We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Australia Day weekend 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Australia Day weekend 2014”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The room was clean and comfortable and a good size. Bathroom is modern (renovated?). The window could be opened :). Having facilities for self-catering breakfast was good, although it would be useful to have a couple of bowls as well as the plates provided, and to have some washing-up detergent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rrrooar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
hi rrrooar,

Thank you very much for your thoughtful comments.

All the best for 2014

Kind Regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    514
    263
    78
    45
See reviews for
349
383
97
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

we spend one night in a ground floor unit which was well equipped, clean and quiet. we were happy having our parking in front our unit, also the location of the hotel was very convenient.
for drawbacks, one of our pillow covers was lightly stained despite been cleaned. there was no water in the fridge on our arrival which was not a good welcome specially in summer. wifi was available but not free. restaurant was closed too early, they only serve drinks after around 6pm.
overall they took the basics right with optimum condition for its price. we would like to stay more but had to leave next day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank amin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
hi amin g,

Thank you for the feedback . much appreciated.

All the best for 2014,

kind regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Forrest hotel is a solid, well-run, friendly establishment in Canberra. It’s not going to win any awards for 5-star luxury, but it served our needs as a bolt hole while we explored Canberra. We did not use their restaurant or any other services, but the staff at reception were universally friendly and accommodating. Rooms were small, but cleaner than expected. The a/c was much appreciated, given the temperatures reached 40 degrees during our stay.

The hotel could benefit from assigned parking to rooms, as we found spots were difficult to come by, particularly in the evenings. There are shaded spots on the street outside, but these are timed, with no (as far as we could tell) special arrangements for guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tristanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
hi tristanr,

Thank you very much for your thoughtful comments. much appreciated.

All the best for 2014

kind regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in a 1st floor executive 1 bedroom apartment, with 3 adults for 2 nights. We found the room to be very nice. Although the building is a bit dated, it is hardly evidently within the renovated apartment. It was a clean and tidy room with simple modern décor. It was a reasonable size, although it can become a little bit tight for space if you need to use a rollaway bed too.
We only arrived to check in just before 10PM. Although the lady was about to swap over with the next staff she checked us in without hesitation. She had called us earlier in the day to confirm our ETA, and made check in quick, informative and easy after a long drive to Canberra. All interaction we had with staff during our stay was friendly and polite.
The bedding was firm and comfortable and the addition of heated blankets was a bonus. The rollaway bed was also fairly comfortable.
The bathroom was very nice, spacious (for the size of the apartment) and clean – something I am very particular on. The only issue was that maintaining the temperature of the shower. It would take a bit of time to adjust to and stay at the right temperature.
The kitchen was handy with quality appliances and utensils available to use. We loved the abundance of storage space available too.
The TV was a good size and the free Foxtel channels offered good additional entertainment.
The free parking was away from the street providing a bit of security. It was not allocated parking, but we never had an issue trying to find a spot and it was a very short walk from the apartment. Overall, the location was great as it was very close to attractions.
The lock on the door was a bit tricky, and we couldn’t lock it at the end of our stay. However, the staff we notified was polite and told us she would take care of it.
Overall, I’d definitely recommend the place. The price we paid for an executive apartment was excellent value, and I’d suggest choosing it if your budget permits – you get a whole lot more for a little bit extra.

Room Tip: Apartment 118 was very nice. Try to choose an apartment on the 1st floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liha25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi Liha25,

Thank you very much for your thoughtful comments. Very much appreciated. Very glad you enjoyed your stay, and you found us good value for money.

All the best for 2014,

Kind Regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Nice location, good room size, quiet... walking distance to restaurants and supermarket... staffs are welcoming... reasonably enough parking space... We secured a last minute discount deal for 2 nights online on the same day of check-in...

Room Tip: try last minute discount, may grab a bargain price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wang Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi Wang,

Appreciate the comments.

All the best,

Kind Regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Room was small, only had 2 chairs for the 3 of us, toilet lid wouldn't stay up as it didn't fit toilet correctly, however overall clean and very good value for money. TV remote was missing but staff happily supplied a replacement. Location was great as only a few hundred metres to a pile of restaurants and very close to Parliament house and various galleries.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BrenyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi BrenyW,

Thank you very much for the thoughtful comments. very much appreciated. Would love to get more details on your stay so we can follow up on the toilet seat issue.

Would love to have you stay with us again, and do check our website out for the best prices online.

All the best for 2014,

Kind Regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Booked a room at approximately 6pm the night we were staying and received a friendly phone call an hour later asking for our ETA. When we arrived we were provided a map and directions to local restaurants (which were very close).
The location is very central, the room was clean, the service was good and price was very reasonable. Definitely can recommend it.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms may be better as we could occasionally hear the person above us walking around from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammertime2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi Hammertim2014,

Love the pseudonym,

Very glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, its a great little location we have, minutes to everything.

Hope to see you again sometime, and all the best for 2014.

Kind Regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#24 of 57 in Canberra
500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,586 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,054 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forrest Hotel And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Property: Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Address: 30 National Cct | Forrest, Canberra 2603, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forrest Hotel And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forrest Hotel and Apartments is a wonderful family owned and operated hotel in the heart of Canberra. We offer FREE WIFI FREE PARKING AND ESPRESSO COFFEE!!! Located just behind Parliament House in the leafy suburb of Forrest, we are ideally suited for government, business and leisure travel.We have 76 hotel rooms and 40 serviced apartments, with a conference room, restaurant and deck overlooking the beautiful parkland setting.Accommodation options:• Standard Room (sleeps 2): Enjoy the cosy comfort of double or twin share rooms • One Bedroom Apartment (sleeps 4): Spacious and private with separate kitchen and lounge area• Family Rooms Two Rooms (sleeps 5): kitchen/lounge/dining• Executive Two Bedroom Apartments (sleeps 4): Stylish decor and ultimate comfort and facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Forrest Hotel And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing