We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Credit card charge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Credit card charge.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were surprised that we were charged $11.48 as a transaction fee for using a credit card without being advised in advance of the fee. We had to call reception to have milk delivered to the room as it had not been replenished when the room was service3d.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    377
    295
    107
    65
See reviews for
266
339
61
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I only stayed here one night between flights home. It was a rushed booking and i hadn't done much research on the hotel. On the way I checked tripadvisor and the reviews were all fairly poor which had my sister and i worried. However, upon arrival the hotel had a beautiful lobby, staff with great customer service and great food from room service!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFrequentHolidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Great to hear you decided to stay with us, I was pleased to hear you were not dissapointed and you were able to provide positive feedback.

Also really pleasing to hear you found the staff and food to be of a high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincumber, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in the Domion Suite - quiet and excellent accommodation. Well appointed bathroom and bed a luxury to sleep in. The suite had a small kitchen, only issue is not enough forks and one of the frypans was dirty.
The wooden venetians also need a little updating as some did not allow any adjustment.
Breakfast was included - the food was excellent and very filling.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large though the lower floor may be a little too close to the Bar on ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobnEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Rydges Capital Hill.'

Great to hear you enjoyed the Dominion Suite, I will follow up on the amount of cutlery that was allocated to the room for this we do apologise.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights, the room was huge but a little bit dated, there is a strange sink in the lounge room (suppose to be a kitchenette?), there was no toaster or free biscuits :( I think to encourage you to order room service or eat at the restaurant.
Bathroom was huuuuggeee.
The buffet breakfast was substantial, but the poached eggs were abit hit and miss.
Staff were lovely.
Wifi was not strong in our room.
Overall a nice hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 987GRace987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here overnight, and whilst the hotel did seem a bit dated, it wasn't trying to be anything it's not. It's a decent hotel with good rooms and service, and obviously a good location. However, as mentioned, it's nothing to rave about. Stay because it's consistent, but that's about it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here twice in 3 weeks. Both times the service and staff were very pleasant and cooperative. We stayed here 12 months ago and my report on the food was quite negative, but it can honestly say that in July 2014, the food was perfect. The rooms are big ( but a little dated) and everything was clean and worked well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Ian,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us since your previous visit 12 months ago, It was very pleasing to hear the staff, service and food was perfect on these occasion's.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time around.

Thanks again
Patrick Miller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The ladies at the front desk were fantastic! The really accommodated my 6yo daughter. The rooms were very spacious and modern. The bathroom was dated but we tend not to spend too much time in there. The food was good. Staying there broke up the trip to the snow.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Stewart

What a great review!

We take great pride in providing the best service to all of customers, and on this occasion it looks like our staff here made you and your family feel very welcome.

I will be sure to pass this feedback onto my front office staff!

Thanks again
Patrick Miller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#15 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Property: Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#27 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing