We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hostel experience”
Review of Canberra City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canberra City YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine hostel experience”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed in a 4-bed dorm, for 10 days. The hostel served its purpose for a research trip, as it was a clean, relatively peaceful environment. The hostel is in a good location in Civic, within walking distance of some landmarks. A little bit more could have been done to ensure more involvement amongst guests, but this did not really take too much away from the visit.

Overall, I could have no complaints about my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    104
    45
    14
    4
See reviews for
11
34
105
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had been there for a couple of times in the year 2009,2010. Its a great place in the otherwise quiet city of Canberra. Not very far from war memorial. I had long walks during weekends. In 2009 the heating was not sufficient. But on 2010 I found it comfortable in deep aussie winter. Breakfast was great and sumptuous. Overall I enjoyed my short stay at canberra with YHA

Room Tip: top floor rooms were comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Good experience on customer service for an overnight stay; but room heating is not even standard which they are managed from central sydney. I also reckon ear-plugs to avoid noise at sleep-time. But definitely a very good-deal in the city to stay for a very short trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shafquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a great hostel - very clean, centrally located, good facilities. Very hotel-like in that respect. However, as is mentioned in other reviews, it is in a very noisy location (due to its proximity to the CBD) particularly in the middle of the night. Therefore, a good set of ear plugs is essential, and makes for a comfortable nights sleep! They offer breakfast here for $5 which is actually a great deal, and I kicked myself for not taking it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenelg, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed with my school for 6 days. The dinner was bland and was what I would consider a small serving. The beds were just a foam mat and the pillows had no stuffing left. The quilts were very thin and not warm even with winter pj's on. Breakfast was a choice of just right, coco pops, nutragrain and toast. For three of the nights I was staying at the hostel there was loud music coming from the pub down stairs.

I would defiantly not recommend the hostel for 13 year olds on a school trip.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leira_eeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Noise is problematic, if they could sound proof the rooms then everything about this hostel would be tops. Cant beat the location and the communal facilities are better than most yhas in Australia. Wifi better than YHA's in Sydney $ Melbourne.

Room Tip: If possible see if you can get a room away from the group meeting area and not on top of the pub &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillin335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I needed a place to crash for one night, as I was only in town for a Cat Power gig. No complaints. The bed was clean, the sheets were fresh. Even the communal showers were squeaky clean and immaculate. Never saw a queue there. Hot water was fine, water pressure - perfect. Airco was fine. The bed was equipped with a night light and a power socket. The other folks didn't make any noise and bother me from sleeping.

The location was prime: right in the center of town. I don't drive. I took the bus from Melbourne, and the terminal was a 10 mins walk from the hostel. There are plenty of shops around, restaurants, 24 hour gas station, a museum and a public library etc. I don't know if the place serves breakfast or coffee or whatnot, as I was out all day, but there was a spacious kitchen and fridges for people to use.

My only pet peeve is that there wasn't any visible free storage option. Other hostels offer lockers for those who bring their own lock, and some rent/sell locks at the front desk. I had to pay an hourly fee for storing my bag in a locker.

I didn't use all the facilities and I didn't interact with the other guests, due to my short stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedingSleep3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.5 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
1,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#15 of 57 in Canberra
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra City YHA

Property: Canberra City YHA
Address: 7 Akuna St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canberra City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canberra City YHA is right in the heart of the nation's capital, 5 mins from the interstate bus terminal. Hostel facilities include cafe, indoor pool/spa/sauna, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), fully-equipped kitchen, rooftop BBQ area, TV/games area, and underground bar. Hostel hosts weekly activities and BBQs in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canberra City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canberra City Yha Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing