We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Recently stayed because I had picked up a deal, and it was in a location near where I wanted to be.
The room was dark and boring. In the night I got more light in by having the curtains opened, not ideal if you need to do some work for the next days meeting. The bathroom shower had mould in the corners, poor house keeping, and a door stop was located in front of the toilet so you tripped over it every time you went to the toilet. the bed was not very comfortable and the pillows were shockers, one so soft you sunk in the middle and the side rose up and smothered you and the other was as hard as sleeping on the carpet floor.
Positives, not sure. Lift #2 is dangerous if your not stable on your feet. and service at the front counter when I checked in was poor, Dan maybe you should look for another line of work.
Breakfast was ok for a buffet but don't expect any service, as it took the three people on to work the coffee machine, and no one to provide any help.
I guess that's what you get when you get a deal, or was it a deal I now wonder.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outer side are better,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yarrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Rydges Capital Hill is a nice enough hotel in a pretty good location but the hotel itself is pretty dated. I stayed in a suite for a couple of nights which was nice for the size of the room if not a bit sparse.The room itself featured two sofas, nice big bed, coffee / tea facilities, tv, a decent enough bathroom and as it was a suite it even had a nice private spa bath in a separate area connected by a glass sliding door.

The TV sat at a good distance to watch from the sofas or the bed and offered the standard free to air tv stations but the choice of stations was limited.

The bed was King size which was great, but as it the normal flaw in hotels, the pillows were really average and way too soft for my taste. Would be nice to have some quality pillows there.

The bathroom was fine... the shower was a decent size and the amenities were good. The Spa was lovely and relaxing. It was in a separate area next to the sleeping area and had a skylight that let in natural light which was welcome. What I didn't understand was why there were no curtains to block out the light coming into the sleeping area. I was woken up by the light quite early both mornings I was there as there was no way to block it out.

Didn't eat at the restaurants but did make the mistake of having a take away flat white from there at breakfast time which was pretty ordinary. Some barista lessons wouldn't go astray there.

Free internet was really welcome and a bit of a surprise. There should be no excuse for not having free internet these days so kudos for that!

It would have been nice to have been able to open windows. I don't understand why hotels seem to think that we want to be couped up in air conditioning, especially when the hotel is not high-rise. Just to be able to get some fresh air into the room would have been great.

Location-wise it is in walking distance to the Manuka shops which was nice.

I would consider staying at the Rydges Capital Hill again, but I do hope that a bit of money is spent on refreshing the hotel as it probably wouldn't be my first choice next time but with a bit of TLC, it could be.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in May 2014 on business trip. The hotel was chosen based on location. I did a last minute booking and upon arrival I was given a room with disability bathroom (I am ok with it). Overall all aspects of hotel facilities felt dated but my stay is comfortable enough despite that. Plus: bed is comfortable. Hotel restaurant serves tasty and reasonably priced breakfast and dinner. Minus: bathroom shower (design is not user friendly, water leaks a bit from outside shower screen due to the design); room proper wardrobe in room. Need to pay to access gym facilities (dated too).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide some feedback on your stay with us.

I do apologise you were not given a room type that you had booked and I will be following up on this as to how this happened.

It was pleasing to hear however the bed was comfortable and you found the restaurant well priced the food served was quite tasty!.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It's not bad, it's not terrible. It's having a facelift but still looks old. The spa was an unpleasant shade of green.

Having said that, the rooms are comfortable, there's lots of light, parking was OK (fee), breakfast was nice...

There are lots of other places to stay in Canberra - would need to be a big incentive to come back here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sariban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Myself and my family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights with the bed & breakfast package. On booking we were lucky enough to get a free upgrade to the Embassy Suite, which was nice.
The suite was roomy, with a sofa bed for each child and a big king bed in the main room. The main bed was super comfy.
The walls need a good paint and well everything just needs an uplift/upgrade.
Buffet breakfast has a very good selection of hot & cold food.
When our room was made up after the first night, housekeeping forgot to give us any towels or bathmats but this was quickly fixed when I rang reception.
The biggest downfall for this Rydges (apart from being run down) is that they charge an extra $12 a night for parking & they have around 10 parking spots that you dont have to pay for, which gives you no option but to just pay. Although the price isnt expensive, I do think it should be included in the price of the room, as this isnt overly cheap for the quality of the rooms either.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This Hotel is in a good location for walking to Manuka shops, Parliament House etc, however it is old and dated and lacks atmosphere. Everything seemed scruffy, including some of the front desk staff uniforms. It is not a good image when the old desk drawers fall out in front of you and the staff member can't get them back in . Didn't want to eat at the restaurant because we expected it to be the same standard as everything else in this hotel. We stayed at two other Rydges properties in the same week and this was disappointing for what we paid.

Room Tip: First floor rooms feel like you are in the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Tasha,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us.

In regards to the staff uniforms I will be personally following up in regards to this as all staff are to be in full uniform & neatly presented.

The desk drawers I will have our maintenance look into this issue.

We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, if you are back in Canberra sometime in the future please contact myself directly and I will be happy book you into the hotel.
Thank you
patrick_miller@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

There's nothing really 'wrong' with this place, it's just bland. Clearly old and a bit tired, the property has been renovated as best as possible for a property of its age. Except the bathrooms which are...tired. But everything is clean and well maintained and the rooms are spacious enough.

The bed is quite comfy, which is a plus. Only 5 mins walk to Manuka where there are plenty of food options and next to Manuka oval if you're here for sport. Obviously it's a business hotel during the week and in that respect would be perfectly functional esp if you are working in the parliamentary zone.

If you get a special deal, you'll be happy with the hotel if a clean room and friendly staff are all you require.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BSBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Great to hear you found the staff here to be friendly and the hotel rooms to be clean and comfortable.

The hotel is in a great location close to Manuka with plenty of food options, which is what majority of our guest's really enjoy.

Thank you again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.3 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 59 in Canberra
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#12 of 59 in Canberra
1,118 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
3.8 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 59 in Canberra
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: £69 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing