We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Above average”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have stayed at Rydges Capital hill each time we have taken our granddaughters to floriade and each time have had a great stay. We normally stay in a two room spa suite which I has plenty of room for us to spread out and is very comfortable, the grand children love the spa. We breakfast in the hotel restaurant and have always been happy with the great buffet meal which is always of a high standard. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel is centrally located in Canberra very close to the main drag of Manuka.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesNS, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi Shane,

Thank you for your kind review, It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

We look forward to having you stay with us again next year for floriade.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    382
    306
    111
    65
See reviews for
274
349
62
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We selected the hotel because it was close to Manuka and access to the places we wanted to visit was good. We noted that they made much on their web site of having renovated the hotel recently, but we found little to see about that apart from, possibly, new beds and pillows. The room décor is old and the bathroom was out of date. A particular problem to us was the shower over the bath, as there were no safety rails to assist in getting in and out of the bath. We also found that rooms facing into the atrium can suffer from early morning noise (3.00am) as staff went about their work, and we had heat issues with the room air conditioning, which the hotel was eventually able to fix. Breakfast is much more expensive than local cafes, particularly as we were advised that we had to pay the full buffet price, even though we only wanted a light breakfast. Obviously, we didn't do that and used a local café which was excellent.

Room Tip: I suggest that an outside room may be best as there did not appear to be much traffic on the roads a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did like the refurbishment, everything in the bedroom was replaced and feedback has mostly been very positive. Your concerns regarding shower over bath are noted, we have in excess of 40 rooms that have separate showers and would be delighted to ensure that you are allocated one next time.

Please contact me if you are returning, I’m certain we can make the next stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I picked this place after much searching, as i was attending a wedding of a friend, and this place was close to the pick up point of the bus to take the guests there. a few thing that is hard to beat with staying here is the FREE wifi, and the buffet breakfast which was $10 a day for me. However for lunch and dinner it is worth walking to Manuka if you want more verity then what is one the menu. Also the menu in the rooms don't cover the services charge to have the food delivered to your room.

As far as the rooms go, you should not want anything more the what is provided, however i did find that some of the fittings a bit dated (like the temp control for the aircon). however there is still a flat screen TV, desk, lounge chairs, bath tub with shower, hanging space, iron and ironing board, garment hanging space, and fresh milk daily for the tea and coffee making in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
I was pleased to read you had a pleasant stay, thank you for the kind comments.

To improve guest comfort we are in the process of updating our air-conditioning controls, hopefully we will see you back with us again soon.

Kind regards
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Big rooms. Lovely comfy beds.
Short walk to manaka shops, cafés and restaurants.
Gym has great equipment.
Resturant food is very nice too.
Room service is nice but a bit pricey.
Staff are welcoming and rooms are clean and quite.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fijiobsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here a few times, but we won't be back. A bad start at check in when the assistant manager informed me that there would be an extra charge for breakfast as the system had not registered two people so I had been charged for one!
I thought the hotel had been renovated - well there was (I think) new carpet, but that's it. Bathroom was very tired, towels were third rate, old and small. The steps to the stupid raised area for the bed are irregular and both of us misstepped down from it - jarring my back badly. It is obvious from the carpet wear that it happens all the time!
Beds used to be comfortable, but ours sagged and the air-conditioning got stronger in the night, blowing hard and cold on us. We tried opening the window but the traffic noise defeated us.
We had a King Spa suite and it was not worth the money.
Breakfast was very average, and their attention to allergies sadly lacking..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiba57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My daughter and I have stayed here for the last 3 years whilst attending Floriade.
We unfortunately arrived after 10pm this year due to traffic in Sydney and wanted some supper.
Nothing fancy, just some toast but room service refused as the menu said pizza or wedges after 10pm!
We had booked a suite for two nights but were still asked to pay $10 to use the gym that was modern in the 80's.
I tend to remember the little things that staff do to make your stay special/pleasant.
We'll be going to the Hyatt next year as we were treated with kindness and respect whilst enjoying a lovely afternoon tea!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 440Christine440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an Embassy Suite room in late Sept 2013. Room was great for 2 adults & 2 kids with and main bedroom and bathroom the highlight. Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold and the location made getting around easy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wayne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,072 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#23 of 57 in Canberra
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,075 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
623 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Property: Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing