We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tall Trees Hotel
Nearby Hotels
QT Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Burbury Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
113
178
140
37
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
178
140
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomquiet locationsuburban streetroom was cleandickson shopsplenty of parkingfree wifiwar memorialqueen bedshort driveshort staystayed here for one nightreception areaground flooran overnight staycity centrecomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 493 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A good place to stay with Dixon and Ainslie shops/cafes only a short walk away. The staff were friendly and helpful. The wifi was free but only a slow and poor signal was achievable. otherwise it was good value.

Room Tip: Wifi was a bit dodgy, being very slow and only a weak signal
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for your review. We have been experiencing problems with our WiFi equipment provider and are currently upgrading our WiFi service. We hope that you will be staying with us again soon and that, on the next occasion, you will experience WiFi which is genuinely “high speed”. Kind regards – Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

So we stayed here for the weekend at the snow. Ideally located close to a large supermarket and other shops, topping up our supplies and quick meal options was easy. The areas that let this business down were the following: bunk beds placed in a room not designed for a group of 6, one bed about 2 inches underneath the air con, the air con remote didn't work well, stuck on 23c, would go no higher, bathroom mirror fluro was out, dust build up in the fan fixture but water pressure was fantastic! Bar fridge was open on arrival so drinks weren't cold and lack of signage made it difficult to find our room. Lastly, the double bed was too soft and no warm blankets on the bed so my sleep was uncomfortable for most of the night. The customer service was good, so that's another positive. For the money though, it fell short of my expectations.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank marcus7241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

So we stayed here for the weekend at the snow. Ideally located close to a large supermarket and other shops, topping up our supplies and quick meal options was easy. The areas that let this business down were the following: bunk beds placed in a room not designed for a group of 6, one bed about 2 inches underneath the air con, the air con remote didn't work well, stuck on 23c, would go no higher, bathroom mirror fluro was out, dust build up in the fan fixture but water pressure was fantastic! Bar fridge was open on arrival so drinks weren't cold and lack of signage made it difficult to find our room. Lastly, the double bed was too soft and no warm blankets on the bed so my sleep was uncomfortable for most of the night. The customer service was good, so that's another positive. For the money though, it fell short of my expectations.

Dear valued guest We refer to your review. We have recently installed bunkbeds in family rooms, which have proved to be very popular. These rooms, which can accommodate a family of 6 represent great value for money. We are aware of the problem of the location of some of the air conditioning units relative to the bunkbeds and we are progressively relocating the units. In regard to your comment about a couple of maintenance issues, we can assure you that, had you brought those matters to our attention during your stay, our willing and professional staff would immediately have addressed them. We simply did not know that there was a problem with the air conditioner and that the fluro light had failed. The bed on which you slept is brand new and we often get compliments from guests on the quality of the mattresses. But, unfortunately, it is not possible to please everyone all the time. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations but assure you that, if you are willing "to give us another go", our General Manager, Pat, and her team will make every effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible. With kind regards - Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have been using the BW Tall Trees since 2006 for work trips to Canberra.
After recent refurbishments to rooms in the hotel, specifically to the bathrooms, the level of fittings has been lifted to a very modern, efficient, yet stylish standard.
There is more usable area in the bathrooms and the shower caters for the taller person.
The service from the staff is of the expected high standard.
The value for money of the dining room at breakfast is outstanding for Australia and comparable to the better hotels I have experienced overseas in the past 5 years.

Room Tip: The 'older' Executive rooms are bigger than the Standard Queen rooms in the newer part of the hotel. West side for winter and East for summer.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for most generous review. Al the Executive Rooms will have been totally renovated by the end of October – new joinery and the stylish updates to the bathrooms that you have described. We, of course, look forward to your return visits! Best wishes – Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We wanted to visit Canberra, just an overnight stay, family of 4. We wanted to see the War Memorial, National Museum and Telstra Tower. For an overnight stay we wanted something that would accommodate our family, 2 adults 2 kids, so wanted queen and two singles. Unless you want to stay in a two bedroom apartment and pay the extra this is very difficult to find. The Best Western Tall Trees was perfect for us. The room was what we asked for, it was very clean, we didn't hear a thing during the night and the bathroom was spotless. Like some other travellers we decided after a long first day that we would eat at the restaurant that night. Yes it is a basic Motel style restaurant, but the food was delicious, well cooked, plenty on the plate and affordable. With Breakfast as part of our package the kids could choose what they wanted without waste and there was a reasonable selection to choose from. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for most generous review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Warm regards – Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

reception was very friendly. Room was very clean and comfortable although the bathroom was a bit cramped. Having room service knock on my door at 9.00am to make up my room was not a welcome sight as the compendium said room servicing occurred at 10.00am. Quiet location with ample parking. Restaurant had nice meals.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We do apologise for the intrusion of our room service team and assure you that we have taken steps to ensure that such an incident does not happen again. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Warm regards – Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews