We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,bad service”
Review of Red Cedars Motel

Red Cedars Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Cedars Motel
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at this property when i was visiting family in canberra, it is in a great location if you are heading to exibition park although it is a little far from the city if you do not have a car.
I do not feel the service was up to what you would expect from a hotel receptionist, it was like they just didnt want to be there, really unhelpfull and didnt go out of there way to assist you.
The bed was uncomfortable and i did not get much sleep.
If you are focused on location then this would be good although i do not reccommend it to people that expect to be in the room for a long period.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 964traveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had to make a quick trip to Canberra and the Red Cedars was good value, very clean and convenient to where we had to be. Staff member Anne was lovely and very helpful. The motel was close to the highway but there was no traffic noise. Beds were comfortable, and although we didn't need it on this stay, having a microwave and crockery and cutlery would be useful. Would stay there again. Only issue was people outside our room on the stairs smoking and talking loudly till quite late. Not the motel's fault but a bit annoying.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Molesworth_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed in this motel for one night and found it to be precisely what we needed. It's a small, older style motel, but the room was very tastefully renovated and everything including the carpet and paint looked brand new. It was also absolutely spotless. Having a microwave was wonderful, as was the heating as we were rather cold and damp when we arrived due to the rain. The water pressure and temperature were very good.

I was somewhat surprised that there was no electric blanket considering it was June in Canberra, but we didn't need it anyway as the room was warm enough even without the heater during the night.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Headed for Canberra for the third time and choose to stay in a different place so decided to stay at Red canards. I have never been to this motel during my previous trips.

Simple looking small motel and newly furnished, parking system is nice. I stayed here for 3 nights enjoyed every moment. The room was clean when I entered it looked really fresh, frankly speaking I was attracted with the price it's so reasonable. The placement of furniture was nice and the air conditioning was ok.

The staffs are really responsive and found their manager really friendly, but I still think they need to work on the food quality it's not like it's bad but not the standard. I came here solo to get out of the busy life but I really missed my family as it looks great family place.

Love to give another try with family members.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is a small, clean and comfortable motel about 8km from the city centre. The rooms were pleasantly renovated several years ago. There is a small refrigerator and a microwave. A stop for the 39 bus is close by. A closed cycle system provides heating and cooling. The closest restaurants are in Dickson. There is a Macca's and a Caltex/ Woolworth Express on the main road (Northbourne Avenue) a few minutes walk away, or a minute by car. The rooms are a moderate size. The location is quiet.

Room Tip: The windows in one wing are at the back of the units and overlook a small reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Viajero952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
3  Thank SandSR62
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We found this motel by pure luck driving past it. Was recently renovated and some rooms are still being upgraded. Very functional and having a microwave instead of just a kettle was fantastic. Would stay again next time in Canberra

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#52 of 58 in Canberra
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
7.7 mi away
The Statesman Hotel
The Statesman Hotel
#36 of 58 in Canberra
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
13.9 mi away
Alpha Hotel Canberra
Alpha Hotel Canberra
#1 of 1 in Tuggeranong
291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 58 in Canberra
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cedars Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cedars Motel

Address: Stirling Ave, Canberra 2602, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: £54 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cedars Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Cedars Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing