We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's improving and good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canberra Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canberra Rex Hotel
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's improving and good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

There are many reviews here and all talk about the old rooms. Having stayed in both the renovated rooms and the old rooms as a regular guest I can fairly comment about what is and whats coming. The new rooms are small but immaculate- a total gut and refit with flat screen TV's and new beds. Currently only available on level 3 but more rooms on 1,2 and 3 are being done right now and should be available in the new year. Along with the foyer renovations that will men at least half the hotel will be renovated. The rest is not far away apparently from talking to the staff.
But the old rooms are OK too. Spotlessly clean and a little faded they still have big comfortable beds. The TV's could do with replacing- they really are hard to watch. But I guess there is no point changing them as the refits are coming. And the rates charged are very fair in comparison to the rest of Canberra. Its an expensive town and you'll be hard pressed to find cheaper this close to the city.
Parking is still a big issue- but there are plans to address this. All in all good value for money and friendly service

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swamprat96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    210
    129
    80
    66
See reviews for
89
186
52
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of this month for 4 nights. Our tiny tiny room was a blast from the past - very dated but clean. Our room was only slightly wider than the bed but the bed was comfortable. The TV was very old but at least came with in-house movies. As we were out and about during the day it didn't worry us too much. The room was cleaned daily (not vacuumed). The 2 lifts on the other hand were, in a word, scary. Every time we got in we were worried that we might come to some harm. The floors of both lifts were 'spongy' to say the least. On a positive note, the breakfasts were great and we ate in the dining room every night. The meals were fantastic and the wait staff were great especially Sharaz who was brilliant. Be warned however, we were there on a Saturday night when a wedding was taking place and although there were very few diners in the dining room we had to wait over an hour for our meal to be served. Our advice? Eat out if there is a wedding on. As already mentioned Sharaz and the dining room staff were great and the reception staff were lovely too. If we ever come to Canberra we hope that the new building will be completed and the old part of the hotel completely refurbished.

Room Tip: Heard that there are refurbished rooms so try for those if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Welcome to the mid-1950s. It's like a visit to your grandparents place - but your grandparents haven't bothered to update anything or change the carpet in 60 years.

The front desk staff are great. Here endeth the positives.

You're only looking here because everything else in Canberra is full, yes? Your option is to FIFO from Sydney. You should seriously consider that option...

(They're renovating rooms. Apparently the renovated rooms are better. Then again, it appears that they have been renovating for several years and any stay at the moment comes with the noise and inconvenience of said renovation at a price that doesn't reflect it.)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I went to Canberra on a short holiday sans family, so choosing accommodation was really a pig in a poke! However, I was pleased I did stay here as I was extremely comfortable!!
Admittedly, the decor is dated and the fittings and fixtures are no longer in the first flush of youth but, and this is the pertinent fact, everything worked as it should and every day I came back to a freshly cleaned and serviced room; spotless is what it actually was; I was impressed!
I had breakfast included in the tariff which was very good indeed, though being early rather than late is the key as the chafing dishes aren't that efficient, but, that said, I sallied forth into the delights of Canberra replete!
The staff could not have been more helpful without being obsequious - I'm a little uncomfortable being addressed as "Sir" at the best of times!!
I did witness some guests treating the staff as something unwelcome found on the bottom of a shoe, though, and must wonder what these people are like in their own homes?!
All in all, a most enjoyable stay with the caveat that parking is at a premium around the hotel and one should be careful as my rental car was dinged by someone who didn't care to leave his/her name & address.....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENZEDFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the newly renovated rooms & even though it was a little small, it was very clean and well appointed for what we needed. The bathroom was spotless which was important to us. There could be a little more space for your suitcases and bags. We had to leave all our things on the floor which made it a little difficult to move around. We were staying with other members of our car club and breakfast, which was plentiful and varied, was inclusive in our deal. The car club hired out function room for the Saturday night. We had a lovely meal there and access to drinks. Considering we have stayed in some other not so clean places in Canberra, we would definitely go back to the Rex.

Room Tip: Try and get a renovated room. Much nicer than older ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
394 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Welcome to the Rex!
Here you will find the novelty of a bar fridge empty of anything but a jug of water.
You will also get a picture window view of the former car park, upon which the new proprietor is erecting an apartment block, leaving guests finding it difficult to park hire cars, in this pedestrian unfriendly city with infrequent bus services, particularly at night and on long weekends.
Our bathroom had been recently renovated. This involved simply removing the old taps and fixings and updating them. Sadly, the tiles still bore the scars of their previous fixtures and were tired to say the least.
To add insult to injury, The Rex had managed to bar all internet use within the hotel, unless you paid their very high WIFI fees. This included blocking your personal mobile phone access to the internet, so you had to physically leave the grounds of the hotel to access your private cell phone internet services.
Their flagship restaurant had recently been refurbished, hopefully to a far higher standard and with better compliance to health regulations than the bathroom. We did not eat there,as too many exciting free attractions were happening within the Parliamentary/Art Gallery precinct, celebrating the centenary of Canberra's foundation.
There is a bus stop very near the hotel.
The noise of the building site on the hotel's former car park would be a real downer at times when work is in progress. Fortunately, we were there over the Labour Day long weekend, so avoided the noise, but parking would be even more problematic with the workers vying for parks nearby, along with the guests.
The Rex did however provide us with considerable amusement, as it is reputedly now owned by one of the richest women in the Australia. If that is the case, she is clearly very astute at saving money, at the expense of the comfort of her guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fional943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I was staying there for to night 14-16 of October will start with the rooms
Old the blind are not close the bed are so old that lay on to rood of iron
Bathroom old mold in the shower/ bath no parking in the hotel need to park of the street 10 min walk food the diner was from recycled left over
No net no wifi only with pay
Never go back there no way

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Zvika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#23 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#20 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Rex Hotel

Property: Canberra Rex Hotel
Address: 150 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Canberra Rex Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Canberra Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing