable accommodation option in Canberra.

Most rooms have a fold out couch for extra guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare14M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Guest Service Agent at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you so much for the great review of BreakFree Capital Tower. We really appreciate what you have written and hope that you chose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
BreakFree Capital Tower Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

we stayed in a 3 bd apartment. Living and main bedroom rooms very generous sizes. other two bedrooms a little small. location is great with a wonderful view of parliament house and the lake. no wifi access in room a downside.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beckmc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are very happy that we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Jo Sergi
Assistant Manager - Breakfree Capital Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

When we arrived to the hotel. We paid for 6 people, only 5 beds. So had to ring for a roll away bed. It came up and it had a sink in the middle. The bathroom wasn't that clean the shower had bits of black around. It was old and needs to be updated. Things had been broken Like the spare bed out of the wall. The repair man said it was too dangerous to open. One of the hot plates didn't work. The sign looks like its been there for months. If things were broken they repair with putty and put in another hole. The taps are hard to open then water comes out fast wetting yourself. If I owned this apartment I wouldn't be happy with the repair going on. The bed we slept on was so uncomfortable I think it is as old as the building. The rooms were not serviced. Only towels and I had to ask for soap. The next day the room wasn't serviced at all. Complained so they brought up 3 towels and said they would talk to staff. Never returned. There was a sign on spa in gym, need repair, looks like it has been there for months. Pool was nice and tennis courts were nice. This put a dampen on our holiday as we were very sore the next days from beds. We needed a 3 bedroom as were are a family of 6. Would of been better off at the Caravan park The Aliviao.

Room Tip: It was very noisy at night as it is located the High Way
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. The issues raised regarding some maintenance items have now been addressed and will be rectified as soon as possible. We apologise for the inconvenience these problems may have caused while staying with us, if you would like to discuss this further please feel free to contact me

Kind regards,
Joe Sergi
Assistant Manager
BreakFree Capital Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
1,456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#8 of 57 in Canberra
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#15 of 57 in Canberra
1,296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.5 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra

Property: BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Address: 2 Marcus Clarke St, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments Capital Tower)
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the foreshores of Lake Burley Griffin, BreakFree Capital Tower enjoys stunning views over the Lake, the towering Brindabella Ranges and the sparkling lights of Canberra City. Offering a range of accommodation options, guests can chose from One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. The spacious self-contained apartments include a fully equipped kitchen, open-plan living and dining areas with most boasting spacious balconies to enjoy the breathtaking views, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities in each unit and a full sized bath with shower (some apartments offer ensuite bathrooms) After a day out exploring the city unwind in our indoor spa, sauna or heated outside pool, or enjoy a quiet meal in our large guest BBQ area. Tennis and squash courts are available to hire and we offer secure undercover parking ($10 per vehicle/per day). The property is surrounded by lush landscaped parklands with cycle and jogging tracks which provide the ideal incentive for a brisk morning run or early evening stroll. The property is within close proximity to Canberra's CBD, government offices and the major tourist attractions making it the ideal base for business trips, family holidays or a weekend away in the Nation's Capital. BreakFree Capital Tower has a strict No Party Policy. Maximum occupancy and noise level restrictions apply as per reservation. Anyone in breach of this will be dealt with accordingly. All our apartments are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Capital Tower Canberra Hotel Canberra
Breakfree Capital Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing