We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold trip to Canberra”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Recently stayed for a week and had a great time. Staff were very helpful and the meals in the restaurant were fantastic, but it's a small on space. Rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
There are newer reviews for East Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,445 - 1,451 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We decided to stay here as a little splurge for our anniversary and I'm very very happy we chose East Hotel - the location is perfectly half way between Kingston & Manuka, its modern without being too arty, very comfortable, no noise from Canberra Avenue below and we were only on the 3rd floor. The standard room was still spacious with a well equipped kitchenette and the little luxuries of the comfortable armchair looking out the window, the pod coffee machine and bathrobes & slippers.

Cons - as mentioned previously the extra charge of parking did come as a surprise, there is plenty of free overnight parking in the area so i'm surprised they can't include that within their room rate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank cbrcate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The rooms are really well appointed and comfortable. Staff are fantastic, very helpful. Be wary about staying in rooms near the gym as the pounding of people on the treadmills will wake you up...as early as 5.30am.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jilly171152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here while on a road trip. Indeed it was the most modern and 'luxurious' location of our trip, but for the price, there could surely have been some concession (as others have also commented) on the extras that are added such as wifi and parking. And product placement in the rooms is geared to spend more, bottled water $$. We booked a 'kids cubby' and were somewhat disappointed on the 'hit and miss' planning of the room. We were advised that while the bunk bed rooms were all booked they would set up a standard one with the kids inclusions. This was not done well (I had to follow up on what was advertised as included), they should have just advised none were available. I had to check the internet to remind myself what was included in the questacon package, the staff, while very pleasant, did not go through it when we checked in, other than the ticket to questacon. Location is great, walking distance to manuka and Kingston shops.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank SuzieGardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great location (for Canberra) and nice modern rooms. the restaurant was below par i.e. dirty cutlery and only staffed by 2 people for breakfast. It was closed on the Sunday and Monday nights of a long weekend??
Overall, the staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for a weekend with the family in 1 BDR unit, apparently upgraded to a "Luxe". The room was pretty standard, and had a well equipped kitchenette, a bathroom with spa bath, and TVs in both rooms. The furnishings were average, and the over all feel was not very "luxe", more "mirvac". It was however blissfully quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. The pillows were not, but an alternative was brought to the room on request. The sofa bed was not very comfortable, either for sitting on or sleeping.
Downstairs the lobby area is modern with art installations and free lollies for the kids. We ate at the restaurant and the whole roast chicken meal for the family was very good ($100 for 4).
One of my issues here is that there are lots of extra charges. Wifi is free for 100MB, and then it costs. Parking costs. And finally there was a 1.5% charge for using ANY credit card to pay the bill. I have staayed at many hotels and dont believe I have come across this before.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back over Oxley Street are the quietest
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is ideally situated and we were able to walk to the local cafes and shops in Manuka and Kingston. Travelled with 2 adults and a 4 year old. We stayed in a 1 bed apartment with breakfast option. Room was well equipped and spacious enough. Travelling with a child we like having the option of a kitchen if needed to make simple meals but also the service and facilities of an upmarket hotel. Breakfast was a great selection. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DTTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,466 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: £121 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing