We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty and a dump” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canberra Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canberra Rex Hotel
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Sanctuary Point, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dirty and a dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Bathroom in need of an update, toilet needed to be flushed three times. Hot water takes an age to run hot. Generally bathroom old and dirty. toilet very low to sit on.
Ate in the restaurant first night. fish and chips over cooked. Car park needs to have
spaces remarked. First and last time of staying there. In the middle of renovating no excuse.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dudley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    211
    129
    80
    66
See reviews for
89
188
52
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I honestly don't know how this place can look so different from the pictures on internet. the bedrooms are old, dirty, dusty, small. in our one, we had a big old telly, like in the 80's, the bed was ok, or at least the bed sheets seemed to be clean, the bathroom extremely small and we couldn't dare to touch the toilet...the carpet in the bedroom dirty...
in conclusion, definitely not worth it!!
the only good thing was the breakfast, hot, abundant with many sweets and savory things to pick from.
the front desk service was bland, poor, the girls all looked bored and annoyed from being there, and stressed when there were more than 2 customers waiting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eatAbility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel came up as the cheapest when I searched -the bed was great (last king advertised ) but hotel very average needs a refurbishment urgently - TV picture very bad -internet free and worked well- restaurant closed for refurbishment but they told me it would be open for breakfast ?!!! Very odd - bed very good but agree with jennifish review

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Let me start by stating that I do a lot of travelling for work. Also the Rex is looking tired.

Having said that when you have been working all day after a long drive what you don't need is problems at your hotel. So when you check in late and have not had anything to eat all day the last thing you want to here is the dinning room is closed. This is what happened to me after a long day very long day. However one of the restaurant staff overheard the discussion and took control making me feel very welcome. Nothing was a problem. On another occasion my stay was extended at the last moment. In fact I was on my way home and had to turn around. Checked in no problem. Well one small problem it was late and I had no fresh cloths. Rodney on the front desk took control. The washing machine was broken and so he step up and took charge taking my cloths and assuring me I would have them by morning. I did. The people here are the best. You will not find better anywhere. They always make me feel very welcome in a very genuine manner. Don't think of going anywhere else. The people make the place. Steve V

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here last weekend & trust me the photos that the Agoda website showed of this place, are very misleading. The rooms I would liken to something in a housing commission & are very old & dated indeed. The lifts are just unacceptable for a 3.5 star hotel & the corridors smelt of death.We stayed a Saturday night & they had some weddings on which meant parking was at a premium & hard to find with us having to drive around for quite some time before finding a spot. The only good point was the breakfast which is plentiful & of a good standard.but then for the price you pay it should be as the rest is sub-par.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden NSW
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Oh dear, The rex hotel is getting very tired! Our recent stay here was only 'just ok' the bed was comfy enough but the room smelt very musty and was quite dark and dimly lit. The light didn't work, the TV was very very old and needed replacing, the bathroom door didn't even shut from the swell of the door, the bathroom had quite a bit of mould and the mirror surround had wood rot. We have stayed here previously and thought it was ok for the price, but now - I don't think I would stay here again. When I told my concerns to the person on checkout she seemed very uninterested and didn't even offer to write my concerns down or try and reassure me... Sorry Rex, its a NO from me....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We received the most friendliest welcome on check in and proceeded to our rooms. Both king and although as already stated, a little tired but very clean and comfortable. The tariff , of $263 for a single and $293 for a double included a full buffet breakfast with a very good selection and great restaurant staff. A pre dinner drink at the bar was also made special with the friendliness of the barman, who was extremely polite and had a good sense of humour. On our second night we dined in and the menu was very good, a varied selection and all cooked beautifully. A very good wine list. The Manager was also extremely nice and offered to show us the current renovations that were occurring. There is a real feeling of team work with a feeling of relaxation. Will certainly be making this hotel the place to stay when next in Canberra.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marreck H, General Manager at Canberra Rex Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Barbara A,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide the team here at the Canberra Rex Hotel & Serviced Apartments with your written feedback.

I remember you and your guests well and it was a delight to show you some of our progress to date.
It will be a pleasure to see you again upon your return to Canberra and we would be honoured to have you as our guests again.

I trust this note finds you well

Kind regards & best wishes

Marreck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#20 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Rex Hotel

Property: Canberra Rex Hotel
Address: 150 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Canberra Rex Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Canberra Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing