We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, technically it might be 'South Canberra' but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I got off to a bad start here as I booked via an internet 'mystery deal' - 4.5 stars in South Canberra. I immediately thought Kingston, Manuka or Barton - you beauty! Once I'd booked I discovered it was on the other side Narrabundah, half way to Queanbeyan. It is a not a death sentence (unless you don't have a car), but I was disappointed. It wasn't especially cheap for such a deal, either - $143 - though admittedly Parliament was sitting and hotel prices in Canberra always skyrocket then.
In actuality, I thought the hotel did live up to its 4.5 star ranking. The room was spacious and very well appointed, bathroom excellent, complete with upmarket toiletries. Free wi-fi always gets a big tick from me, and there was a wide range of TV options. I had actually stayed here once before, years ago, and it was a much more basic motel then.
The only reason I am not giving it a '5' is because of my initial reaction.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear JElliot32,

We are very grateful to receive your feedback and, despite your initial concern, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit with us here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

We look forward to providing a warm welcome during your next stay.

Best wishes,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great location & hotel in general. Hotel was very clean & the rooms were spacious & modern. Great value for money. No complaints at all. One of the best hotel I have been in, in Australia. It is very close to major highway for easy access but far enough so you don't hear traffic at all. Very quite also in the hotel. Did not hear one banging door or overhead footsteps from room above.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Kellie M,

Thanks for taking time to sharing your experience with other travellers here on TripAdvisor. It is very rewarding to receive feedback, such as yours, from guests who have had such a fantastic time during their visit.

We are dedicated to pleasing our guests and providing a superior experience at affordable prices.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Warm regards
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Have stayed at this property several times and always found it to be clean comfortable and well presented. Downstairs bar is small but nice for a drink and restaurant looks good although have not eaten there. Have no hesitation recommending this property

Room Tip: Upstairs facing main road are best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kookaburra_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Kookaburra_8,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us here in Canberra. Our bar and lounge is very popular for an evening beverage or pre-dinner drinks and our Happy Hour is a hit with a range of $4 beer, wine and spirits on offer.

We try to provide a warm and inviting experience for our guests and we are grateful that you have recognised this on TripAdvisor.

Kind regards and safe travels,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent four nights.The service standard was excellent in the dining room. reception and room maintenance. Staff were cheerful, and helpful beyond the norm.
Whilst meal costs were on the high side the quality, range and presentation could not be faulted.

Room Tip: The use of a suite enables differing sleep requirements to be catered for, particularly where, as in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Anthony S,

Thanks for sharing your experience of your stay here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel with other travellers. We are glad you enjoyed your One Bedroom Suite during your stay and that you had the opportunity to dine in our Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant. Our Executive Chef carefully selects his ingredients and produces a high quality menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and really liked it.

Free wifi, very clean and vry nice stuff. Very easy access to Canberra's atractions (by car).

Comfortable beds and very clean... some of the best toiletries I've seen in a hotel for a while :)

They also have a coin laundry onsite which came in incredibly handy to us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paloma1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Markating Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us here on TripAdvisor, Paloma1981. We do our best to provide an enjoyable guest experience and it is wonderful to know that you had a great time with us here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

Safe travels,

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great position, easy to find but away from noise and traffic inconvenience.
Room clean, good beds and bathroom facilities. Clean towels provided next day.
On-site parking, although tight, was very pleasing.
Swim pool and gym a plus.
Front desk in attendance appropriate hours.
TV disappointing; much too small.

Room Tip: Some rooms are smaller than others. Check to see if Foxtel available in advertised room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Ray C,

Thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

Foxtel is available in all of our guest rooms and includes a range of sports, news, movie and general entertainment channels; this is in addition to the full array of free-to-air digital channels. If guests are having any difficulty at any time, we urge them to contact our Front Desk team who are most willing to provide assistance.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to hosting your next stay in Canberra.

Warm regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A comfortable and pleasant hotel, convenient (by car) for many Canberra attractions. Our room was clean, the wifi was serviceable. I had the full breakfast in the dining room which came with a well stocked buffet of both food and beverages.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thanks for posting your thoughts on your stay with us recently, Josh W. We are very appreciative that you have shared your positive experience with other Tripadvisor readers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel in the future. If you are booking with us again soon, check out the Free Breakfast Sale currently available on our website. Lots of guests are taking advantage of this great deal.

Safe travels,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
5.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
2.2 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#17 of 59 in Canberra
619 reviews
2.2 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 59 in Canberra
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel

Address: 55 Jerrabomberra Avenue | Narrabundah, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: £73 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, substance and sanctuary! That is the Best Western Plus promise when you stay at the spectacular Garden City Hotel in Canberra. Modern and contemporary hotel rooms, combined with warm, memorable, efficient and effortless service, makes Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel one of the city's premier hotels. Guests enjoy a fantastic location in the heart of Canberra, just minutes from top tourist attractions including Parliament House, the National Gallery and Questacon. Located in Canberra's ever-popular inner-south, Garden City Hotel is nestled amongst tree-lined boulevardes and the quiet and tranquillity will ensure a peaceful and restful night's slumber. The on-site Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant is rapidly gaining a reputation as one of Canberra's most exclusive dining venues, with a mouthwatering menu of local and international favourites, imbued with an eclectic twist to keep things dramatic and exciting. The Executive Chef is both culinary superstar and local legend, adding his own personality and vivacity to each dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing