We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first visit to Canberra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“first visit to Canberra”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A great hotel convenient to work location , and not far from the city centre , friendly staff and comfortable room. Would recommend fro location and clean and tidy rooms , great service and ample parking

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Debbie R,

We are very happy to see that you had a great visit with us here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel. We have a fabulous team working with us and it is wonderful to receive feedback such as yours highlighting the wonderful job that they do looking after our guests.

Kind regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    351
    116
    22
    7
See reviews for
158
320
48
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

the rooms are great, staff helpful and friendly, and the location is really good. convenient to the CBD, just up the road from Manuka, Griffith and Kingston with their restaurants and cafes, not to mention the German Club next door. very pleasant hotel at a great price

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank margiebear9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Margiebear9,

It is great to see that you had such a positive experience during your stay here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, Canberra.

We continually strive to please our guests and provide a warm, welcoming and enjoyable stay.

Thanks for taking the time to post your review here on Tripadvisor.

Best wishes,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tathra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Really like this Hotel. It ticked most of the boxes as far as clean and quiet accommodation goes. I only had a couple of dislikes and they were 1. the bright light on the bottom of the television and the lights in the hallway going on and off all night (I can only sleep in total darkness), 2. the reverse-cycle air-con made a fair bit of noise (so I turned it off - as cold as it was) and 3. the water pressure was very week and it modulated from hot to cold all the time. Other than that I was happy with the experience and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is pretty quiet, but I would probably get a room in the back wing next time and views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Jeanette A,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you, for the most part, enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you have provided some areas for us to improve.

We hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Canberra.

Best wishes,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Reception and cleaning staff were great - friendly and helpful, plenty of parking at no cost, rooms are like new having been recently refurbished. Just a few minutes from restaurants at Manuka shopping centre. Ideal place to stay (need to have a car), and very good value. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby_and_Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Toby_and_Celeste,

Many thanks for posting a review of your stay here on Tripadvisor. We have a great location here - well away from city noise - but close enough that all of the attractions are just minutes drive away. There is also a bus stop right across the road from the hotel for those without a car.

We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel during your next visit to Canberra.

Best wishes,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Next to the German Club, this hotel is off the main road in a quiet leafy location about 20 minutes by car to the main city centre and 14 minutes to the National Archives. The Federal Golf Club and Red Hill National Park is nearby. Not a luxury hotel, but very clean and well maintained. The hotel's restaurant is open for break fast and dinner Monday- Saturday and the prices for mains are the same as in any pub. Also has room service for breakfast and dinner. An outdoor pool. You can have lunch at the German club a short walk away. The front desk has complimentary fruit, sachets of hot chocolate, lollies and daily newspapers. When you pay the bill, use your Flybuys card to earn more points. Since we'd forgotten to pack a deodorant, we were able to purchase one for $5 from reception. Tea and coffee facilities, iron and ironing board and hair dryer were supplied along with the usual toiletries. Round table and 2 arm chairs in our room. Free WIFI was a real bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacinta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Jacinta3000,

Thanks for providing such a detailed review of your stay with us here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel. We love that Tripadvisor offers travellers the chance to gain an insight in to the actual guest experience that one can expect at a hotel, and we are very grateful that you have taken the time to provide this for other Tripadvisor readers.

As you mention, Best Western hotels are in the FlyBuys program. Book direct with the hotel, swipe your FlyBuys card on check-out and you will receive your points. Keep an eye out for the great coupons that FlyBuys sends its members every few months - there are usually some great bonus offers at Best Western hotels!

Thanks again, and we hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

There're 1 queen and 1 single bed in my room , consider about that , the price is pretty good .Room is clean and near the restaurant area . I'll choose best western again next time I visit Canberra . Nothing to complain .

Room Tip: Good for family .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank zyzhangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Zyzhangy,

Thanks for posting your review here on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to see that you had a pleasing, great value experience during your time with us here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your future travels to the ACT.

All the best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is a little out of the main city but is fantastic value for genuine four star accommodation. Free parking was a bonus and the minibar was actually reasonably priced! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sharon H,

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts on your visit with other Tripadvisor readers. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to Canberra and that we were able to play our little part in that positive experience.

Safe travels,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
5.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,546 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,598 reviews
1.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,205 reviews
1.7 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,770 reviews
2.3 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
Address: 55 Jerrabomberra Avenue | Narrabundah, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, substance and sanctuary! That is the Best Western Plus promise when you stay at the spectacular Garden City Hotel in Canberra. Modern and contemporary hotel rooms, combined with warm, memorable, efficient and effortless service, makes Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel one of the city's premier hotels. Guests enjoy a fantastic location in the heart of Canberra, just minutes from top tourist attractions including Parliament House, the National Gallery and Questacon. Located in Canberra's ever-popular inner-south, Garden City Hotel is nestled amongst tree-lined boulevardes and the quiet and tranquillity will ensure a peaceful and restful night's slumber. The on-site Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant is rapidly gaining a reputation as one of Canberra's most exclusive dining venues, with a mouthwatering menu of local and international favourites, imbued with an eclectic twist to keep things dramatic and exciting. The Executive Chef is both culinary superstar and local legend, adding his own personality and vivacity to each dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing