We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilion on Northbourne
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Ponteland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

If you are looking for an hotel a short distance from the centre of Canberra this must be your choice. Located about 2km from the City centre but with very easy access either by car or very regular public transport. A nice and quiet location which suited us fine. Made to feel very welcome, the staff were brilliant and the overall accommodation first class.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PontelandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    441
    253
    83
    49
See reviews for
221
408
108
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had a great stay at the Pavilion on Northbourne, our stay included the reduced price for Sunday night, which was definitely the clincher for our stay. Very friendly and helpful staff, plus free parking and papers. Dinner was delicious in both venues, would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We had a front room, which was still very quiet and with the ability to watch the passing people etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mason005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

In a time when all hotels look the same, this is secretly one of my favourite hotels I go for work. Its most distinguishing feature is its centre atrium of a huge green live tropical garden. A restaurant is tucked in it somewhere with a great little bar and other area just to relax. It's pretty good place to get out of the Canberra cold and escape to some warmer clime. The rooms are fairly ordinary in comparison but clean and nothing to complain about. There are some good restAurants, pubs, and a few bars about a 5 min walk away (nothing is close in Canberra).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reschndler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We really enjoyed staying in this one-bedroom suite with separate lounge/kitchenette. The bed was very soft and there was a very roomy bathroom including a spa bath. The cost was a little more than I'd like to pay but there was very little available left in the city. The colour scheme is a bit drab but that does not detract from the comfort of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean. If we wanted to watch the movie channel at night, we were restricted to odd timings of movies so I would recommend that the hotel set up a system available in most other hotels where you can select your option. Anyway, it was a very nice hotel and a nice 10-minute walk to Canberra's Chinatown. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney NSW
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Staff were very friendly, and try their best to get you to upgrade your room, breakfast, on-line discount! Newspapers were free,and also a shuttle service available, and local buses stop outside the hotel to take you into the city and local attractions.
Dinner in restaurant reasonably priced and high quality, although drink prices a little to steep for me.
Room was very clean. Shower gels smelled good enough to eat! Only drawbacks(for my husband that is) was the Foxtel didn't work on our t.v. and the air/con exhaust which my husband said was like listening to someone with an asthma attack! Didn't worry me, though! A good 10 min. walk to the main shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the ground floor, as your only view there is the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Have stayed here for the last 3 years on my annual trip to the canberra festival. The staff as always are very very attentive and offer exceptional customer service. The staff are very good at trying to upsell: discounted breakfast from $AUD23 to $19 and upgrade from a standard room to an apartment (with kitchen) or spa suite for $50pn.

Hotel is always very clean and neat. The carparking is secured behind a card-entry gate (not undercover).

They have a large luggage room and only too happy to store bicycles for your trip (Canberra is a mecca for both road and mountain bikers alike).

Spa suite and apartments offer a separate living/ bedroom area which is quite handy.

Having stayed in a spa suite ($50pn extra upon arrival - upsold), I was slightly disappointed as follows:
- Spa suite has a microwave and toaster, yet no plates or cutlery to use them - is that a disincentive?
- In my spa suite (room 366) the shower was over the spa, which would make it difficult for any elderly or disabled person to get in/ out
- The shower/ spa didn't offer any curtain so water invariably splashed all over the floor in the bathroom.

Rated as a 4.5 star hotel, however would rate it more a 3.75 - 4 star hotel.

Hotel is centrally located on Northbourne Ave, which is the maindrag into town, but the hotel is extremely quiet and can only hear the road noise when you open the windows. Otherwise deathly quiet.

Easy to get around from hotel with supermarket/ major restaurant strip located 3 minute drive away in Dickson.

All in all, would come back and stay again. It is my preferred hotel of choice for my annual tripo to Canberra.

They charge a 2% fee if you pay any incidentals by credit card - however they do allow payments by cash.

Room Tip: pay the $50pn upsell when offered. The spa suite or the room with the kitchenette has a separate liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Clean & tidy, well presented. Question suitability of bathrooms for elderly / disabled - having to get over the bath edge to have a shower. No meal provided for a number of the elderly group in the evening after they had spent the entire day travelling from interstate capital city. Staff were very upset as they could not do anything to help in providing food for the number who missed out. Otherwise good establishment, and staff, but need to be aware of needs of elderly in particular as well as disabled. Food on following days could have been hotter, but plenty thereof.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,633 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#21 of 57 in Canberra
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 57 in Canberra
330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion on Northbourne

Property: Pavilion on Northbourne
Address: 242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#19 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavilion on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion On Northbourne Canberra
Pavilion On Northbourne Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing