We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a three day family reunion/birthday celebration, four families stayed here. Everyone was happy about their 2 or 3 bedroom apartments. The rooms were clean all had great views, good parking and lift access. It was quiet. Terrific location near to ANU and City Center. Coffee shops across the street. We would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, General Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Thomas Lamond
General Manager - Breakfree Capital Tower Canberra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    297
    108
    67
    24
See reviews for
366
59
10
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

One of the best accommodations in Canberra, great location, great views, smart TV, 2 bathrooms, complimentary parking, everything you could possibly want from an accommodation. Friendly staff, excellent value for money, quiet

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake or the CBD both have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, General Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Thomas Lamond
General Manager - Breakfree Capital Tower Canberra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I paid for a one bedroom but was upgraded to a high floor two bedroom apartment with nice city skyline views. The apartment was spotless, warm, comfortable and and had a fully equipped kitchen. Check in was seamless and wifi was just $10 for 24 hours with a small portable device that was simple to use and worked the whole time. Other places I've stayed charge $25 for two hours worth of wi-fi so this price and reliability was welcome.
Parking was free and there is a footbridge right outside that connects with Lake Burley Griffin. I was able to walk all the way to the Portrait Gallery.
Just one issue - the shower didn't work (pushed/pulled the button but it didn't budge) - but I had a bath instead.
Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: City view rooms are way cheaper and have nice morning sun in winter
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KathyW201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, General Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward on welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Thomas Lamond
General Manager - Breakfree Capital Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

it´s been amazing to see that it was a beatiful apartment, with everything available just like if i was at my own house , and even more facilities it´s the perfect space for the whole family and at an excelent price it was impecable, highly recomended it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Guest Service Agent at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review.
BreakFree Capital Tower strives to be a home away from home- hopeing to cater for everyone's needs.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at BreakFree Capital Tower.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Grace Penny
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

my wife and I have stayed here a cpl times and we will keep coming back. the reception staff were great and knowledgeable. as for the rooms there good for familys with a small family. if u want WiFi ur out if luck but ur there on holidays so u shouldn't be on face book ...during winter tge pool is heated to 28deg c

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank happybrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Guest Service Agent at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to write this review.
It is nice to know that our staff know Canberra well, and were able to help you out when you needed it.
Our pool is heated to 28 degrees all year round, but you'd have to be brave to swim in Winter with the cold days.
We hope that when you return to Canberra that you will chose to stay at BreakFree Capital Tower.

Kind Regards
Grace Penny
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This apartment is a perfect plce for people travelling to Canberra. Huge apartment, very clean with spacious kitchen which has almost everything for cooking and highly recommended for long stay. Very comfortable lounge area, with dining table and a balcony which I prefer whenever I stay in hotel. Bedrooms are spacious as well as bathrooms. Great location because its in the heart of CBD. A three minute walk to lake Burley Griffin which is a perfect place to jog and or unwind. There's coffee shops accross the road for an express breakkie. Hotel rate is just right for its location and good sleep.
My husband and I alwAys chose breakfree whenever we travel to Canberra because of the wArmth and friendly treatment from the staffs and management who are always makes that we are home away from home.
We will definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingnoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, Guest Service Agent at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for writing this great review.
BreakFree Capital Tower is situated in a great location and with NewActon booming, it makes for the ideal location in Canberra.
We are glad that you chose to stay with us when you travel to Canberra, its nice to see familiar faces and to know that the staff are warm and friendly.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Grace Penny
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Loved it.

It was literally a two bedroom apartment - with a massive lounge room, kitchen bathroom, hallway, etc - for the price of a motel room. Bargain.

Bed was comfortable, queen, with quality bedding, and no problems.

Everything else was clean, polished, modern, great heating (it's Canberra!) so no complaints.

Check in (with the every efficient ?Grace?) was lovely. Though if you have a very late check in you could be screwed. So be warned. No one may be there.

The only complaint is the brown carpet in the rooms looked tackey. But it was clean.

So will be back.

Room Tip: Check opening hours for check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepy_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas-captower, General Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Thomas Lamond
General Manager - Breakfree Capital Tower Canberra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#15 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#31 of 57 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra

Property: BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
Address: 2 Marcus Clarke St, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments Capital Tower)
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the foreshores of Lake Burley Griffin, BreakFree Capital Tower enjoys stunning views over the Lake, the towering Brindabella Ranges and the sparkling lights of Canberra City. Offering a range of accommodation options, guests can chose from One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. The spacious self-contained apartments include a fully equipped kitchen, open-plan living and dining areas with most boasting spacious balconies to enjoy the breathtaking views, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities in each unit and a full sized bath with shower (some apartments offer ensuite bathrooms) After a day out exploring the city unwind in our indoor spa, sauna or heated outside pool, or enjoy a quiet meal in our large guest BBQ area. Tennis and squash courts are available to hire and we offer secure undercover parking ($10 per vehicle/per day). The property is surrounded by lush landscaped parklands with cycle and jogging tracks which provide the ideal incentive for a brisk morning run or early evening stroll. The property is within close proximity to Canberra's CBD, government offices and the major tourist attractions making it the ideal base for business trips, family holidays or a weekend away in the Nation's Capital. BreakFree Capital Tower has a strict No Party Policy. Maximum occupancy and noise level restrictions apply as per reservation. Anyone in breach of this will be dealt with accordingly. All our apartments are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Capital Tower Canberra Hotel Canberra
Breakfree Capital Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing