We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not honest staff/Hotel, try to avoid!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
Ranked #53 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not honest staff/Hotel, try to avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I booked this hotel for a one night stop over at Canberra via booking.com website, however, it was my own mistake to choose a wrong date. Immediately after noticed that I was charged, I cancelled the booking and contacted the hotel reception and asked if I could get refund or move to the correct date. After a long wait and couple of call back to reception, I was given an email address and told to email them and wait for a solution from the superior. Couple of hours later, a reply advised that because the cancellation is just under 2 days (where the policy is 2 days+), the best option they could offer is to sell the room that I booked and then cancelled to others with a reduced price, then they will refund me. After being told this remedy plan, I was closely monitoring a few big hotel booking sites, including booking.com, wofit.com, etc. And I noticed that the room I cancelled immediately appears on booking.com (because it shows no vacancy of the type of room that I booked before I cancelled my booking). Then after a few hours, the room has been booked, and the status on booking.com shows no vacancy again for the same type of room. However, the ridiculous thing is that the hotel staff didn't admit that the room was sold again, and then refused to provide a refund and kept telling me to wait patiently and they would let me know once that night was over. The next morning, an email sent to me saying the room I booked wasn't sold, so no refund, rude!

Despite that there was no effort trying to retain a customer, I was totally shocked by the not being honest of the staff. I would definitely not stay at this hotel and recommend no one to book here, and there are lots of way better hotels in Canberra you could choose without suffering this.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Aggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceahotel, General Manager at Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Aggie L,

Your review is a LIE as you did not stay at our hotel.

You rang to cancel inside our 48 hour cancellation time - you changed your mind and then said you were coming, so we did not cancel your room, then you rang again on the day of your arrival and said that you were not coming. We informed you that we would try to re-sell your room and if we are able re-sell your room we would be in contact with you, sadly to say your room did not re-sell.

Actually we have on file here at the hotel lots of RUDE emails from you.

Yours sincerely,
BAZ REO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    131
    137
    58
    90
See reviews for
116
124
37
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Try for a room with a balcony on the sunnyside of the building overlooking the Park, you can't go wrong, the huge bed is realy comfy, and the shower is hot and energising, even if it is over the bath.Location of the Capital is fantastic, close to city, with bus stop at door to take you all over Canberra,..Great value for money with free parking, but the HAIG restaurant in house may be out of reach for those on a budget. Ideal for an extended stay or drive by for stand by rate.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the side street opposite park, NOT the otherside on top of construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicko38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed approx. 12 months ago and was impressed then but Room 301 was more light, bright & spacious, bed very comfortable. Agreed, the Kit Kats were a great treat! The apartments are approx. 1 km from the city centre, perhaps 4.5 to Parliament House! Under cover parking is tight. Would certainly recommend the Capital Executive Apartments!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Access room suitable for wheelchair dependant person (like me). Management & staff professional as lift broke down by guests while I was staying there. Fire department (to help me off level 1) was arranged to help me out & suitable alternate accommodation organised by hotel for the remainder of our stay. Hotel is a short walk to Canberra Centre. I could not hear construction work next door. I will stay there again & would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed a few nights in 103...
Good news...
Reception warm and welcoming!
Room big and comfy with great shower over bath, great cooking facilities and lots of lighting options.Great hairdryer and free kit kats yum! Excellent position to city.Large fridge and free movie channels.

Bad news...
Carpets seriously need vacuuming, air conditioner noisy (from mechanics) and unfortunately as I need to sleep with a window or door open (for fresh air) the room was incredibly noisy with traffic!I had little sleep which is a shame given all the other many positives...
Recommend if you needed a cheep place to stay for a night out... No good if you want rest.Oh and sauna looked seriously dodgy-avoid.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank SonyaG663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Capital Apartments provided spacious, old-style apartments with plenty of room to spread out and good cooking facilities. Kit Kats were a nice touch in the fridge and Easter eggs at the front desk! It is conveniently located to access all the main attractions of Canberra, however, parking can be difficult at busy times. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: On-street parking is charged and monitored so check carefully if the off-street parking is full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I am surprised at the number and the strength of the negative reviews here as this was not our experience of the place. It is not a palace true, and probably the "executive" in the title is a little misleading in terms of people's expectations but when we stayed for one night in March our room (#104) was clean, comfortable, quiet and well--equipped. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The location is excellent, with an easy walk to the downtown restaurants and the parking was ample. Yes there is a currently a building site on one side but we suffered no noise impact from it. We didn't eat here so I can offer no comment on the food. The room rate (AUD125) was very competitive and we overall were happy with our night's stay. My only minor gripe is that there was a AUD10 charge for Wifi. This was an offer we could refuse.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.3 mi away
Canberra Rex Hotel
Canberra Rex Hotel
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#23 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
1.2 mi away
University House
University House
#30 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra

Property: Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
Address: 108 Northbourne Ave & Cnr Girrahween St | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two blocks north of the CBD, a five minute stroll, our 83 room boutique style hotel. Value That Impresses:The Capital Executive Apartment Hotel, located just a short stroll from the city centre down Canberra's most tree-lined boulevard, Northbourne Avenue, is your stylish and comfortable "home away from home". The 59 studio apartments and 24 one bedroom spa suites, combined with 24 hour under cover security parking, offer the holidaymaker or business traveller great value at realistic prices. Features That Please:Soak up the classic modern ambience that is our stunning three storey atrium as you enjoy a pre-dinner drink or a quiet meeting in any of the intimate lounge areas. Pamper yourself in our sauna room or one of our 2 x 8 person heated spa pools after that workout in the gym. As day becomes night, enjoy Canberra's languid summer evenings outdoors in our alfresco courtyard overlooking the stately pines of Haig Park; or, if it's just that special time together, simply phone for our prompt and friendly room service. The choice is yours. Rooms to Relax In All room types feature reverse cycle air conditioning and are serviced and maintained to a four star standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Capital Executive
Comfort Inn Canberra
Canberra Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing