We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent YHA hostel with no real competition in this market.”
Review of Canberra City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canberra City YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent YHA hostel with no real competition in this market.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you've been to one, you know the drill. So I'll give you the + and the -.

On the plus side, for just a few dollars more you can avoid that hostel down the street, which is rickety, musty, looks and smells run down - just as their patrons do. This one's professionally run, and the bunks are not squeaky, the mattresses firm and not "coily". The rooms have lockable cabinets for each bunk, and there is free monitored storage on the first floor. The rooms are cleaned daily and the kitchen is more than once. The kitchen is well equipped, however there is no freezer or oven. The location is in the CBD, close to everything you need to be.

On the minus side, you get a hostel that's frequented by student groups and the way, way too old for backpacking crowd; both extremes kill the party vibe. It get's really crowded, and it can be hard to find a quite space. The bedrooms don't have many outlets, so charging your I-everything has you jockeying for position near the outlets around the lounge. The ONE REALLY, REALLY BIG MINUS I HAVE... is that they put a ping-pong table in the middle of the dining room, so when you're trying to eat there's always some jackasses diving over you to hit that ball which lands everywhere but the ping-pong table.You can't understate how annoying that is. (An obvious solution is to move the table to the other side of the room so people can eat in peace but I guess management can't be bothered.) Another minus, bad management for not moving the ping-pong table.

Room Tip: Find out which floor is being "renovated" before checking in. Our floor had no men's t...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Blackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Blackpacker
Thanks for your very detailed review of Canberra YHA.
We think you may have confused a couple of details though with another hostel. There is no ping pong table at this property and all our bathrooms are up and running - no current renovations to cause any of them to be closed. They are only ever closed for the normal cleaning times.
Enjoy the rest of your trip in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    104
    43
    14
    4
See reviews for
11
34
102
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

It provides most of the basic services, even when you have to treat yourself, it is a good choice for budget accommodation. Tiny pool and small sauna just if required. Don't forget to take out your sheets and towels! A towel may cost $2 each. You may rent a bike for some excursion as well for $20.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruben_Cardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everything within walking distance - Canberra centre, Bus terminal, restaurants/cafes. Only downside was lack of double glazed windows as it seemed every Friday night drunk felt the need to park themselves under our floor and yell their heads off!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamajama69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My sister and I booked ourselves for two nights in a 4-bed quadshare room at YHA Canberra, and were disappointed when we were told during check-in that we were assigned to two separate (but neighbouring) rooms, seeing that we requested to please arrange for us to be in the same room. The reception staff offered us a choice to move into the same room on the second night, but we must check in at 10am that day, no later, no earlier. We decided to forego this option as we know we would be busy exploring Canberra the next day and would not be around at 10am to check in. Since we have already paid for accommodation at YHA, we had no choice but to stick with staying in separate rooms.

When we checked our rooms, we noticed that there was one additional empty bed in each room. We then enquired with the staff to see if my sister or I could swap beds with the person on one of the empty beds, so that we could both be in the same room. We were told that one of the two persons have already checked in, while the other would be staying at the hostel for several nights hence it would be inconvenient for them to change rooms. Obviously we didn't want to inconvenience any backpackers, and so we let this slide. However we did walk away wishing that YHA had at least advised us beforehand that we were going to be in separate rooms, so that we could make arrangements to stay at a different place.

Adding that both of us didn't have a good experience with our rooms (we have had a much better experience with another backpackers hostel in Sydney), we feel that we won't be returning to YHA Canberra on our next visit here, which is a pity as we liked its central location and the clean bathroooms on the second floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzzJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Suzz
Thank you for your feedback and YHA would like to apologise for the issues you faced with your stay. The manager has thoroughly investigated what happened, and there were errors made on our side as you should definitely have been accommodated in the same room. We have used your feedback to conduct further staff training on our systems with staff to ensure that this doesn't happen in the future.
Again, apologies and we hope to see you at another YHA in the future so we can ensure you have a much better experience of what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

As far as backpacker hostels go, Canberra City YHA is as good as they come! Even in a 10-bed shared dorm, the room was large enough to give everyone their own space. The showers were warm, and all other facilities were great. Everybody has had a bad backpacker experience, though I doubt you'll have one here. Helpful, knowledgable staff and perfect location for walking around Canberra CBD.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank internetbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed in a 4-bed dorm, for 10 days. The hostel served its purpose for a research trip, as it was a clean, relatively peaceful environment. The hostel is in a good location in Civic, within walking distance of some landmarks. A little bit more could have been done to ensure more involvement amongst guests, but this did not really take too much away from the visit.

Overall, I could have no complaints about my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had been there for a couple of times in the year 2009,2010. Its a great place in the otherwise quiet city of Canberra. Not very far from war memorial. I had long walks during weekends. In 2009 the heating was not sufficient. But on 2010 I found it comfortable in deep aussie winter. Breakfast was great and sumptuous. Overall I enjoyed my short stay at canberra with YHA

Room Tip: top floor rooms were comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.5 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#15 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra City YHA

Property: Canberra City YHA
Address: 7 Akuna St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canberra City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canberra City YHA is right in the heart of the nation's capital, 5 mins from the interstate bus terminal. Hostel facilities include cafe, indoor pool/spa/sauna, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), fully-equipped kitchen, rooftop BBQ area, TV/games area, and underground bar. Hostel hosts weekly activities and BBQs in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Canberra City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canberra City Yha Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing