We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dropped the ball, quality diminished”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dropped the ball, quality diminished”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I'm a very frequent traveller to Canberra and used to stay at East all the time in 2013 and was always happy with the service and rooms. I've been overseas and have returned to East for my Canberra trips. This time I was disappointed. The prices have gone up a lot which would lead me to think service was at least as good as previously. Not all the bins were emptied when the room was serviced; mini bar items like juice were not replaced each day; the glasses were so filthy I had to wash them myself; ordering room service (roast chicken, which is cooked whole and then divided up) I was told I couldn't have my portion of choice - the leg and drumstick rather than breast and wing - because I had to take whatever was available. I asked what was available at the moment and was told the chef wouldn't select portions for requests. Seriously??????? They're cooking whole chickens not portions. The meal came quickly (plus) and the portion is generous which is great when you're cold and hungry. The 'seasonal vegetable' was corn. In Canberra. In July. I don't think so. More like frozen I suspect. No seasoning provided, but there are salt and pepper shakers in the studio kitchenette cupboard. Which is terrific, but nothing in them. Filling them up occasionally might be a good idea. In my opinion I think the good reviews from Gourmet Traveller and the like have caused complacency and this might be ok for tourists passing through, but core business needs good consistent service. I've been a fan of East since they opened and the rooms are good and close to everything, but guys, step up. Canberra is a competitive market with many new openings and I don't want to see you go the way of the dinosaurs. Funky and cool is ok and novel, but don't bump the quality for the repeat business.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    396
    69
    9
    3
See reviews for
473
590
63
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed only one night recently, but I wish it could have been for longer. The staff were all great, and the hotel is cool, comfortable and great. Had a Luxe Studio which was really good. I normally stay in apartments, but as this was one night, opted for a studio and was very happy. Breakfast in the Ox eatery was ok, and for the first time at East Hotel, found a staff member who was less than great ('indifferent' would be accurate). That's my only gripe though. Will be back.

Room Tip: Go the extra for the 'Luxe' rooms. Book early, and get discounts via the hotel's own w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Boio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here with my daughter for 5 nights, in a one bedroom twin apartment. It was very spacious, clean and modern. Appliances were easy to use. The staff were fantastic; nothing was ever too much trouble. The location is brilliant - an easy walk to Manuka and Kingston shops & restaurants. Because of this, we did not eat in the restaurant, but it looks lovely. I would HIGHLY recommend The East Hotel to anyone visiting Canberra. Style, location, amenities and service - it is one of the best experiences I have had in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 408Jac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Good:

- Location is central and close to shops
- Layout of 1 bedroom apartment is good
- Mostly clean
- Kitchen fairly well stocked with pots, pans and utensils
- Nespresso nice touch
- Really nice shower
- Staff seem nice enough


Bad:
- Seriously uncomfortable bed. Super hard. My wife requested the additional pillow top, which then made the bed super hot. Writing this at 12.30 am because I can't sleep. Pillows are huge and uncomfortable. Requested feather, which are better, but still too thick for my taste. Oh, and king bed is 2 single beds stuck together.
- Noise of a/c during night woke us up several times. Third night I turned it off, which has fixed the problem.
- Partition to bedroom is clear, which means you can't have the bedroom dark without all of the lights off in the apartment. Not so great if only one of you wants to sleep, or if you're sharing the bed with a toddler.
- $10 per day parking
- Pubes in the shower.
- Noise of kids running down hall.

Overall okay, but wouldn't return simply for the bed. Seems they've opted for a commercial option that will last forever, instead of going for comfort... Though some people have said the beds are comfortable, and it's a very personal thing.

Lastly, just an observation on the replies by Mr Todd Handy in these reviews.... by initially apologising, and then attempting to justify and even humiliate the reviewer, he only justifies the review in the first place. Better just to say sorry and leave it at that. No real ownership of the issues presented is taken.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank W0rldTraveller333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Recently stayed for a week and had a great time. Staff were very helpful and the meals in the restaurant were fantastic, but it's a small on space. Rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Will stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We decided to stay here as a little splurge for our anniversary and I'm very very happy we chose East Hotel - the location is perfectly half way between Kingston & Manuka, its modern without being too arty, very comfortable, no noise from Canberra Avenue below and we were only on the 3rd floor. The standard room was still spacious with a well equipped kitchenette and the little luxuries of the comfortable armchair looking out the window, the pod coffee machine and bathrobes & slippers.

Cons - as mentioned previously the extra charge of parking did come as a surprise, there is plenty of free overnight parking in the area so i'm surprised they can't include that within their room rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbrcate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are really well appointed and comfortable. Staff are fantastic, very helpful. Be wary about staying in rooms near the gym as the pounding of people on the treadmills will wake you up...as early as 5.30am.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jilly171152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,083 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,238 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 57 in Canberra
1,594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
979 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing