We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet accommodation in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Forrest Hotel. Situated in a quiet street and very close to the suburb of Manuka with plenty of shops and restaurants. It was a very pleasant 10 minute walk to Manuka do you did not need to drive there. The apartments have a very pleasant barbeque area which would be great in the warmer months. Easy drive to all the main Canberra attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

thank you cheryl, for the great feedback.

all the best,

mahaish raja(operations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Have just stayed at the Forrest been staying there for the last nine years...the staff are still the same and the experience gets better every year, I'm happy to endorse the fact the parties we travel with have converted to this establishment which makes the barbecue all the more fun.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel was situated in a quiet street overlooking a leafy park. The room was small but clean, warm and comfortable with a great shower. An easy walk to Manuka for breakfast the next day. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Nice view from room that was opposite the park. We were on bottom floor but heard a lot of movement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

hi karen,

thank you very much for the comments. yes its a fantastic location, in the middle of canberra surrounded by parkland and great attractions.

all the best,

kind regards,

mahaish raja(operations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for three nights over Easter. I suspect that this has been a motel for a long time which has been well maintained. Everything was clean , warm and comfortable but not fancy. If you arrive with no car be prepared to walk to Manuka if the hotel restaurant is closed. The included breakfast was very generous , full cooked breakfast including an automatic pancake maker.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alphabetsoup255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

hi alphabetasoup,

thank you very much for the feedback. much appreciated and all the best .

kind regards,

mahaish raja(operations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

quiet location, fairly central and easy to find. staff friendly but unfortunately the restaurant is not open Friday and Saturday nights - which is fine if yoy have time after a long trip to find a parking spot in Manuka for a good feed

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dr Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Clean & comfortable enough, bit strange that restaurant not open on a Saturday night though ??
Booked through booking.com but then realized would of been cheaper booking though motel direct when was offered upgrade.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louise2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

HI TRACEY,

Glad you had a good stay . In regards to the restaurant being closed on saturdays, unfortunately we find there's not much demand since most guests are going to various events elsewhere on the weekends. Also our proximity to manuka village with its 40 restaurants and cafes provides plenty of eating options . We are open for breakfast though, seven days a week, and dinner monday to thursday. i recommend our visitors try chef Dans amazing culinary delights.

Thank you again for the lovely feedback,

Kind regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The interior of the room was fine where it included a smart TV, electric blanket and individual Airton unit.

However since I did not arrive with a car, I had to rely on public transport to get to the city which didn't come very often (1hr between each bus). However, if you do come by car, the hotel is no more than 10-15 min drive to the zoo, do, the City and probably all major attractions.

Also, this was my first time staying at a motel style property. I could hear people going in and out all the time and sometimes people would hangout outside to have a smoke.. One night there were a bunch of people coming home in the middle of the night who were very loud and terrified me a bit. So the issue is not really something the hotel can control, it's just a personal opinion of mine.

To add, the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lt03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahaish R, Front Office Manager at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

hi lt03,

Very sorry to hear about the issues you encountered with other guests. As you say very hard to control, and we always assume the best in people to do the right thing. We do have a night manger on premises to deal with these issue on the very rare occaisions they do happen, but im unsure if you had a chance to contact him.

Please get in touch if you would like to discuss this matter further. Will be happy to chat,

Kind regards,

Mahaish Raja(operations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#23 of 58 in Canberra
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
0.6 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
1,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forrest Hotel And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Address: 30 National Cct | Forrest, Canberra 2603, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: £74 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forrest Hotel And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forrest Hotel and Apartments is a wonderful family owned and operated hotel in the heart of Canberra. We offer FREE WIFI FREE PARKING AND ESPRESSO COFFEE!!! Located just behind Parliament House in the leafy suburb of Forrest, we are ideally suited for government, business and leisure travel.We have 76 hotel rooms and 40 serviced apartments, with a conference room, restaurant and deck overlooking the beautiful parkland setting.Accommodation options:• Standard Room (sleeps 2): Enjoy the cosy comfort of double or twin share rooms • One Bedroom Apartment (sleeps 4): Spacious and private with separate kitchen and lounge area• Family Rooms Two Rooms (sleeps 5): kitchen/lounge/dining• Executive Two Bedroom Apartments (sleeps 4): Stylish decor and ultimate comfort and facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Forrest Hotel And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing