We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pavilion on Northbourne
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We had three enjoyable nights in a deluxe queen bed room. Just a typical motel room with comfortable bed, lovely smooth linen, desk, flat screen tv, small dining table and two chairs, large putty coloured leather sofa, small ensuite with toilet and shower over bath in a separate room and the hand basin and tea coffee area and medium sized fridge separate. Towels were getting a bit rough but OK.
The heating worked fine and was very quiet. A large window which could be opened had sheer curtains as well as blackout drapes. Lucky there was a clock radio to check the time as the drapes really did block out the light.
The Pavillion has a beautiful atrium area with an abundance of greenery growing and surrounding the bar area. It's a very pleasant spot to sit and relax and have a pre dinner drink. The restaurant was excellent, food delicious and not over priced. Excellent value.
 The Pavillion is about a 25 minute walk to the city/civic shopping and restaurant precinct.
We got what we thought to be a good deal through Wotif, $99 a night for a three night stay. To pay under $100 on Northbourne is a rarity.  Actually it's hard to find anything under $100 anywhere these days, of this quality, 41/2 star.
The young lady on reception (Friday morning, 15th) was such a pleasure to talk to. She went out of her way to upgrade us to a suite at a reduced price, but we declined.  As we arrived early, around 9am she again did her best and got us into a room then and there without having to wait till 2pm. What a great little staff member. We need more people like you in customer service areas.
We would definitely stay here again at this price. Excellent value for money. They also have little packages available, for example for $56 you get a six pack crown larger, bottle of house wine, packet of chips and packet of nuts and two bottles of water. Well done Pavilion.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wishlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

The check in was speedy and the receptionist was most welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean and tidy. Just what I expected. Was very pleased and comfortable with it. Had no issues at all with the room or it's contents. The gym was simple but just what I wanted to do a workout. Loved the interior of the restaurant. The meal was great! It came out quicker than we expected as we ordered well done meat. The staff members were very nice and professional. No complaints there either. Check out took like 5 seconds. All too easy. Location was good. Walked into the city which was about 3 longish blocks away. Happy to walk the 15-20mins and leave the car at the hotel so we didn't have to pay for parking at the shops. Would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Travelling solo for business, & the room reservation was for a double; the room I got had a king size bed + a single bed so it felt quite spacious. It was a very comfortable stay. The central courtyard is a genuine throwback to a 70s (I thought) decor with the tropical garden - kind of charming & nostalgic for those of us who recall those times! Plenty of natural lighting & pleasant to sit at the bar during the daylight hours. Quite a reasonable location if u have a car or don't mind taking a taxi or bus to the city centre (about a 20 min walk I believe). My evening meal at the restaurant was delicious. Quite a good selection of things at breakfast + hot breakfast. Hotel staff were helpful & cheerful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip and was very disappointed especially considering the price. The room was old and dated, and the bathroom felt more like a nursing home than a hotel. Instead of complimentary toiletries there were ugly and difficult-to-use soap and shampoo dispensers attached to the wall. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Was a very comfortable stay with the room clean and spacious. Bed was very comfortable. Conveniently located to city centre. Had dinner in the restaurant which had nice food and good service. Breakfast in the cafe was very nice and plenty to eat. Would stay they again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Great rooms, but need a referbishment. Feel like you are stuck in the 80's. Stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Didn't try the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

A few free movies, no mini bar, crappy irons which barely work, strange indoors atrium garden bar

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaminoKahne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,763 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#24 of 59 in Canberra
1,826 reviews
3.6 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 59 in Canberra
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion on Northbourne

Address: 242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#19 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: £64 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pavilion on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion On Northbourne Canberra
Pavilion On Northbourne Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing