We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pavilion on Northbourne
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$137
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ovolo Nishi(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$260
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
University House(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Brassey Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abode Hotel Woden(Canberra)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,253)
Filter reviews
1,255 results
Traveller rating
344
486
277
94
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
486
277
94
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor gardenatrium barcentral atriumspa suitebuffet breakfastsingle bednorthbourne avenuedickson shopscity centreroom servicefree parkingcomfortable bedthe air conditioningplenty of parkingwould stay againpleasant stayvisiting canberra
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
836 - 841 of 1,255 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed 4 nights in March 2014. At the rates paid it was exceptional value. The hotel has a very welcoming foyer/reception area with the outstanding indoor garden area as a backdrop. Check in and out were smooth and the front desk staff extremely polite and helpful but the McDonald's style "fries with that" sales pitch could perhaps be dropped.. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. From a location point of view it is a little out of central Canberra if you do not have a car but the main Northbourne Avenue passing the front of the property is well serviced by public transport although weekend not so good. The complimentary courtesy bus early morning is an added benefit if travelling into central for the day and the driver is particularly helpful. There is a very good looking restaurant area beyond the foyer and bounded by the indoor garden although a little pricey and a cafeteria area for breakfast. Would definitely be my preferred accommodation if travelling to Canberra again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathansupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Got here via mystery deal... Really quiet and worthwhile and pleasant. Nice atmosphere around the tropical garden tent pitched in the centre. Only minus was the sales pitch from the receptionist at check in.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Chandragomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

While our room was clean and looked to be recently renovated with comfy beds, I can't possibly rate this hotel higher as it is the noisiest hotel room I have ever stayed in. No, we weren't near the gym or restaurant, we weren't by the carpark but I could hear the people in the room next to us and the room above us. I could hear toilets flushing either side of our room as well as above us, showers running, conversations as well as those early check outs as their doors banged... I think you get the picture. A shame really as the whole indoor garden courtyard thing has its appeal but I value my sleep way too much to recommend this hotel to anyone else

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I made the initial two night booking and as a surprise my partner paid a bit extra for us to be upgraded. Surprise is an understatement. There was no cutlery, no plates or bowls, two towels (for a couple). The amenities such as shower gel were empty, no and no milk nor toilet roll(s). Only two tea bags and two packs of sugar.

We called housekeeping to ask for these items to be replenished only to be answered by reception who told us that housekeeping had left for the day (this at around 19:00 on a saturday evening in the nations capital), we can either wait 40 minutes are come and get it ourselves, we ended up picking up housekeeping items from reception.

So Shane 378, the room my partner and I stayed in was not well stocked, it was not stocked at all, customer service was disgusting, come and pick up your own room supplies, zero assistance in terms of accessing the internet just to book into our flights home.

There are better hotels at the same price in the same location, save your money fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Dont be fooled into an upgrade, if all you want to do is get some sleep and spend your time out on the town, fine (to an extent) if you are looking for some service for your $150 plus a night, then look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our room was small with old scratched and tired furniture. The bed was very uncomfortable. The amenities consisted of some cheap tea and coffee, an old kettle and not even some complimentary biscuits. The toilet leaked in the bathroom. The bath was tiny. There was a very odd soap and shampoo dispenser on the wall of the bath/shower and you had to stand up out of the bath to be able to reach it - ridiculous!!. Not at all good value for what was offered and very surprised that other reviews were far more complimentary than they should have been

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews