We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price for visiting Canberra”
Review of Tall Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tall Trees Hotel
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for the second time, as it is a good price, and convenient for visiting the sites in Canberra. It is convenient for driving around Canberra, and was comfortable and clean.
The first time we stayed here, we were provided with vouchers for various places, including Ainslie football club, and found it great. This was another reason for coming back, we found the food superb at the footy club and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank consub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed only one night on our way further south, and booking was made though wotif.com.au. The room was fine for 2 adults and 2 kids, and did us fine for the night. Good location, about 10 minutes drive to the City Centre. We needed the use of a microwave and the lady at reception organised one to be placed in our room, which was great. We did not eat at the restaurant (brekky was too $$), There was a large group of school kids staying in the hotel, and the staff had placed a notice advising the times the dining room would be used for their meals so that other guests could avoid waiting for food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We found the reception staff to be very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and in good condition. We had dinner in the dining room on our first night (of four). I ordered the crumbed peri peri whiting and ended up sending it back to the kitchen. It was cold in the middle and only luke warm on the outside. The replacement was the complete opposite. Over cooked crumbs and mushy fish and cold chips. I lost my salad, not really too fussed as the lettuce was brown from being made too early(?) and left uncovered. Husbands steak was tough and grisly.
We recommend either Dickson, a ten minute walk for a mini Chinatown or Ainslie in the opposite direction to Pulp Fiction, another ten minute walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HansandMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

We refer to your review. We have, over the past many weeks, had consistently positive feedback on the quality of the fare. Thus, we are most distressed that the meal that you have described was so poor. We are looking into the matter with a view to ensuring that we never again receive such a damning review. We are awaiting a comment from the chef but, in anticipation, we wish to assure you that we make every effort to use fresh, quality, ingredients and your bad experience is certainly not the norm. However, we apologise unreservedly and hope that you will return on a future occasion and will call our General Manager ahead of time, so that we can make every effort to make amends. With warm regards - Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was a family re-union trip to Canberra for the Floriade in September 2013 with our 3 now adult children. We were attracted to this place by the quiet location in the suburbs, yet close to the food of Dickson & close to the city. We've stayed in Canberra many times previously, but the first time here.

It looked pretty good on the internet, do we booked 2 standard rooms approx 3 months before our stay & pre-paid at that time. One room was for the 3 "kids" and one room for Mum & Dad.

Upon checking-in we were told that the rooms were not together. We were asked if this was OK. We said it wasn't but were told they were fully booked. We indicated we had booked 3 months in advance. We were told that room allocations were done the night before. So why - the night before - couldn't the two rooms be allocated next to each other? Guess they stuffed up. But we had arrived at 1,30pm in the afternoon with only about 4 cars parked in front of motel rooms. Viz. the place was then pretty much empty & a solution was still possible. Surely they could change things around. Again, we were told they were fully booked. We acquiesced to avoid a confrontation.

When we arrive at the rooms we find that one room is upstairs at one end of the building. The other is downstairs half-way along. This is going to spoil the family dynamic. Further, Mum's & Dad's downstairs room is near an outside metal stairway. I'm a light sleeper, sleep early & see the stairway as problematic to a good night's sleep from people coming "home" later at night. So we go back to reception again. Again they say they are fully booked & nothing can be done.

Upon checking-in we were only given one free wi-fi password. We have 2 rooms and 4 computers between the 5 of us. After a delay - we don't wait & go out sightseeing instead - they eventually come good with this.

The rooms are fairly small with cheap fixtures & fittings. The carpet in mum's & Dad's room was a little dirty too. I only briefly saw the kids' room. Walls are paper thin & there is a crying baby next door to us. I'm awoken at 12.30am & 4.30am by the baby. Get about 5 hours sleep for the night with a drive back to Sydney the next day.

This place looked good on the internet. The reality was very different. Spoiled our trip mainly due to inattentive reception staff upon check-in. I think Mrs Fawlty is usually more gracious & accommodating if there is a problem than this mob.

If I hadn't pre-paid (no refunds at this point) I would have walked-out. We got the impression they already had our money & weren't going to be troubled to do anything for us. Don't stay here. We won't ever again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heffner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear valued guest
We refer to your review and apologise unreservedly for the inconvenience that you have described. We have now examined the circumstances. The hotel was 100% occupied for the entire duration of your stay.
The reception desk was manned by one of our young, competent and willing receptionists, who was doing her best to satisfy the needs of all our guests. Even though the 2 standard rooms that you had booked were originally next to each other, changes had to be made in the course of the day, since many of our other guests were also travelling together. So our reception staff found themselves juggling a number of specific requests from various guests.
In your case, one of the standard rooms that you had booked was to accommodate 3 people and, since none of the rooms on the ground floor have sofa-beds, she had to allocate a room upstairs. Unfortunately, all other upstairs rooms were occupied. The fact that you noted that the car park was relatively empty was, with respect, not relevant. Guests had checked in and were out site-seeing. Had a family room, or a large executive or deluxe room, been available, we would obviously have up-graded you. But that was not possible,
None of that which we have described is offered as an excuse. We are most apologetic and understand your frustration. Unfortunately, we cannot take responsibility for the crying baby. We do take issue with your unflattering comments about the quality of fixtures and fittings and the acoustic qualities of the dividing walls. The property has been totally renovated and is has an official AAA 4 star rating. We also pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the rooms and are disappointed that the carpet in one of the rooms appeared to be stained. We will obviously remedy that problem immediately.
We would hope that you would consider staying with us again and assure you that, if you call our General Manager, Pat, ahead of time, every effort will be made to make amends. Best wishes - Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Husband and myself spent last Friday night there, had it prebooked thru Internet for a B & B. check in, straight away standard room all good, clean and big enough with a nice comfy queen bed. Breakfast in the dining room very good, plenty of choice, tables cleared quickly and staff friendly and obliging, no complaints quite location, close to Dickson eateries, we would always use as a base and tell others about it ..

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carmel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your flattering review. Our team works long and hard to make every guest feel welcome and appreciated. Your endorsement of their efforts is most gratifying. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm regards - Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed two nights and also experienced two groups of school children staying, what a great place Canberra is to bring kids there is so much to see and do. A car is useful from this location, nothing takes long to get to. We had a standard room which was o.k. for a short stay, we had two chairs and a sofa, microwave and plates and cutlery, fridge which was well stocked and a comfy bed with extra blankets if required. The bathroom is pretty small, bit tight if you are a big guy! There is a restaurant however if kids are staying the dinner hours are limited and room service is provided if you need it.

Room Tip: Upstairs could be better, if you are underneath you can hear all the footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morkie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking time out to write your review. We do occasionally have school groups staying with us. That is the the nature of Canberra. These groups are always supervised by a number of teachers, are invariably well behaved, and cause little to no inconvenience to our other guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again and assure you that we will make every effort to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you again - Warm wishes from the Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed in a family room that slept 6 (as it contained a queen bed plus 2 x double bunks). Room modernised and bathroom semi-modernised. Quiet location (so need to a car to get to shops, attractions etc). Booked well ahead, so got a good rate even though Floriade was on. Pleasant, helpful staff.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about security, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm wishes - Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
5.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
3.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#19 of 58 in Canberra
595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#20 of 58 in Canberra
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,690 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#22 of 58 in Canberra
354 reviews
4.2 mi away
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Trees Hotel

Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra)
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Canberra
#29 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: £62 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Trees Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re a corporate traveller, a couple looking for a weekend escape, or a family looking for a place to go for your next trip, look no further than Tall Trees Canberra. Quality boutique hotel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tall Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing