We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option when visiting for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My colleague and I recently stayed here for work. Don't be fooled by the aging exterior or the rattly old lifts. The rooms are comfortable, modern and well-appointed. There's not much close to the hotel itself but it does have a good restaurant and well-stocked breakfast buffet (with a hot breakfast option). I recommend booking the breakfast buffet online at the time of booking because you will receive a small discount.

I would certainly stay here again if I went to Canberra for business. It's well priced (for Canberra) and good quality. The only down side is that there aren't really any cafes, shops or restaurants nearby. The closest shop I found was a little suburban group of shops (including a small restaurant and cafe) 1.2km away. But, as I mentioned, the restaurant and breakfast buffet are good so you don't really need a shop.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Andrew G,

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with other travellers here on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to see that you found our hotel to be great value and we hope you will visit us again next time.

Warm regards
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

good motel it looks older than it is all up to date with mod cons, friendly staff, tidy room, good bed, very comfortable bed, towels were a bit harsh they could hve been softer, when we got there they gave us real milk not uht milk, overall fantastic place to stay would stay there again in the future

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Daniel,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to post your review here on Tripadvisor and we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

Our guests love the fact that we provide fresh milk - quite rare in hotels these days!

Thanks again,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights while visiting family. Not too far from CBD, very clean, large room with couch, small table, 2 chairs etc. Nice Queen bed and pillows (I have back issues so a good bed is very important to me). Very quiet (not near any big roads), bathroom had all the lotions etc you would want, bath robes supplied, towels etc pretty soft and comfy. Didn't try food so cannot comment. Staff were nice and friendly. Huge TV with Foxtel (picture quality wasn't very good though for some reason?). Plenty of parking (some Canberra hotels charge or have limited spaces). Fast free Wifi & plugged network too! Many Aus hotels still charge a premium price for that, it should always be included free like most motels do in Europe. Panasonic Aircon was VERY quiet (of course) and that is a big plus for a light sleeper like I am. I have a Panasonic at home and it is pretty quiet too! Good curtains kept the morning light out very well which I appreciated. No complaints about this place from me (apart from the TV which I hardly watched anyway).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you, Max K, for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad you had a great time with us and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Canberra.

Safe travels,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed three nights in early November, 2013 and were very satisfied with the room and the hotel's location. The hotel is located about 4km south of the CBD.

Our room was spacious, clean, well-appointed, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful and directed us toward good dining and sightseeing options. The only problem we had was we had to ask for facecloths every evening...go figure.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Roger,

We are chuffed that you had a fabulous stay with us here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel in Canberra. There are lots of great dining and cultural hotspots within five minutes drive and it is good to know that our staff pointed you in the right direction to make the most of your visit. Please accept my apologies regarding the facecloths in your room; we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Happy travels!
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Booked to attend a conference in Canberra, the price at the conference hotel was ridiculous, so stayed here for nearly a third of the cost. Taxi to conference did not add much to the cost. Good quality hotel with all the things you would expect but given I was there for business, I was hardly there. Only criticism is some of the breakfast items were lukewarm, but again a hot breakfast for less than $20? Excellent.
Less than 10 minutes to the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Hi Eddie,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and feel that you received outstanding value for money. We do our best to provide good quality rooms and facilities at reasonable prices.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked this through last minute.com where it was a secret deal advertised as a four and a half star hotel in Canberra. We had only the star rating to go on. When we arrived, we were given the keys to our "suite", It had a small bedroom, reasonably well appointed and an OK bathroom. The living room was very sparse with a two seater sofa, very small laminex table and two vinyl dining chairs. there WAS a very big TV. I had wanted somewhere I could spend a leisurely morning in comfort. This room had comforts and was quite soul-less. There was a crack in the wall and holes around where the airconditioning unit had been fitted into the wall. If I had booked a three star venue, it would have been OK. 4.5 stars? Who do they think they are kidding? We found somewhere else to stay. Apparently, it was such a long bus ride into town that I should catch a taxi (quote from the receotionist). Pool was not available. I will be taking this up with the rating agency.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveltoads3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hi there Traveltoads3,

Thanks for providing feedback regarding your visit. We are rated 4.5 stars by AAA (the official accreditation body). We, as are all official star-rated hotels, are thoroughly inspected on a regular basis to ensure that we continue to meet the ratings standards.

We have a bus stop just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel with regular bus services through the major tourist attractions and into the city.

I do hope that you take the opportunity to stay with us again in the future so that we may restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with a more positive experience.

Kind regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

First, the positives. Good location, it's close to Canberra attractions such as Parliament House.

Another positive is free parking. You can park right outside your room, as the hotel is constructed like an old 70's motor inn.

They advertise the hotel as being in a "quiet suburban area". That's stretching the truth, as the hotel sits alongside a bustling 4 lane highway. Check it out for yourself on Google Streetview, you'll see a picture of a Mack Truck rumbling past the hotel. My wife is a light sleeper; the relentless traffic noise kept waking her up throughout the night.

Non-smokers, such as ourselves, shall notice a faint odour of cigarette smoke circulating through the air conditioning. This caused our daughter, who is sensitive to allergens, to suffer from runny eyes and respiratory wheezing during our stay.

We had a nasty surprise after our trip. Many months afterwards I discovered to my dismay, that the hotel had slyly charged an additional $6.50 to my credit card after our departure, entirely without my knowledge. They never provided me with a tax invoice (ie, receipt) for this mysterious charge - not even by mail - which is a breach of Australian taxation law.

I provided the hotel with a written explanation of the above, but they chose to stonewall. They never bothered replying, and declined to refund their mysterious charge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SydneyLocalResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hi there SydneyLocalResident,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor. As we've discussed in correspondence on another website, your concerns regarding a $6.50 charge are being addressed by the hotel owner who has chosen to handle this matter herself. I sincerely hope this is resolved soon.

I do feel that your comments regarding the hotel's location are misrepresentative, however. Jerrabomberra Ave is a four lane road that was bypassed by the Monaro Highway extension in 1988. For the last 25 years, the highway has been 1.5km away and Jerrabomberra Ave (now a suburban street), has been virtually empty of traffic outside of Canberra's notoriously brief peak hour.

Finally, I am sorry to read that you and your travelling companions experienced a faint odour of cigarettes. We do not have central ducted air conditioning (each room is individually air conditioned) and all of our rooms are non-smoking, so this is certainly not a typical experience for our guests.

It is our priority to provide a comfortable, relaxing and great value experience for our guests and it is very disappointing to read that you felt let down by your visit with us.

Safe travels,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
5.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 60 in Canberra
1,796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#15 of 60 in Canberra
685 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 60 in Canberra
1,225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
#12 of 60 in Canberra
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel

Address: 55 Jerrabomberra Avenue | Narrabundah, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: £69 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, substance and sanctuary! That is the Best Western Plus promise when you stay at the spectacular Garden City Hotel in Canberra. Modern and contemporary hotel rooms, combined with warm, memorable, efficient and effortless service, makes Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel one of the city's premier hotels. Guests enjoy a fantastic location in the heart of Canberra, just minutes from top tourist attractions including Parliament House, the National Gallery and Questacon. Located in Canberra's ever-popular inner-south, Garden City Hotel is nestled amongst tree-lined boulevardes and the quiet and tranquillity will ensure a peaceful and restful night's slumber. The on-site Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant is rapidly gaining a reputation as one of Canberra's most exclusive dining venues, with a mouthwatering menu of local and international favourites, imbued with an eclectic twist to keep things dramatic and exciting. The Executive Chef is both culinary superstar and local legend, adding his own personality and vivacity to each dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing