We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Capitalise on this place !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Capitalise on this place !!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Very close to Parliament House. The venue has a relax feel about the place. The bed was amazing and very comfortable. Staff are very friendly. With not much happening at night - there is always the bar at the front of the venue to sit and unwind.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you Gian for this very kind review.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and you found the Rydges Dream Bed amazing and very comfortable we love them too!

We look forward to welcoming you back next time around!

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    377
    295
    107
    65
See reviews for
266
339
61
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for one night as had booked for the Questacon package deal - which have to say was good value for a family, the entrance ticket and breakfast.
It was nice to have the pool facilities, however the spa & sauna were luke warm and not well maintained, overall the hotel has a tired feel to it in every area, the foyer, breakfast and rooms. It was all "just ok" but nothing outstanding.
Likewise with the service, especially in the reception area, it all seemed such an effort & even dealing with their own PriorityGUEST Reward program, it was all too hard (both during & after my stay) The only exception was a very friendly breakfast waitress.
Would certainly not stay there for business or weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi MazzAustralia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

If you would like to try the hotel again the next time you are Canberra I would be more than happy to make the arrangements for you my email is listed below
Patrick_miller@rydges.com

Thank you

Kind Regards,
Patrick Miller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed one night. Comfortable bed, value for money, not expensive. Room 355 was quite noisy mainly because I opened the window onto the Atrium. Someone working, clanking dishes running up stairs all night. Hotel in need of an upgrade especially bathroom. Good location, pleasant staff, bar staff obliging. A fairly average hotel but good location easy to find, plenty of parking on street if you dont want to pay for hotel parking. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Carol,

Thanks for the review, Firstly I would like to apologize for the noise disturbance that you encountered during the night, next time you book with us we can most certainly organize a room on the outer side of the hotel for you that is not a problem.

Great to hear you found the staff to be pleasant and obliging, we look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here for 1 night in a 1 bed Superior Queen Room and paid AUD$128. Overall it was a positive experience and I would stay again. However the hotel is dated and 1970s looking and rooms need a face lift. They are tired and the carpet is so dark as to look dirty - which it wasn't.
My room was very large, with big bed, sofa, table, etc. Small sink and kettle and fridge as well. The bathroom was very dated and while it was clean it was old and tired looking.
My room looked inwards into the courtyard, so basically looking into hte reception area, which is a little strange, also no natural light.
The swimming pool and sym was in basement. The pool was fine (but very dark). Be warned, they charge extra if you use the gym.
I ate in the bar, where the food was nice, service polite, price good, but no atmosphere at all.
Free WiFi free newspapers was a great touch, but having to pay for car parking was a negative.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times for a weekend stay and found the king size bed accommodation spacious and comfortable and the service very friendly....but the bathroom needed a bit of renovation. There was a function on one of the nights we stayed but we couldn't hear anything as the room was well soundproofed. The buffet breakfast is ample and the surroundings are very pleasant. The location is excellent, close to Barton, Manuka and Kingston where you can find many good places to eat. There is a $12 charge however if you wish to park your car in the security carpark which you need to consider in winter with the heavy frost, otherwise you can park outside the hotel for free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Robert,

What a very kind review! Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay with us.

It was very pleasing to hear you enjoyed all the facities the hotel had to offer, and that the staff here were friendly and efficient.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time around.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Patrick Miller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Can't remember seeing so many young children and parents. If you're not looking for a quiet relax and in need of good value and AMAZING service this hotel is recommended. As others have mentioned, the rooms and style is a wee bit shabby and dated. However the most wonderful and extraordinary indoor garden grown from a planting maybe 20 years old creates the most beautiful green courtyard with palms fronds almost reaching into the hotel room. Enjoy this gorgeous treat of indoor planting, and please management, if and when you refurbish please use this wonderful garden as a feature to work an entire point of difference around ( contact me if you need some ideas - seriously).
Loving the free wi fi and top class - professional and unpretentious staff . Big shout out outs to Lana and William.
A comfortable and easy stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Theburnsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for such a positive review!

Our atrium is absolutely fantastic and we do recieve plenty of positive feedback comments about it, so once again it was great to hear you enjoyed it.

It was also great to hear you found all the staff here to be professional and efficient, I will personally pass on your feedback to the staff you mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time!

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here during the month of May. Firstly, the hotel is a busy one as it is near Parliament House. It is also near Manuka that has a nice array of shops and restaurants. The staff are friendly, polite and helpful. The foyer etc, quite nice. There is also a laundromat at the Hotel which is very helpful. The room that we stayed in was a good size and clean. The bed was comfortable. However, the bathroom that we had, needed a good scrub. To be fair as this is a busy hotel, housekeeping staff must be flat out most of the time keeping up, but I would suggest that the chief housekeeper go around and check the rooms for cleanliness, especially the bathrooms ie toilets and floors.

The breakfast area is quite nice and so is the breakfast with the usual choices. Room service was disappointing as the dish that we ordered came luke warm. Nothing worse than luke warm chips and meat. I ordered the hamburger with onion jam which was missing and there were only 3 small pieces of salad with the meat in the bun. It looked like it had been put on the plate in a rush and then left for the staff for delivery.. When one pays the price for articles on the room service menu, which are not cheap, you should be entitled to have reasonably hot food. I would rate this more a 3 star hotel than a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArgieCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#15 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Property: Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#27 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing