We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pavilion on Northbourne
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Service, nice rooms”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have enjoyed my stays here and wanted to comment.

The rooms are nice - clean, always well stocked and quiet. I have stayed in rooms with both queen and twin beds and both are adequate. The restaurant is reasonable and staff are excellent their. The hotel is located close to Dickson which also has a nice choice. They also have 24 hour room service which is convenient.

Above all though the service from all staff in fantastic. The British and American gentlemen on the Front Desk seem to always be their. They seem genuinely proud of their work and look like they enjoy what they do which shows in their service. All reception staff we encountered though were always willing to help and are very friendly.

Overall, I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    441
    253
    83
    49
See reviews for
221
408
108
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healesville, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in an apartment May, a central location to get around Canberra, value for money, clean & tidy rooms, nice size rooms, would good cooking facilities.

Good food and great service in the bar area, did not eat in the resturant,

The only issue we had was the secure parking area gate would not open with the room card, which meant you had to wait and press the button for reception, we saw this happen to lots of other people, an ongoing issue that needs fixing.

Room Tip: Apartments are a good size and allows you to cook for yourself, helps keep cost down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanctuaryPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed two nights here, having stayed twice before without any problems. This time we were given a room on level three above the carpark and we might as well have been in it. Car doors slammed morning and night and voices carried up to the windows. It would have been worse on level one. These windows need double-glazing!
Being a business hotel (as are most in Canberra) people started bathing in the early hours - non-stop from 5am and the plumbing is very noisy. The room was very tired with old, chipped woodwork.. We were glad to have had a good rate via the internet. Staff was friendly and wecoming and no problems with cleanliness. Don't think we'll stay again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the wing overlooking the carpark directly below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putaruru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Spent two nights at the Pavilion on Northbourne during May and what a lovely place it is! Everything a visitor could want and all in a great setting. The Pavilion is very well located, easy to find and well set up to provide a good experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which was very roomy and well set up for a comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_Robertson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here a few weeks ago just after Easter and we're still commenting on the size of the huge bed. A whole family could have slept in it! Conversely, the bathroom was tiny but I guess you spend less time in there. They had the best block out blinds that I have ever encountered in a hotel. I liked that you could order mini bar items rather than having them stocked. The rooms surround a forest filled atrium that contains the bar and dining area. The hotel has a dated/retro vibe that is a little kitschy but appealing nonetheless.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My room was very loud, but not because of road traffic although I was facing northbourne road. The first thing I noticed upon entering my room was a low buzzing coming from the wall. As it was past midnight I shrugged and went to bed. Only to be awakened by the buzz turning into more of a vibration at about 5am. I figured it was coming from the aircon vents after a bit, sighed and put up with it.
In the morning I had a shower and genuinely thought I broke something. The plumbing made an awful sound that made the walls vibrate. It continued for at least 15 min. Same story when I flushed the toilet, which was odd since it'd been fine the night before.
For the price this hotel is rundown, and the bathrooms in poor condition. The bed was very comfortable, the staff friendly and the location good, but the price doesn't match the facilities you get.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Je3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca Beach
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Comfortable hotel, very pleasant front desk staff. The atrium with greenery gives the place a good feel. Parking is included in the price.
The room we had only had liquid soap dispensers and if you fancy a bath you have to stand each time to apply soap.
Major letdown was the Wi-Fi $6 for 60 minutes and it was pretty useless. Unable to log on most of the time. Why can cafés, art galleries etc. provide free Wi-Fi but not hotels?

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor, don't pay for the Wi-Fi use the free ones available at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,632 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#21 of 57 in Canberra
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 57 in Canberra
330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion on Northbourne

Property: Pavilion on Northbourne
Address: 242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#19 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pavilion on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion On Northbourne Canberra
Pavilion On Northbourne Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing