We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose your room carefully”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Choose your room carefully”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are really well appointed and comfortable. Staff are fantastic, very helpful. Be wary about staying in rooms near the gym as the pounding of people on the treadmills will wake you up...as early as 5.30am.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jilly171152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,282
    406
    71
    9
    2
See reviews for
487
609
66
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here while on a road trip. Indeed it was the most modern and 'luxurious' location of our trip, but for the price, there could surely have been some concession (as others have also commented) on the extras that are added such as wifi and parking. And product placement in the rooms is geared to spend more, bottled water $$. We booked a 'kids cubby' and were somewhat disappointed on the 'hit and miss' planning of the room. We were advised that while the bunk bed rooms were all booked they would set up a standard one with the kids inclusions. This was not done well (I had to follow up on what was advertised as included), they should have just advised none were available. I had to check the internet to remind myself what was included in the questacon package, the staff, while very pleasant, did not go through it when we checked in, other than the ticket to questacon. Location is great, walking distance to manuka and Kingston shops.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzieGardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great location (for Canberra) and nice modern rooms. the restaurant was below par i.e. dirty cutlery and only staffed by 2 people for breakfast. It was closed on the Sunday and Monday nights of a long weekend??
Overall, the staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for a weekend with the family in 1 BDR unit, apparently upgraded to a "Luxe". The room was pretty standard, and had a well equipped kitchenette, a bathroom with spa bath, and TVs in both rooms. The furnishings were average, and the over all feel was not very "luxe", more "mirvac". It was however blissfully quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. The pillows were not, but an alternative was brought to the room on request. The sofa bed was not very comfortable, either for sitting on or sleeping.
Downstairs the lobby area is modern with art installations and free lollies for the kids. We ate at the restaurant and the whole roast chicken meal for the family was very good ($100 for 4).
One of my issues here is that there are lots of extra charges. Wifi is free for 100MB, and then it costs. Parking costs. And finally there was a 1.5% charge for using ANY credit card to pay the bill. I have staayed at many hotels and dont believe I have come across this before.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back over Oxley Street are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is ideally situated and we were able to walk to the local cafes and shops in Manuka and Kingston. Travelled with 2 adults and a 4 year old. We stayed in a 1 bed apartment with breakfast option. Room was well equipped and spacious enough. Travelling with a child we like having the option of a kitchen if needed to make simple meals but also the service and facilities of an upmarket hotel. Breakfast was a great selection. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DTTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My husband & I have just returned from a weekend in Canberra to catch up with our son.
We were lucky enough to get a really good rate through the hotel manager for a corner Luxe apartment.
It was really spacious, comfy and had everything you need.
The location of this hotel is fantastic, really close to all the great restaurants and bars in Manuka and also Kingston foreshore.
Staff were professional and helpful and we will certainly stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank DeleneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naremburn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We just returned today from Canberra where we stayed for two nights at the East Hotel. 'We,' meaning two adults and 2 young boys, ages 5 and 2.

The service at check-in, during our stay, and at check out was impeccable. I've stayed at top notch hotels around the world, and I've never had better service. We were always greeted personably. We called to have them set up the fold-out couch (I was feeling lazy). I forgot to pack my wife's toothbrush (yes, I did), and they brought one up within 3 minutes. I called to ask how to operate the stove top (turns out you have to turn the 'on' switch, well, on). The staff appear to be extremely well-trained for customer service.

The room, for the money, was clean, modern, comfortable and quite well presented. No complaints at all there.

I gave 5 stars to the hotel for all of the above, but the Ox restaurant is a different matter. I understand that the restaurant is not owned by the hotel, but they have an arrangement (for room service, etc.). Our experience at the restaurant was mediocre, at best. We had breakfast there both mornings. The buffet is on the lower end of mediocre: fairly limited selection, had to wait for pre-scrambled eggs, no muffins, limited danish, no skim milk (?), etc. The thing that sticks out in my mind, though, is having to wait for 15 minutes for them to produce a high chair for our upset 2 year old (if you don't have a 2 year old, then I don't want to know you anyway). I ended up going back up to our room and lugging down the high chair that the hotel had promptly provided upon check-in.

I recommend walking to several nearby eateries for breakfast :)

Okay, so I had to comment on the mediocre restaurant, but the hotel was really top notch and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Corner 1 bedroom on level 1 was quiet and easy to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,203 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,331 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,054 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing